We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best B&B out there...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our second time to Hatcher Pass B&B. We liked it so much that I googled them to find them this second-time around as we wanted to go back. We were not disappointed! This time we brought my brother and his wife with us and it ended up being their favorite as well.

You stay in cabins, not rooms. Cabins that are skillfully appointed just for comfort and ease of use. Full kitchen, living area, dining area...a home away from home.

If you like staying with a lot of people you don't know and eat breakfast at an appointed time with strangers at the table, then this B&B is not for you.

If you, like us, enjoy your privacy, want to get up and eat on your own time and in the privacy of your own cabin--this is heaven. Liz heavily stocks the frig with more than enough choices for breakfast and you can eat it whenever you want. She keeps you stocked and cared for throughout your stay...always making sure to respect your privacy.

This is simply the best B&B we have ever used...and I'm including international options we've tried. The others weren't bad...this is just our favorite by far. We'll be back! Can't say enough about it.

Room Tip: Each time we've stayed we've stayed in one of the chalets...we've never stayed in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmdizine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

It is hard to add anything to the previous reviews. We loved the cabin (Sourdough #1) and were not at all bothered by the minimal traffic on the road or gas station across said road. Breakfast was fun to do on your own (what a great idea) and there was a nice variety of food and generous portions. Amorita (the Lab) is very friendly and is controlled by a wireless device so she is not allowed to come near the cabins. You must go to her if you want to play. I wish we would have had the time to take the 12 mile drive up to the mine. Liz (the owner) told us all about the lovely river and hiking trails. We will absolutely stay here in the future as we drive to the Palmer area for high school football games a couple of times each fall.
Thanks Liz!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alaskagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A cozy out of the way place to relax and take in the beautiful Susitna river and Hatcher Pass, with the benefit of having the cute town of Palmer not too far away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed 1 night at its Sourdough Cabin for 4 adults. This whole property has a very homely atmosphere. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking wares and we were provided with food for our do-it-yourself breakfast. The cabins were set in the middle of the woods and it was a very quiet and relaxing stay. It is very convenient to drive to the beautiful Hatcher Pass from here. We were most impressed by our hosts who took their time and trouble to draw us map to the Hatcher Pass and a nice restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our adorable, flower-bedecked "sourdough" cabin had great rustic decor and a homey atmosphere. The kitchen was stocked with lots of great food like 2 kinds of homemade muffins, bagels, fresh eggs, and sausage, as well as cereal, oatmeal, milk, and juice. The cabin was nestled in the woods and was very quiet and relaxing. And there is a wonderful labrador retriever who loves to play fetch! The nice central location is great as a base for day trips to many areas around Alaska. The price was great, especially after a week of experiencing outrageous lodging and restaurant prices in other areas of Alaska. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Just describe what you want to Liz in an e-mail and she will get you just what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
17.6 km away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
11.1 km away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
101 reviews
12.6 km away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Moose Wallow Cabins
Moose Wallow Cabins
#3 of 12 in Palmer
18 reviews
37.8 km away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 12 in Palmer
239 reviews
11.7 km away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#5 of 13 in Palmer
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9000 N Palmer Fishhook Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-8043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range: $133 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast where you will experience Alaska's finest log cabins with all the modern conveniences of private bath, kitchen, phone, and TV/DVD/WiFi. Nestled at the base of beautiful Hatcher Pass, Alaska - home to a variety of outdoor activities in any season -only 50 miles north of Anchorage, eight miles from Palmer, and 10 from Wasilla. Relax in the comfort and beauty that is yours at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast.* Hiking* Sightseeing* Glaciers, mountains, rivers and lakes* A truly peaceful, relaxing, and spectacularly beautiful area of Alaska* Barbecues, firepit for hot dog roasts and relaxing, decks with southern view of Pioneer Peak, others decks with view of the Talkeetna Mountains of Hatcher Pass* Comfortable beds, sparkling clean cabins, and all the comforts of home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Bed And Breakfast
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast Palmer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing