We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge experience”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wasn't there long, but would certainly go back. It was the day after new years 2012 and everything around was closed due to off-season and new year holiday. The Cape fox lodge provided a great relaxing place to re-energize. Their WIFI was weak, but restaurant was great.

Room Tip: specials are available through travel websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Cape Fox Lodge in Ketchikan Alaska is five stars at a reasonable price. The views from the hotel and rooms; either mountain or water are to die for! I am floored by my wonderful experience and would recommend the Cape Fox to anyone; you will not regret your decision to stay here. There is a virtual museum of artifacts in the hotel although they do not brag about these, but during your stay be sure to check out all the exhibits on the first and second floors. The service is impeccable and I would like to personally thank Laura and Sandy at the front desk for their welcoming attitude(I felt like family), professional demeanor, efficiency, knowledge, and willingness to help. The Heen Kahidi restaurant was again five stars at a price far more reasonable than what you get, again the views will shock you with overwhelming amazement! Kelly was my server and his professionalism and presentation and willingness to make incredible recommendations( easy I guess when everything was so delicious), but nonetheless personal, where far more than what I have experienced at fancy Brentwood/Santa Monica, California restaurants. I will always stay at the Cape Fox when in Ketchikan, and I wholeheartedly recommend you do too! Thank You Cape Fox and your wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Mountain view or water you can not go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have eaten at several restraunts around Ketchikan and find that Cape Fox Lodge has the best well rounded menu specializing in seafood. The halibut chips were wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Cape Fox Lodge is a pretty place in a beautiful setting, but suffers from some quality issues both in terms of facilities and staff. We spent two nights here in January, 2012. Although we almost didn't get there because the shuttle driver went to the airport ferry dock instead of the AK marine highway ferry dock, where we had called twice to say we were waiting. The manager apologized profusely for our 45 minute wait out in the cold.

Our room was OK, good bed and hot shower, but it was extremely warm (~80 degrees) and we had trouble sleeping the first night. The knob on the heater was non-sensical and the room stayed very hot even after the manager turned it off, and we used an electric fan to blow air out the open window (remember, this is January and it is about 30 degrees outside). Both knobs on the windows were broken off and one window actually had been screwed shut so that it could not be opened, even in an emergency! The other thing with the room is the lack of electrical outlets that could be reached, there were very few, all hidden behind large pieces of furniture.

On our second day the Tram, used to reach downtown, was closed because of "a funny sound", and stayed closed for the rest of our stay. So in the dark we negotiated the slippery, winding Married Man's path on a skim of snow and ice, for the 300 or so vertical feet down to town, and then back up again.

The worst single issue was rock and roll music resonating through our room beginning at 8 pm and lasting till after 11 pm. The first night we tried to ignore it, but the second night, unable to sleep I dressed and walked down to the office after 11 pm and described the bass and drums as somewhere between Iron Maiden and Twisted Sister, or whatever their modern equivalents are. The manager instantly said "oh, it's the kitchen staff" and shuttled off to deal with it. That was the end of it, but still it seemed inexcusable in what should be a quiet hotel in January. We were almost the only guests here. I pictured a dazed 20-year-old dishwasher head banging his way through his shift. This might not be a problem in other rooms. Ours, room 240 was directly above the kitchen--avoid this room!

Breakfast in the Lodge restaurant was very good, and a fairly good deal at $7.99 each. We had tried to find breakfast in town and the Pioneer Cafe was $11.99 or more for something similar, on seats with large tears in them. We tried to find a sit-down dinner spot, but instead punted with a Subway sandwich in the room after a man who worked in the food industry complained to us that there was nothing acceptable in Ketchikan. We had looked at several places but everything seemed substandard yet very expensive. And some still allow smoking in the restaurant, which is unacceptable.

The Jitters coffee shop lady was nice and had some interesting coffee varieties for sale, but she botched grinding our coffee for a French Press--I specifically told her to grind it coarse. So she comes back and says here, it's ground for drip or espresso. Hello?? Please get an education about coffee grinding if you are going to run a coffee shop and sell bags of coffee to people from Seattle.

In summary, almost everything went wrong on our stay at Cape Fox Lode. I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid a room anywhere near the hard rockers in the kitchen (north side, mountain view)!! They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trekkin_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I have stayed,worked and ate at this Hotel and resturaunt for several years. I'm heartboken that the numshe coffee shop will be closing it's doors on the 20th. This coffee shop is the first thing customers see when they pull up to the front doors of the hotel. Hanna our barrista, Hands down, makes the best coffee in Ketchikan. It would be a shame and a great dis-service to Cape-Fox if their were no coffee shop to come to. The rooms are nice, not as comfortable as some I have had the pleasure of staying in. The food is awsome, The chef and Kitchen staff Work very hard to provide a beutiful menu and the food itself is out of this world. The resturaunt staff to the front desk staff and in between are wounderful people. These folks go out of there way to make sure the guest are taken care of. Overall this hotel would be a very nice place to come and visit.

Room Tip: The outer core rooms are quieter. However if you need an elevator you will want to be on the main l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 km away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
346 reviews
3.5 km away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
381 reviews
3.6 km away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
0.4 km away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ketchikan

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $192 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing