We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picturesque”
Review of Babe's Place

Babe's Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangaia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Babe's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Mangaia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Certainly that's not a place for everyone. But certainly one that gets to Mangaia is not looking for luxury or glamour, but if you are looking for an authentic atmosphere this is the place. It is not an accommodation for tourists, home to almost only local or staff that is there for job, this means that it's an excellent opportunity to get in touch with the locals. The kitchen should be considered with the standard here, so it can't be certainly considered "fine" but anyway I found just fine . The cleaning as the facilities are basic. The price compared to the service it's a bit pricey, but it is the only accommodation on the island, so take it or leave it ...

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Accommodations are very limited on Mangaia. Fortunately, Babe's Place is great. The rooms were simple but clean with solar hot water which worked well. The annex rooms have small shady outside patios with easy chairs which were perfect for reading. The full board meals were excellent with plenty of variety and fresh fish, fruit and vegetables from the local fields. Ura managed to find two bicycles for us to rent and kindly introduced us to the people we wanted to meet. We enjoyed getting to know fellow travelers (government employees in our case) over dinner and breakfast. The hospitality of the Mangaians was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HLM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a great place to stay on Mangaia, even though there are few options on the island. Indeed I was the only tourist (there were a couple of engineers staying, working on the new wharf). The stay includes full board, as there are no restaurants and I also took food of my own (Easter Eggs as gifts went down well!).

The room had a double bed with a patched mosquito net, plus a spare bed and ensuite. All facilities worked fine, albeit I read in the main house as light was limited in the room.

The main building has a beautiful big lounge with plenty of sofas and a TV, plus a dining area where meals are served. The food reflects the local island diet, but nothing was too much trouble, with staff going off to pick fruit etc, to add to meals. If you have any dietary needs, let them know before you arrive, as supplies are limited.

Staff were happy to make recommendations re where to go and what to do; one staff member lent me her daughter's bike to ride around part of the island. The rest of the time I largely walked, but anyone seeing you out walking will offer you a lift on their motorbike or car. Babe's place is located a 5-10 minute walk from town and Babe also runs the local store there.

Room Tip: There are four rooms in a row, so it doesn't make much difference, unless you have a penchant fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hospitality and friendliness provided by Babe and his team at Babe's Place were outstanding in all respects. The 2 rooms in the main house are spacious and airy. Each room in the main house has a King-size and single bed, along with a dresser and wardrobe. Babe's also has separate units set apart from the main homestead.

We appreciated all little touches that Babe and his team (Ura and Moetau) provided to make us feel welcome and relaxed. All our meals were delicious, and the menu changed each day using as much fresh produce that could be sourced on Mangaia. Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay over our week's visit. What also made our stay rather special was meeting fellow house-guests and day-visitors each day at Babe's, and bonding over dinner.

Babe's Place is very quiet, as is all of Mangaia island. Loved the sense of history, the ancient geology, all the surrounding bush, and also the pristine clear rock-pools a short walk from Babe's We remain privileged to visit such a welcoming, clean, hospitable and stunningly attractive island.

Thank-you Babe, you are a gem for making all the ground arrangements for our visit to Mangaia so marvellous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was my second stay here with the first being in 2004. This place is always clean with hospitable staff. Two of the rooms are in need of a refresh as they are starting to show some age. The bed was harder than I remember but being out in the middle of the Pacific, I can understand this. The food, which comes with the stay was outstanding. The rooms are still screened for bugs and is a good idea. Babes has always been an outstanding value for this part of the World. As usual, Babe is a great host. I will return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Babe's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babe's Place

Address: Oneroa, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Mangaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mangaia
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing