We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 331
USD 298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 50
USD 36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 43/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 78
USD 56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Harmonia(Kovalam)
USD 38
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 43/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amrutham(Kovalam)
USD 31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,507)
Filter reviews
3,507 results
Traveller rating
2,070
855
323
132
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,070
855
323
132
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomsky barinfinity pooltides restaurantterrace restaurantclub restaurantprivate beachbeach view roomarabian seathe main hotelthe cliffgolf cartamazing propertycoconut waterayurvedic spagod's own countrybeach side
Filter
Updating list...
3,178 - 3,183 of 3,507 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2009

For a 5* hotel we were disappointed by the Leela. It was a large hotel and felt impersonal. It lacked the exclusivity and the charm of somewhere smaller and more individual like the Taj Green Cove.

The private beach wasn't private - anyone could wander onto it. The bedrooms were a good size but were ready for refurbishment even if only to replace the rag-rolled type dated decor.

On the plus side, it had excellent sea views, a good sized pool and an attractive Sky Bar. On the minus side - the evening buffet was only quite good. Service at the beach bar was excrutiatingly slow service and food was mediocre.

We upgraded to the more contemporary Club section of the hotel for the last night. This was quite a bit lot more expensive but had contemporary decor plus a very nice complimentary afternoon tea with various snacks. The pool and the bedrooms were smaller in the Club section.

Not sure it was worth it for us. Others on this site have enjoyed what the Leela offers. Next time in Kovalam would definitely stay at the Taj Green Cove.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Limeturquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Amazing.. last minute booking and got the last room at this hotel, in the club section, you pay a little extra but it is WORTH IT! the views, the space in the rooms, newer, own pool and services like afternoon tea, breakfast. 21,000 rps per night, but high season. first 1404 is just above the breakfast patio so could hear knives and forks in the AM so moved to 1505 which was one floor higher and much better.. 1414 and higher would be great as well. Breakfast nice and intimate in the club, but more selection to stroll over to the main part of the hotel. from this hotel you can walk 10 minutes and then be at a whole bunch of fun little stores, walk along a beach to a line of restaurants with smaller hotels filled with Europeans.. so a little cleaner.. For new year they will full so hot to move to the Taj, we paid a lot more 29,000RPS and nice, but made us realize how spoilt we were at the leela, at the leela the room was nicer, food, beach access, the taj you were really not 'on' the beach at all, and lacked atmosphere. It was such a let down as being treated like a god at the leela.. i mean REALLY, they greet you with gratitude like you are a god.. it was wierd at first, but we then missed it after. hands down. if you can afford it.. do he leele, the clud section, you will love every minute.

for the guys.. there is a tailor, well many, buit one that was very good a few minutes walk.. if you have a favorite shirt, they will copy it for $6.. amazing details and finish, you pick the materials, wonderful lines and cotton, at norstroms we would have paid easy $80 for each.. we had 20 made for $5-6 each, and they had them all ready the next day! we even made them take a few of them in a little more on the sleeves and down the side, little more tailored and they look amazing! they had elegant wool trouser/suite materials.. again bring something you want copied otherwise might be hard to explain.
I have their names if anyone cares for them. Have fun, and enjoy - we did for sure. beds were jummy.. double showers for two.. breakfast in bed included in price if you want. you will pay 800rps per day for wifi internet extra and taxes add up as well. the buffet at night was only about $15 or so and really great or alacart.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fionawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

The Leela is a good resort hotel, but far from a truly excellent one. We stayed for four nights, and each day had annoyances that exceptional resorts avoid. None of the issues ever caused us to consider leaving, but they each caused us to wonder whether the issue was endemic to Kerala or India, or just a failing of this individual property. After extensive touring around Kerala, we're now certain that these were all hotel-specific issues that need to be ironed out before it gets rated more highly.

Among the little annoyances ----

Every time the electricity resumed after temporary disruptions (several times a day), an electronic "privacy" light would be lit outside our door, prohibiting access to housecleaning and other hotel personnel. This resulted in ridiculous outcomes...a plumber starts to fix a leaking pipe in the bathroom, steps out for a special wrench, and then doesn't finish the job because when he returns a few minutes later he finds the "privacy" light on (despite no-one being in the room). Unless we were present or left the door propped open, no housecleaining was ever performed.

Wi-fi Internet access is highly unreliable, but is being charged at astoundinngly high rates.. No bill adjustments were offered on the $20 daily charge despite continuous outages (once of over 12 hours during our stay).

Laundry was returned incomplete (i.e. a pair of socks mssing). No-one on staff other than the duty manager dared to call the laundry for an explanation, and even then no explanation or apology was ever offered, and no discount or reparations made. I couldn't lower myself to argue the payment of $1.25 for laundering a pair of socks never returned to us, but be forewarned that they don't bother returning a completed inventory slip with the returned laundry......

All in all we had a very pleasant time at the Leela ---- especially at the Skyview Bar and the Cafe restaurant (perhaps available only for those in "Club" rooms), but forewarned is forearmed about all the small "nigglies" you may encounter here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeremyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

For a 5* hotel we were disappointed by the Leela. Because it was larger it felt impersonal and lacked the exclusivity and the charm of somewhere smaller and more individual like the Taj Green Cove.

The private beach wasn't private - anyone could wander onto it. The bedrooms were a good size but were ready for refurbishment even if only to replace the rag-rolled type dated decor.

On the plus side, it had excellent sea views, a good sized pool and an attractive Sky Bar. On the minus side - the evening buffet was only quite good. The beach bar had excrutiatingly slow service and mediocre food.

We upgraded to the more contemporary Club section of the hotel for the last night. This was a lot more expensive but had contemporary decor throughout plus a complimentary afternoon tea with various snacks which were delicious. The pool and the bedrooms were smaller in the Club section however.

Not sure it was worth it for us. Others on this site have enjoyed what the Leela offers. Next time in Kovalam would definitely stay at the Taj Green Cove.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limeturquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We have just returned from spending our honeymoon at the Leela, where we stayed for two weeks. I had read many reviews before our trip and was slightly worried, I shouldn't have been in the slightest.

Everything was fantastic from start to finish, on arrival we were met with a cold flanel, a drink and a hand made necklace. Check in went smoothly and our bags were delivred to the room directly. We had to provide our passports and were told they would be returned the following day, they were returned 20 mins later.

Our room was a standard deluxe room which was spacious clean and well appointed. We also received a generous sized cake and bottle of wine in our room as it was our honeymoon.

The room was cleaned daily and a turn down service was provided at night, where they cleaned he bathroom, changed towels, emptied bins and laid out mats at the side of the bed. We counted on one day we had fresh towles three times.

The pool is fab with plenty of comfy sun beds where the pool boy will happily lay your towel out for you, there was bever a problem with getting a bed.

The beach was also lovely, it is a private section of the beach and the public have access to the rest, there was a security guard there who watched out for people who weren't hotel guests.

The restaurants and bars within the hotel are all very good, there are many reviews which say they are very exspensive. In my opinion they weren't too bad, exspensive in comparison to what you paid outsied but probablt much the same as you would pay at home. The sky bar is amazing and the cocktails are fantastic. The beach BBQ with band is another most do, nothing beats sitting by the sea eating delicious food.

There are plentiful places to eat at Lighthouse beach and they are all fantastic, we didn't have one bad meal during the entire stay. The beach is within walking distance by a rickshaw is advisable for getting back.

All in all we had an amazing time, all staff were freindly and happy to help. We even had the general manager stop us one day, introduce himeslf and ask if we were enjoying our staf before giving us his business card incase he could help.

A wonderful hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KS2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews