We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best values in Ketchikan

Take the time to visit the Southeast Discovery Center. This is an outstanding attraction and is... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2018
Timothy B
,
Long Beach, California
Another great Alaska Museum

This is our second visit to this museum. It’s well worth a visit. It’s great to have an opportunity... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
RosemaryB149
,
Abbotsford, Canada
Read all 238 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ketchikan
from USD 179.00
More Info
from USD 269.00
More Info
from USD 169.34
More Info
from USD 125.00
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
143
82
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
82
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest service senior pass scavenger hunt parks pass the national park service tongass national forest nice exhibits great museum admission fee short movie excellent film natural history great overview gold rush native peoples cruise ship docks an easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Heavy rain put paid to our plans for our last shore day in Alaska, there was no enjoyment to be had on any outdoor activity in the cold and mist. Having read the reviews this centre was on our to do list anyway. Although the TourIst Information office said that it was unlikely to be open due to low visitor numbers (just the 4,000 passengers from the two ships in port that day, many of whom would be trying to keep dry) the lady did ring up to check. It was open and we spent a couple of hours in the centre. The exhibits were well put together and took us through the history, natural history, geology and industries of the area. There are films on in the theatre throughout the day and with a wrist stamp system you can return to catch any that are on later. There is a classroom area that probably caters for groups of children rather than individuals but there's enough to interest kids with their parents. All in all a great little centre.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank LaNyonsaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The people who work here love what they do, this is a labor of love and you can see they do lots with kids and community! They are working on bringing together unique stories about Alaskan's and the history of this huge State!! Thank you for your work!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Glad we were able to stop by and see the exhibits and learn about the rich history. The exhibits are well thought out and informative.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Ranaj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This site's information added so much to our understanding of how the area was developed and the region's characteristics. The film on Ketchikan, with its old footage, pictures and interviews with local people, added so much perspective to our subsequent experience. Great start!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank TimWHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This is a nice place to look around and find out a little more about Alaska. They even gave my 8 year old a scavenger hunt sheet to fill out. There are some interactive displays too.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Trishyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews