We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Starbuck's”

Sarah J's Coffee & Eatery
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Haines
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Reviewed 29 October 2018

No steps for entering and it is located between the shops and the eagle foundation. They offer seating outside. We only got coffee and it was good. Cute little shop and there were a lot of people coming and going.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 706bonnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

The Hemp Hot Chocolate Milk is great. In fact in my two weeks in Haines this past summer the food is excellent and fresh.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ovrzedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We went here for breakfast and it wasn't bad. Food definitely above average but there is really no place to sit except for one outdoor picnic table and the wait was huge - think the employees were overwhelmed.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We were docked for the very first time in Haines so I had a chance to look around the town. Tripadvisor says they're in Portage Street but they moved to 2nd Avenue near the Visitor Information Centre.

There were lots of choices so it took me a bit of time to finally make up my mind. Ordered the Spicy Italian melt with a rootbeer. Paid for it, waited a few minutes to have my name called and got my food.

This restaurant doesn't have any indoor tables; only fixed benches by the walls for you to wait and that's it. If you want to sit down and thoroughly enjoy the sandwich you have to go out to the nearby benches. It was an impossibly beautiful and sunny day so sitting there was simply a joy.

The sandwich?? The bread alone will make you smile. Bite into the sandwich and one can feel and hear the crunch of the crust but the bread inside is very nice and soft. The salami and the other add ons?? Really great!!! A perfect combination with the root beer I ordered.

Left the area with a big smile on my face... Hope I can return next year!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank docgorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We ate here three times in three days. Blake Melt. Get it. Enjoy it. Except to stand in line. Know that the wait will be worth it.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Owner at Sarah J's Coffee & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you Michelle, so happy to hear your experience in Haines and at my business was nothing short of SAVOUR!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sarah J's Coffee & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing