We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Bluff Bed & Breakfast(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escape For Two(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western King Salmon Motel(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soldotna Inn(Soldotna)
USD 147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenai River Lodge(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
USD 164
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
12
6
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
6
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercoffee makerhalibutdishwashercondoblastsoapboatswadersflylimitfishingtripbears
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The facility was really nice. It was clean and well maintained. The fishing trips were spectacular and the guides were knowledgeable. We took two halibut trips to Homer. You definitely need to have a vehicle or you can't get to the halibut fishing or the fly-out trips. We would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If the three main things you are looking at for an Alaska trip is fishing, location & lodging this might be a good choice. I stayed here in August 2013 with my elderly father and the accommodations were clean & comfortable and has free wifi. Restaurants & full scale grocery store were close so that made it easy to outfit your condo. The pictures posted on the site are true and accurate and what you see is what you get. We caught halibut and silver salmon each time we went out - some days our limit & some not. The guides were first class each time. They were knowledgeable and experienced and we appreciated their expertise. Fish processing was fast and efficient. Some information that you might need to know before arriving. RW does need to improve his communication skills OR revamp his website with much more updated or pertinent information (I'm thinking the latter would be easier). You will not receive any correspondence or payment receipts by email. You will receive a 1960's carbon copied pink receipt by snail mail. It's great if you are "old school." Questions you have (because you can't read the carbon copy) won't be answered by email either. So you might have to call once or twice and I feel that it would have been helpful to know beforehand that the 1/2 day fishing trips include 1 1/2 -2 hour drives one way to Homer so really it's pretty much "all day." The flyouts are about 45 minutes each way and they run about 6 hours each. So again, pretty much all day. The other frustrating issue is that you will often NOT know what you are doing one day to the next as you will (maybe) get a call on your cell phone OR a note on your door when you return late that evening. Tough if you have a 5 am morning that next morning. Again, this is no big deal if you are easily mobile, young and only about the fishing. If you are a senior with physical limitations or you want to leave room for something other than fishing during your week - then you may want to rethink this place. Overall, it was ok. Would I go back? I would have to see what else is out there first.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank LLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

You can't beat the deal RW's offers! river fishing, fly out fishing, halibut fishing, fish within feet from your door. Super Clean. The location of the resort can not be beat. But this is a no frills resort its all about the fishing!! let me repeat fishing! RW's boats are super clean and well taken care of. The rooms are like a 2 story condo, clean, full kitchen, front entrance and back entrance. Ours faced the river within feet of it- so a great view too! BBQ's are provide for the guests. Not to mention that 100lbs of fish processing was INCLUDED done right on the premises. If you are into fishing and want a great deal this is it! would we go back- yes

Room Tip: ask for a place that faces the river
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I purchased a trip here through a fundraising auction and was a little skeptical at first because of some of the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We arrived late on a Saturday evening and were greeted with a smile by (Deanna) and told we were not scheduled to fish for the next day and that was fine with us. We had planned something just in case, so we were prepared. Our room (condo) was very clean, cozy and very spacious being that it was only 2 of us and not a traditional group of 4. It had a fridge, stove, microwave all you would need to cook and more, including a grill outside. RW's also rents fishing poles and gear for the week if you want to fish on your own. We opted to rent some gear and we fished right at the resort for reds with mixed success, some days great and some days ok. Our first guided day of fishing was on a halibut charter out of Homer. We didn't mind driving the distance to Homer because we wanted to explore other places anyways. The halibut fishing charter was great and I would recommend them. (Rainbow Charters) Our second day of fishing we were scheduled for the 3:15 a.m float trip on the Kenai. One thing people have to understand if you are there when the reds are running everyone and their dog will be on the river. In addition to that you have to drive 30-40 miles away to get to the boat ramp. We had no problem getting up that early for the first crack at a good spot. Although fishing was spotty because the run was winding down our guide switched us to trout and we had a great time reeling them in even though we couldn't keep them. I will say that is some great customer service to just switch species and keep us on some fish. Our other days were supposed to be salmon days, but obviously the Kenai was closed for kings and the drift boats were full of other guests so they sent us on another halibut trip. Perfectly fine in my book being that our trip didn't include a second halibut option. We had one more day of fishing that we had to cancel because we had booked a fly-out fishing trip prior to arriving. RW's even went through the hassle of trying to rearrange their schedule and reschedule our fly-out so they could get us fishing. That is great customer service and they didn't have to do it. Every employee at RW's treated everyone the same and were very accommodating and professional, including the fishing equipment guy (Dick) and the fish processor (Bill). RW's even had a special BBQ and fishing for the Wounded Warrior Project while we were there. Overall the fishing was good not great, but the accommodations and customer service were excellent. The spotty fishing had nothing to do with the guides or resort. We still caught fish and had a great time. That's why they call it fishing and not catching. There are no guarantees when fishing, even in Alaska. It all depends on when you go. Based off of my experience I would recommend RW's Fishing and I WILL be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yellowstone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Checked in on a Saturday and was told that King Salmon fishing was closed on the river indefinitely last Thursday. Off to a bad start!!!

The good.

The property is really nice and the condos are great. Very clean and spacious. The entire property is very well maintained and beautiful.

They take good care of your fish and are a professional operation when it comes to packaging.

The bad.

There are no fish! Talked to many other people at the resort and heard the same story. Went all day with four people and we caught 2 fish in 6 hours of fishing. Went on a river drift fish all day and didn't even get a bite.

The halibut charters are a subcontractor to the resort and are out of Homer. It is 75 miles drive one way. Bottom line is it's a 10 hour day for 2 hours of fishing. The fishing is really fun and good. Rainbow charters is a great company and has great crews on their boats. Everyone got their 2 fish that averaged about 15 lbs. each. Got some nice filets to bring home.

Bottom line.

These people are all about the money. The entire trip felt adversarial. The staff was not friendly or accommodating. We asked to switch from salmon fishing to halibut and were told no way. Called the halibut charter company and they told us they had plenty of room. Had a member of our party that was not feeling well and we were scheduled for a 3 AM salmon charter (getting up at 2AM) after getting back from Homer at 9PM. They told us if we did not go we would have to forfeit the trip. We did not go. The folks that did caught nothing. The world famous Kenai river is in serious decline. If your a serious fisherman this area is not for you. Going back to Cabo next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bayboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews