We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Escape For Two(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Bluff Bed & Breakfast(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western King Salmon Motel(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Cabin by the Pond(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soldotna Inn(Soldotna)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenai River Lodge(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
USD 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 164
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
12
6
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
6
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercoffee makerhalibutdishwashercondoblastsoapboatswadersflylimitfishingtripbears
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This was my third time at R.W.'s place. The first time was in an August trip for Silvers and Halibut had a great time then and vowed to come back . The second trip was in July 2008 and we fished for King , Sockeye and Halibut I caught two beautiful Kings and my fishing buddy Tony caught a 55lb. King, along with a bunch of Sockeye. It was the best fishing must have caught and released hundreds of Sockeye couldn't get enough of the fun. Met some nice people on that trip that Tony and I decided to come back in 2010 . Well this time there was four of us and no disappointment to any of us . We all caught a King and I was fortunate enough to again catch two Kings, but the Sockeye fishing was again awesome. We hit super Tuesday as it is known and caught more fish than ever. I had never tried a fly rod before and this time tried it with the Sockeye . It was a blast catching 12lb Sockeye on a #7 flyrod!!! Now that's a fight!!! The halibut fishing from Homer was great on the first trip but we were blown of the water the second trip , it happens but safety first and commend the captain on his expertise! R.W. made it up to us so all were happy. I would definately recommend R.W's place to anyone the accomodations are great and clean, the river fishing on the property is awesome . The Guides are great had three different river guides and we liked them all. The fish cleaning and packing crew are a great . We are all planning to go back in 2012!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sockeyeshoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We all would like to come home with a trophy fish, but it is serious work. It took us 18 hrs. of fishing to get our two beautiful kings, several years ago. This trip, we got skunked a few days, but still were able to catch silvers. Fishing is not a sure thing, but the guides give 100% effort on getting you your fish. The accommodations were acceptable except for trying to sleep while the sun seemed to never set – need blackout drapes.

They try their best, correcting situations - like a bad halibut trip we had, even though there was nothing they could change. Very professional but flexible enough to make sure we are enjoying ourselves.

With the BBQ’s out back and being able to almost fish from your lodging, we were able to meet the best folks. The campfires, the stories and the sharing of experiences made the trip even more enjoyable. The comradely at the resort’s sponsored dinner at the end of the week - we now know fishermen are the best storytellers!

We appreciate RW’s, Shawn’s and the other guides extra effort in making sure we had a good time in getting the fish to jump into the boat. This is where we went our honeymoon – you know for a good marriage, you also need to keep the guy happy!

We’ll be back – were getting to be part of the family!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank She60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
503fisherman, Guest Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Thank you for your kind words, customer satisfaction is our goal. We hope you continue to visit us, and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We are at RW's Fish Camp and went out with them yesterday fishing for silvers. There were two boats that went out on the Kenai with four people fishing on each boat . . . one boat came back with 9 and ours with only 2. (The personal limit was 3 per day.) I personally felt that our guide was clueless and he chased where others were or had been.

The 2 caught on our boat were during our first hour out. Nothing after, except pink "humpies" which he said weren't keepers so we threw them back (4 for me and 3 for DH).

We like the camp area here for our 29' RV. Had full hook-ups and free WiFi (a bonus).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Our guides strive to meet your expectations, and they take their profession extremely personal. If we failed to meet your expectations we hope you would have brought this to our attention and allow us to make it right with you. Customer service is what RW's Fishing and Big Eddy Resort is all about, and we take customer service very serious.

We have a large return client base at RW's, some returning for over 20 years. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the trip of a lifetime. We want to make your Alaskan experience one you want to repeat ....every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We did not stay at the Big Eddy Resort, but went out for a half-day salmon charter on the river. We had a great experience and would definitely return again.

The only reason I did not give this a 5-star is because when we originally called and set up the charter, we were told over the phone, "Just show up sometime around 8 or 9." We were sent paperwork through the mail documenting our reservation with maps, etc. but there was no mention of tour time included there either. When we showed up at RW's on our originally scheduled date around 8:30, we found that the charter had already left at 7am and we had to reschedule to another day and miss some other things we'd had planned on the peninsula.

I must admit, having started off on this foot, I was a little hesitant to return on the reschedule date, but I'm glad I did!

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the conditions of the river, bait, etc. and did all he could to try and make sure everyone caught something. Within the first 30 minutes, my fiance and I got a double catch - mine was a 15 lb silver! The rest of the day was fairly slow, but it was nice just being out on the river. I caught another large silver, and we had several hits, but weren't able to get them into the boat - through no fault of our gide, just bad luck. We had paid only for a half-day charter and received a near full-day because our guide was trying so hard to get everyone a fish - I call that above and beyond.

The processing and packaging were done wonderfully. We caught our fish on Sunday, they were sent out on Tuesday and we received them in MD in perfect condition on Thursday.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank grateful_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

In any relationship, personal or business communication is paramount, and sometimes there is a breakdown in communications. For that we appoligize, but we are also happy to hear that your experience with us was a good one. Tight Lines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I would never return to RW,S again the king fishing was terrible ) all
four on board (skunked twice) RW had a chance make it right but would not
offering an alternative so never again. Also the rooms slope very bad for walking
LOCATION OK

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOTSKUNKED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

We are sorry the river did not meet your expectations. The Kenai River is one of the most challanging rivers in the world, that is the reason why it has always been such a popular and rewarding fishery.

We have always worked with our customers to exceed their expectations, but the one thing that has to be kept in mind, we have no control over the fish.....we wish we did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews