We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No real town, just a Barn”
Review of Icy Strait Point

Icy Strait Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Icy Strait Point is located in the town of Hoonah on Chichagof Island. We are a quick 20 minute flight from Juneau, Alaska. Icy Strait Point is the only private cruise ship destination in Alaska; we offer over 20 different shore excursions including ATVs, biking, kayaking, nature tours, the best whale watching in Alaska and the world's largest and highest zipline ride. We also have 3 waterfront restaurants with breathtaking views offering some of the freshest seafood you will ever eat. Don't miss our unique shopping center, a free museum, walking trails, etc.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Icy Strait Point was my worst stopover on a Cruise Ship. It is not a real town just a Barn full of products to sell. What saved this stopover was the Zip Line, which I loved

8  Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcyStraitPoint, General Manager at Icy Strait Point, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at Icy Strait Point. Glad you loved the Zipline, it is an amazing ride and is by far the largest zip ride in the world. "The Barn" is actually a Historic Salmon Cannery that is 100 years old this year. There is an amazing amount of history around these buildings with just some of it displayed in the free museum. True that the buildings around Icy Strait Point are not a town. Inside the cannery you will find that all of the businesses are Alaskan owned and operated. Many other ports are filled with out of state and out of country businesses flooding their shopping districts. Over 90% of our staff are from the local town of Hoonah and 80% are Alaska Natives and shareholders of the Huna Totem Corporation: 100% owners of Icy Strait Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 728 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you are going on a cruise and are docking here as one of your ports of call I highly recommend booking an excursion during your time here. They do have an interesting indoor space set up with artifacts and photos that share information about the salmon industry in Alaska and also do a few other demonstrations, but for the most part it is a bit remote, and I would have been bored to spend the entire day here. They did have the zipline excursion for the thrillseekers. I heard that the view was amazing and the zipline exhilierating. But I could never justify spending over $100 for a ride that lasts a little less than 2 minutes, but I am sure for some it would be worth it. We booked a whale watching excusion through Glacier Winds Charters while our cruise ship was tendered here. It was amazing.

8  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Nice change from the other ports. We walked into the town of Hoonah- very small and quaint. Nice walk with great scenery. The beach walk at Icy Point was excellent- the forest was surreal and so green. Dont bother eating at Icy Point- the food is overpriced. We ate at a local shop in Hoonah and the food was excellent for half the price

13  Thank angandgreg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcyStraitPoint, General Manager at Icy Strait Point, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thanks for your review of Icy Strait Point. Glad you were able to get out and enjoy the beach and the trails. One of the great things about our port is that it takes just a few minutes to walk down on to a real Alaskan beach or to an easily accessible forest for a walk. The food at Icy Strait Point is very competitive with local and regional pricing and the views from our restaurants can't be beat. We hope to see you back here again as every year we are making changes, for 2012 we will have some exciting events for the 100th anaversary of the Hoonah Packing company cannery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our favorite port call on our second Alaska cruise. No Diamonds International and all the clones. Interesting museum about the fishing industry history. Took a walk through the forest and along the beach where we could see whales. One could whale watch from one of the restaurants. Didn't go on it but they have what looks like an awesome zip line. Only disappointment was the Crab Shack was not open. Very pleasant people and relaxed atmosphere.

11  Thank EWL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcyStraitPoint, General Manager at Icy Strait Point, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thanks for the review! Sorry that the Crab Station was not open when you were here in September. The Dungeness Crab fishing season ends on August 15th each year, we purchased all the crab we could get on the last delivery but came up a bit short and had to close a few ship days earlier than anticipated. We are looking forward to this coming season and are planning on being open from our first ship on May 6th through our last on September 21st in 2012. We hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We went whale watching with Allen Marine. Not sure if they run all the whale tours at this location or not, but if you can select them I highly recommend them. Boat was clean and every seat had a view, boat was three levels so everybody could see!

6  Thank TravelingBCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcyStraitPoint, General Manager at Icy Strait Point, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thanks for the great review. YES Allen Marine conducts all the whale watching departures sold on the ship and at Icy Strait Point. Whales are guaranteed on all of these tours as well as being on very comfortable large vessels, seasickness is not an issue here. Another great advantage is that they depart from Icy Strait Point and don't require additional bus transportation. Thanks for Joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Icy Strait Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing