We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing fresh fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We ate here 3 times in a week because it was so yummy. The place itself is just a few picnic tables on the lagoon, but the sandwiches were an awesome lunch. The fish was so fresh and tasty. Ifyou feel like having a beer with your lunch, just bring it along and enjoy the view! I thought the "Fresh off the boat" sandwich was the best. But the tuna ones were good as well and the ike mata was delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eleanor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,358
    200
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty, tasty sandwiches by the lagoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My partner and I had lunch at this lunch cafe bar after reading the raving reviews on here. The reviews were spot on, and we returned several times during our stay on Rarotonga! We tried the various tuna and chicken sandwiches, all of which were bursting with flavours and freshness and were served on freshly-baked Turkish bread. The smoothies were yummy too. A great place for a lunchtime sandwich with views of that stunning lagoon!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ydnak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

You really have to try the FOB (fresh off the boat) fish sandwich or salad - it's the bomb.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FifiM2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FOB is delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Mooring is a simple but great little spot for lunch. There are gorgeous views of the lagoon from the outdoor picnic tables (with umbrellas for shade).
We had the Fresh Off the Boat burgers - mahi mahi with salad and lime mayo on turkish bread. So delicious we went back more than once. And they cook the fish when you order, so it is still nice and hot when your burger is served.
The only downside is that unless you feel like a burger/sandwich, or having the burger/sandwich made into a salad, there are no other menu options. This definitely wasnt a problem for us as the burgers were so lovely.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumba103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic but Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

They serve very basic food - just sandwiches and salads, but they are excellent! We had the Capt Moko tuna sandwich and the FOB fish sandwich. The bread is excellent and fresh (best bread on the island I think). We also loved the smoothies!

Not the cheapest ($10 for sandwiches and $7 for smoothies), but cheaper than a restaurant option and worth every cent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank russnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing