We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Stay‎ at Alaska Garden Gate B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #3 of 12 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury NH
1 review
“Wonderful Stay‎ at Alaska Garden Gate B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed two nights at Karen's Alaska Garden Gate B&B. The room was large and tastefully decorated. Karen's breakfasts were delightful. She is a gracious and helpful hostess. Although we did not see any wildlife, other guests have reported seeing moose. We have stayed at many B&Bs and would rate this as one of the best!
Linda & Jay

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secret44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    34
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
88
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Was it the homemade gooey cinnamon rolls or the views that was the best? And my husband's a big guy, so it was great this wasn't a fussy place--nice leather sofas in the huge living room where we just sat and watched the mountains (who knew the view changed so much--it was like a movie outside), and the king bed and big bathroom was great for him. I of course loved seeing what we were going to have for breakfast each day! Wish we could have stayed longer--it would have been a great place be our central "home." And we saw the moose!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IKK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

awesome B&B !! Karen is the hostest from heaven, addressing your every need! We stayed in the "Forest Haven Guest Apartment". We had a HUGE Jacuzzi tub, COMFRONTABLE king bed, fireplace, small kitchen with fridge, oven, micro, coffee maker. Karen likes to have the main house empty for cleaning but we found that not to be an issue at all. We came and went as we pleased, we just headed to our room. The B&B is on 10 acres so there is a lot of room and space on the lot. It is very quite and the views are magnificent. Anchorage is only 35 minutes away we timed it. If you are coming from Anchorage, the B&B is BEFORE the church, if you see the church, you have gone too far. I have uploaded some photos of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

Elva and I stayed 4 nights at this bed and breakfast and totally enjoyed it. Our hostess, Karen, was friendly and very helpful giving directions, approximate travel time, etc. She was genuinely interested (and surprised!) to hear about all our activities during the day. The jacquzzi in our room was wonderful for getting the kinks out after hiking on the Matanuska Glacier. The dogs, Hunter and Little Girl, are lovely and very well-mannered. All the food was delicious and fresh. Two of the mornings we had full breakfasts. The other two we had fresh fruit, juice, and breakfast breads. This was because we had to leave very early our first morning and Karen had an appointment that required her to leave early the day we checked out. When we arrived late the first night , after 10:00, there was a welcoming note telling us how to find our room, so we didn't have to worry about ringing the doorbell and disturbing anyone. We stayed in the Forget Me Not room (main floor with queen bed/twin bed) and loved it even though the moose didn't visit while we were there. This was our first bed and breakfast adventure and we're already dreaming about going back!

  • Liked — beautiful furnishings, friendliness, delicious breakfasts, secluded/woodsy setting
  • Disliked — only the mosquitos!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vagabondlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany/NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

We have stayed at a number of B&B's in Alaska over the past few weeks, and this one did not stack up on top of our list. Here is our take:

Accomodations (room quality, cleanliness) are probably as good as it gets in Alaska, all at reasonable prices. And no, this is not a joke, although I rated this property as not too nice. The view is wonderful, the property is very nice, well maintained and landscaped (which is quite unique for Alaska). BTW, don't trust your GPS, it will take you 1 mile too far, use your eyes to locate the B&B. This is the upshot, which might be more than sufficient for quite a few travelers.

On the downside, however, we kind of felt like in a prison. Yes, we knew upfront that that B&B was not to be used 1-4pm, but in the end this turned out to be quite inconvenient. We were out 19 hours a day, but we really felt like we needed a nap at one point, and had to go get a coffee instead. Hey, I'm on vacation, and I really feel like I should be able to treat myself with a nap whenever I feel like it. There are instuctions all over the place in the B&B with respect to what is not allowed, what is allowed, when it is allowed, and how it is to be done. Instructions on how to flush a (regular) toilet, anyone? You'll find them posted in your bathroom. Kitchen is off limits (not nice!), and if you, by any chance, due to jet lag or the insanely long Alaskan summer days, would like breaksfast outside the 7.30-9.30am "regular" breakfast hours-- bad idea. BTW, to be fair, when we ended up getting the breakfast at the alloted time, it was a very good homecooked meal. Now, I am sure that the host had her issues with past guests, which led her to posting all kinds of instructions all over the place, but this really gives the place a institutionalized feeling ;)

There was one additional thing that we clearly dissliked. The rooms in this B&B tend to be grouped together, and are not soundproofed. Bad luck if your neighbor snores a storm, you spend the whole night watching the water in your glass tremble and shake. What is one to do-- knock at the door of your host, or knock at the door of your neighbor asking him to stay awake the whole night? Neither seemed like a reasonable choice, so we ended up losing our own sleep. Now, I don't think that any of the B&B's has soundproofed walls (as hotels do), but some of them have their rooms quite spread apart, so guests don't bother each other involuntarily.

So.. take your pick, in a sense, this B&B is a very good value for the money, but I would never go back to it.

  • Liked — cleanliness, new and cared for place
  • Disliked — insane number of house rules and instructions
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler_for_fun_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
For 2010 we're happy to announce that now guests are welcome to be at our B&B and Cottages 24/7, no "closed" periods during the day! We are available for service from 7-11 a.m. and from 4-10 p.m., but guests can feel free to relax around the B&B at any time. We have heard from TripAdvisor reviews that this was important to you, so we have modified our living quarters so the B&B is always available to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
11.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
6.1 km away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
12.6 km away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.5 km away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#5 of 12 in Palmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
10.3 km away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Property: Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price range (per night): $116 - $221
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Garden Gate B & B Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing