We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
21
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews definitely stay here again fort seward a wonderful stay its charm lynn canal ferry terminal beds were very comfortable front porch great spot other guests yogurt stayed two nights the owner jj ft town linens
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We stayed and the House #1 Fort Seward B&B in Haines and were treated with such care by our host JJ. He was knowledgeable about the city, provided bikes for us to cruise the town at no additional cost, cooked the most amazing breakfast in the mornings and told us of great hikes around town. Next time we visit Haines we will definitely stay here again. A must see in HAINES. -MATT

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali D, Innkeeper at House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

So we'll be seeing you again sometime soon? ;-) Thanks for the great review and it's good to know that our courtesy bikes helped make your visit special. Best Wishes, Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My friend and I stayed two nights at the very end of September, sharing a room with a spectacular view out over the old parade ground and the water.

The building itself has character - it is not a Holiday Inn Express, it is an old military house that has been made very comfortable, topped off by an outstandingly friendly and helpful host in Sara.

The Northern Lights were out on our second night, and sitting on the deck out front watching them with her and my friend is something that will stay with me for the rest of my life - a beautiful moment shared in a stunning location - thank you.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish_Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I came in from salmon fishing and this was a great spot. After spending months on a boat, getting to use a full kitchen to make dinner was a treat. Spent hours sitting on the porch with other guests. Hot shower, plenty of coffee, and good company. Will be back.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Layne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Haines after taking the Alaska ferry north. We'd seen Fort Seward on our last trip through Haines and wanted to spend a couple of nights here to get to know the area better. Fine choice! House Number 1 is a hundred-plus year old Army officer's residence, dating back to the Klondike Gold Rush and then sold by the govt as an artist's colony after WW II. Our room was spacious with a modern kitchenette and private bathroom. Other rooms are also spacious, although some have shared hall bathrooms and kitchen use. It was all clean and well cared for, with exterior restoration (a regular requirement for historic structures) ongoing. Recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler_from_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Sara was timely in picking us up from the Ferry Terminal, allowed us to choose between a couple of open rooms, and gave us some gracious tips for enjoying the area. She was a flexible and accommodating host! Breakfast is mostly on your own in a shared kitchen, but Sara provides the groceries, and will happily fix you up something if need be. Linens and bedding are a bit dated and worn, but perfectly clean. Baggage storage option was great. Relaxing, home-y environment overall.

Room tip: No elevator - if that's an issue, choose a first floor room.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews