We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
151
31
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
31
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas stationsourdough cabinbagelshatcher passthe ownercomfortable cabinbreakfast itemslarger cabinsconvenience storehot platethought of everythingsusitna riverbunk bedswell stocked kitchenclear skiesbeautiful flowersmatanuska glacier
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

It is hard to add anything to the previous reviews. We loved the cabin (Sourdough #1) and were not at all bothered by the minimal traffic on the road or gas station across said road. Breakfast was fun to do on your own (what a great idea) and there was a nice variety of food and generous portions. Amorita (the Lab) is very friendly and is controlled by a wireless device so she is not allowed to come near the cabins. You must go to her if you want to play. I wish we would have had the time to take the 12 mile drive up to the mine. Liz (the owner) told us all about the lovely river and hiking trails. We will absolutely stay here in the future as we drive to the Palmer area for high school football games a couple of times each fall.
Thanks Liz!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alaskagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A cozy out of the way place to relax and take in the beautiful Susitna river and Hatcher Pass, with the benefit of having the cute town of Palmer not too far away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed 1 night at its Sourdough Cabin for 4 adults. This whole property has a very homely atmosphere. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking wares and we were provided with food for our do-it-yourself breakfast. The cabins were set in the middle of the woods and it was a very quiet and relaxing stay. It is very convenient to drive to the beautiful Hatcher Pass from here. We were most impressed by our hosts who took their time and trouble to draw us map to the Hatcher Pass and a nice restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our adorable, flower-bedecked "sourdough" cabin had great rustic decor and a homey atmosphere. The kitchen was stocked with lots of great food like 2 kinds of homemade muffins, bagels, fresh eggs, and sausage, as well as cereal, oatmeal, milk, and juice. The cabin was nestled in the woods and was very quiet and relaxing. And there is a wonderful labrador retriever who loves to play fetch! The nice central location is great as a base for day trips to many areas around Alaska. The price was great, especially after a week of experiencing outrageous lodging and restaurant prices in other areas of Alaska. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Just describe what you want to Liz in an e-mail and she will get you just what you want.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Odd location, facing a fire station next to a gas station and convenience store. The image suggests something much more rustic. But very clean and conveniently located to drive to scenic Hatcher Pass for a hike. Owner helped us choose trails. Very clean and well equipped (incl BBQ) but quantity of food for make ur own bfast was stingy. Were taken aback when water cut off 45 mins before checkout and nobody on site to speak to, so couldn't use toilets before our 100 mile drive.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poplarcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews