We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
42
154
113
49
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
154
113
49
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grocery store ferry terminal alaska state museum downtown juneau basic hotel an easy walk three nights walking distance shuttle service location was perfect would stay here again in town living area bed was comfortable sandpiper kitchenette cruise
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Very pleased with my stay at the Driftwood. Centrally located downtown near restaurants and night life. EXCELLENT and reliable free shuttle service to/from airport and ferry. Pam, the shuttle driver was a wealth of information and gave a nice unprovoked tour on way from airport to the hotel. She was very professional, courteous, and most importantly punctual. Lu checked me in and she also was very friendly and helpful. Basic room, but more than suitable. Would highly recommend this hotel as long as you aren't looking for a place with all the frills. They do a wonderful job and I would definitely stay there again if I return to Juneau. Thanks again Pam for picking me up at 3 AM from the ferry despite the snowstorm and getting me to the airport in time for my flight!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, other at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your feed back. We pride ourselves on our courteous and friendly staff here at the Driftwood Hotel. Come back and see us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Clean room, helpful staff, central location to Juneau (can walk to downtown but may be a bit too much for most travelers)

Somewhat dated, but few lodging choices in Juneau...Driftwood Hotel is a good value

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randyb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, other at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We've recently done quite a bit of updating and upgrading. Come back and check out all of our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Arrived early, left bags and confirmed 3 pm check-in but when we returned at 5 pm the room still wasn't available. We offered to just change the sheets ourselves but it suddenly was available (hate to think what was skipped). We could have worked around the later time if they had just told us there would be a delay. Our shuttle reservation for the ferry the next morning was misplaced. Getting into bed we found that some of the carpet was wet. At check-out we didn't get the promised discount to room rate. Then the shuttle driver didn't have us & some other customers as approved passengers. The problems got worked out but they didn't make it easy.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank G706XSkathleenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, other at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

We're sorry for the complications, and that your expirence with us was not great. These issues have been addressed. We've also made some upgrades and updates since your stay. Please come back and check us out.
We'd be glad to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The staff was very helpful and the pay washer and dryer worked. Room is very basic (think Motel 6) but clean. Easy to walk downtown to see sights or eat. Sandpiper Cafe next door good. Was quiet when we stayed.

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, other at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see our new upgrades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The Driftwood hotel is a throwback hotel; built in 1963 and last renovated in 1998. We were informed there are 3 rules – smoke only in designated areas, the key is real (do not lose it), and be considerate of the other guests. Not a problem. The room was minimalist; no a/c, slower internet, slow drains, and musty but had a living room, kitchenette, and 2 bedrooms with 4 comfortable twin beds. it's proximity made all downtown eateries and attractions an easy walk. The IGA grocery store is just around for the corner. The Sandpiper Cafe shares the parking lot.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OH_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, other at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

We've done some upgrading and updating since your stay. Do come in and check us out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews