We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
2
9
3
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
9
3
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

on the plus side a fridge to keep our water cool, soft toilet paper . on the down side, the room was very highly overpriced, dirty, including cockroaches , leaking toilet, no sheet on the bed, in fact we had to find our own from a laundry pile down the corridor. filthy pillows. I could go on, but we checked out after one night. we don't know if wifi was there as not given the password.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bernadettehayes2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed four nights here. The rooms are basic but clean. Located in an quiet street ( execpt the temple). Shirley and her son are very friendly and helpfull. It's only a 5 min walk to the beach. If your are looking for a budget stay in Kovalam then try Shirley's.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 131Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived for check in at 12 noon as advised was greeted by a young man in dirty clothing, a reception area smelling disgusting and strewn with rubbish. Waited ONE HOUR in the noon day heat spoke to someone on the phone who told us we were being moved to another hotel we requested to see our booked room at the Shirley they refused at which time we said we wished to cancel. We booked though Booking.com and they charged us with a NO SHOW justification

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Dear Bryan,
We appreciate your effort to review us but we feel that your review is biased and not justified.We feel that we have to write our side as well. Since manager was on his way to the hotel We informed you through phone that the room is not vacant till one oclock since the guest staying requested a 30 min grace period and we offered you our second building since you didnt want to wait! but you refused and moved out within 30 min. Booking.com does not have the option of cancellation after check in date hence we opted for no show option to avoid charges on your credit card. Hope to serve you in future!
regards
Sambath koshy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

At very short notice we booked six nights here not quite knowing what to expect. We were very happy with the accommodation, location, cleanliness and staff.
It was excellent value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helenR1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We spent 4 nights here and for the most part we have had a comfortable stay. The people at reception were very nice and very helpful. Our room was large and lovely and clean, the beds as in a lot of India were rather hard, we found the bedding a bit lacking--- a bit heavier cover would have been perfect, when the a c is on the room gets quite cool. The bathroom was a strange arrangement----- the shower is at one end with no drain so all the water runs to behind the toilet and under the basin to the drain ,thus leaving the bathroom like a swimming pool !! Although it does dry up fairly quickly in the heat. We had a large fridge in the room, the TV was very old fashioned and we never used it, there is no safety deposit box but there are a couple of drawers with keys. We had a nice balcony which they serve you breakfast, you tell them the night before what you want to eat and what time you want to have it, the balcony also came in handy for drying cloths. The wi fi was pretty good, we only had a couple of times when we couldn't get it and then not for any great length of time. The location is very good, it's a five minute walk to the beach and all the local eateries and lots of shops. All in all we had a good stay , there are just a few things that could make it more comfortable --- a mirror in the bedroom---- bedside tables----- modern tv----- and a cupboard to hang clothes, if your not looking for all the luxury of home then you will enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nadia089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Dear Nadia,
Warm Greetings from Shirleys!
We appreciate your reviews and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.We have taken note of the suggestions and assure you that in your next visit most of these facilities will be there. We are forced to keep old fashioned TV sets because LED and LCD tv do not have long life in kovalam due to Salt in the air and every year replacing LCD or LED tvs are financially not viable! Rest of the suggestions will be taken ahead!

Regards
Sambath koshy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews