We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour”

Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Price range: USD 8 - USD 29
Description: Enjoy the very best views of Aitutaki Lagoon from the best location on Aitutaki while sipping a tropical cocktail at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy the very best views of Aitutaki Lagoon from the best location on Aitutaki while sipping a tropical cocktail at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great outlook, fantastic staff with good food and wine. Cocktails also good and well priced. Sitting on the deck with a wine or cocktail, over looking the fabulous Aitutaki lagoon is just amazing!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank chrismay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for writing your review on your dining experience at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill. The views for the beach bar deck are simply stunning especially at sunset. I am pleased you found our staff fantastic and your “Happy Hour” experience was amazing.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Private Island.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018

Once you get past the grumpy/rude barge driver to go across for lunch if you are not staying here it's quite lovely. We had lunch here twice and the food and drinks were pretty good, the prices were fair for the location/view which is just stunning. The service from locals (except the barge driver) and not foreign staff was above average for Aitutaki. We loved the fish tacos.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Kia Orana 123free,
I apologize for your welcome from the ferry driver and I will address this accordingly. I am pleased you enjoyed the views and the meal as it is a magnificent location for a bar and restaurant. Thank you for your review and I will tell chef to keep up the good work with the fish tacos.
Warm regards,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Stayed at the resort where this restaurant is located, and ate here several times - never had a bad meal! Their dinner menu changes every night so there is always something new to try, and really enjoyed both their island nights on Mon and Sat. Tastiest thing we tried was the seafood platter, which you need to give them advance notice for, but man was it worth it!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TammieC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for writing your review on your dining experience at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill. I am delighted that your dining experience was very enjoyable and you found pleasure in sitting and admiring the beautiful views of the lagoon from our beach bar deck. The seafood platter is a favourite with our guests and everyone enjoys the island nights.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Private Island.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We stayed on this island "resort" for 10 days. What a disappointment. The whole place needs a serious makeover. The Restaurant is expensive, not cooled (ceiling fans would be a good idea) and the menu was repetitive. Table service was excellent. Maria served with a lovely smile and was always reasdy for a chat. We ate most meals (except for breakfast which was included in the tariff) at the Boat Shed and the Blue Lagoon cafe.

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Terry77271138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for writing your review.
I am pleased you found the table service very good and the staff attentive and friendly.
We are currently undertaking a progressive and comprehensive complete refurbishment of all aspects of our resort. We recently introduced a new menu incorporating international favourites as well as a wider range of fresh local ingredients. This has been well received by our guests and we look forward to your comments on our new menu when you return.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Private Island.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Light food, good pizza and a cold beer. What more could you want in paradise. Areal nice place to just sit and enjoy the lagoon views.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for writing your review on your dining experience at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the magnificent views of the lagoon from the deck of the beach bar and the food and beverage were both very good.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Private Island.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing