We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island life is grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers International
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Island life is grand”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Basic hostel, but for $19 a night I am not going to be expecting more.
Fresh bananas and Papaya every morning. Bill and Anna are great hosts with lots of advice on the activities of the island.
Close to the beach. Excellent book selection, perfect for the rainy days
What more could you ask for when in Rarotonga?

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
4
13
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muenchen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

If you want to experience the real Rarotongan life; go to Backpackers International!! It´s not one of those boring standard hostel everyone knows. It´s something special.
So if your open for a new backpacker´s experience, come and visit the lovely local family that runs the hostel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmudl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I dont no what to say about this hostel, it was cheap and clean and very basic.really near the beach and the bus stop. the toilets and showers werent gr8 and the cockeral woke u up at 5 every morning. i think this could be a gr8 hostel if it was ran better. the dvd nites were good tho. the kettel took 15mis to boil. if your a backpacker on a budget i (which i was) i supose it was fine but i wouldnt stay here again i dont think. we left and were to a hotel with a dorm room that was down the road. the owner gave is a discount because we had a really noise room which was nice i supose.
ok but not gr8.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sturdygirlKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The hostel is very basic, but comfortable. It is also very cheap. The dorms only have 3 beds in them, there is a TV lounge with a dvd player and the kitchen is large, but there are only 6 gas hobs, and it can get busy - especially if there is a meal organised. The owners organise "international nights" where everyone cooks a dish and its all shared - which is a great way to meet the others at the hostel. The beach is at the end of the road next to a grocery,cycle/kayak/snorkel hire, video rental, fast food shop. The groceries are not cheap here so it is worth doing a shop at the supermarket in Avarua. The best snorkelling on the island is 5mins walk away near the Dive Centre at Aro'a beach.

The bad points are the roosters and dogs which are a natural alarm clock. The showers are solar heated so there is only lukewarm water in the morning, but it is perfect when you get back from the beach in the afternoon.

Overall it is a fantastic budget place to stay - I would stay there again. The owners are friendly and do what they can to help guests welcome.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supersiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.0 km away
Aremango Guesthouse
Aremango Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Avarua
159 reviews
0.0 km away
Vara's
Vara's
#15 of 17 in Muri
149 reviews
0.0 km away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Atupa Orchid Units
Atupa Orchid Units
#72 of 75 in Rarotonga
16 reviews
0.0 km away
The Reef Motel
The Reef Motel
#12 of 12 in Arorangi
13 reviews
0.0 km away
Aroa Kainga
Aroa Kainga
#1 of 1 in Arorangi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers International

Property: Backpackers International
Address: PO Box 878, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price range (per night): $35 - $69
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing