We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, at well located hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Tianjin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Tianjin
Ranked #10 of 1,316 Hotels in Tianjin
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, at well located hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here to see what Tianjin had to offer. The hotel standard is what you would expect of the Westin brand. The staff were very well trained and very helpful. We enjoyed the big comfy beds and the ipod docks in the rooms.

The location is great, very centrally located, most loations quite walkable if you dont want to get a cab. Cabs did prove a little tricky to get, but the doorman were helpful in trying to get one.

By the way the pizza at the Italian restaurant was big, thin, crispy and cheesy. Very good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chomolongma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    134
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
18
20
16
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

No complaints only praises. Only stayed one night. Very modern lobby and very friendly staff.

Fantastic bed. Modern room: from double shower (rain & regular) to automatic shades.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camatosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Everything about this hotel was great. The bed was comfortable, the WiFi in the room worked most of the time. Staff were pleasant. Bathroom was good. Love the rain shower head and the design next to the bath so plenty of room. Was concerned that the water would spill over into the area outside the shower "room" but all was good. Separate toilet with a wooden door. Great toiletries. Separate shampoo and conditioner. Nice slippers and bathrobes. In-room safe. Great in-room tea and coffee making facilities. Window that opened.

Club floor facilities were okay - had a glass of wine one night and the appetizers. Afternoon coffee was available.

Spa was great - fantastic massage! Thai with deep tissue - great combination.

But, could not get the air conditioner in my room to get lower an 26C. One of my colleagues complained and they fixed his from 28C to 29C! My last stay in a hotel inTianjin similar issues with the air conditioning so amassing it is a local thing...not good and the window at least allowed me sit by the window for some cooler, fresh air.

Gym looked great but u really wanted to swim. Nice pool and sauna and steam facilities, but they required a swimming cap...so did not use the pool, and never saw anyone using the pool. It is not Olympic sized, but large. Seemed a strange rule and would choose another hotel in Tianjin with a pool so i do not need a swimming cap.

Breakfast each morning was okay, but would have preferred more dim sum selections.

And although I requested a newspaper, one never was delivered to my room - but ore people on my floor received the English version newspapers delivered to their rooms...bit disappointing.

Another odd things with the newspapers was that they were one to two days out of date - these are the two Chinese newspapers - most odd.

Check-in was smooth and so was check-out, but some mornings I noticed very long lines with only one person serving and very frustrated customers and no manager to be seen. As I said it was a breeze for me but not for some of my colleagues.

However, I asked for a soft copy of my bill to be sent to me. They said they had my e-mail address, much easier to do my expenses, and I still have not received it, so guessing thus did not happen - usually receive my bill after making such a request within an hours - it has now been over a day...

I had a room at the end of a corridor, so had an internal corridor to get to my room. It was a fine stay, but think next time I will stay at a hote with a pool where I can swim and a location closer to the river.

Room Tip: Stayed on the Club floor, room 1914. Good location and could walk up the stairs to the club on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have been enjoying several times visiting this hotel. I can see the elegant lobby and the well train staff. I like the good service and indoor swimming pool. I went once for a seminar, and I found it was very well prepared by hotel management. good environment!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Westing Tianjin is beautifully designed and expensively furnished. I was there to give a speech to a Chamber of Commerce and was given a very large corner room the evening befor upon arrival. I was told the rooms were equally well decorated, but the corner room a little larger.

The room is in the new fashon of the bathroom, surrounded by glass walls, integrated into the room. There is a electric blind that can provide privacy, but my feeling about this design is that it favors younger people, and not so much those who are older or less fit, After a certain age sometimes even one mirror is one too many.

The hotel advertises their "heavenly bed". This one was king and I found it too soft, and if there are two people you will roll to the middle. So if a firm bed is your choice, ask for a twin room.

The resataurants are fasionable, but the Ceasar Salad was not up to a five star hotel. My lunch guest was very satisfied with the a sandwich and french fries. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, a combinaton of European and Chinese staff..

I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you are on your own, and require a firm bed, ask for a twin room. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobFonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
1.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,316 in Tianjin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
#3 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.4 km away
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
#5 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#19 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.2 km away
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.9 km away
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
#12 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tianjin

Property: The Westin Tianjin
Address: No.101 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China
Region: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin > Binjiang Road , Xiaobailou , Heping District , Hexi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tianjin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
#13 Business Hotel in Tianjin
#22 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
Price range (per night): $149 - $178
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Tianjin 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tianjin Hotel Tianjin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing