We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cynthia C
Perth, Australia

Perfect Cook Islands experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2015
We loved it. Private serene comfortable and clean. Emma, Miles and Naomi such warm welcoming hosts. A special thank you for their concern and care when my husband had a scooter accident. Aitutaki is a special place and we will never forget out beautiful time at this magical place.
Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$732
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$732
  • Trip.com
    AU$673
  • Hotels.com
    AU$672
1.7 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
AU$576
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$576
  • Hotels.com
    AU$518
  • Priceline
    AU$576
1.8 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,244
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,244
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,244
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,381
2.6 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
AU$752
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$752
  • Trip.com
    AU$676
  • Hotels.com
    AU$752
3.1 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
    0.7 km from Aitutaki Seaside
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    3.1 km from Aitutaki Seaside
    Our villas
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    1.9 km from Aitutaki Seaside
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    2.5 km from Aitutaki Seaside
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Aitutaki
    Reviews (106)
    Filter reviews
    106 results
    Traveller rating
    67
    31
    3
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    67
    31
    3
    4
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews relaxed holiday scooter accommodation lagoon unit
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    38 - 43 of 106 reviews
    Reviewed 7 September 2015

    Aitutaki is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Crystal waters in colours of blue that no photo gives credit. We have visited Aitutaki a number of times and stayed at the most beautiful resorts (that come at a price) and the truth is - you don't need all the fuss.
    Aitutaki Seaside Lodges is simple and perfect for everything you need.
    It is located on the sunset side of the island and still easy to zip around to the lagoon where you spend your days. Miles and his off sider Jake (standing in for his mum for the day) are lovely and personally collected us from the airport. The room is basic in comparison to a 5-star resort - but has fresh cotton sheets, movies for free and speakers to connect to your own phone / iTunes. Be sure to eat fresh fish and chips for dinner at PUFFY's (10 minute walk away) and a little further down the beach is Coconut Shack - Beach Bar with cold beers and locally caught mud crab and parrot fish on the menu.

    Date of stay: September 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    7  Thank JTKaKa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2015

    Miles collected us from the airport, took us to the villas, then to the car rental place- for no cost. Great location, beach cleaned everyday. Able to use kayaks and snorkelling equipment. Eating places a short walk along beach. Would visit again anyday.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    5  Thank Kbfls
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 August 2015

    We were lucky to spend 3 days in Aitutaki recently, staying at the ASL. Miles was a great host, with good local insights on what to see and where to eat. The beachfront bungalows are clean and comfortable, with a fantastic outlook. Away from the big resorts, but sharing the same great view of those on the western/sunset side of the island (and with the main lagoon attractions still accessible. Would recommend hiring a scooter to enable you to easily get around the island). Sun lounges and kayaks provided, and the only noise was that of the small fish jumping out of the water. Would recommend this accommodation for those wanting to experience the relaxed pace and beautiful scenery that is Aitutaki, without the price tag and pretentiousness of a resort. If we ever get to go back, would stay again ASL.
    Angela, Australia

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    7  Thank Angela S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

    I stayed at Seaside Lodges for a week to escape the grind of a busy corporate job. What a great decision.

    Miles picked me up from the airport and gave me a quick tour including some of the local cafes before settling me into the bungalow.

    The bungalow is a set of three located on the sunset side of the island, only a few minutes away from the airport. My bungalow had a double bed and a daybed in an open plan setting. There is a fully set up kitchen (kettle, toaster, drip coffee machine, microwave and oven) with all the utensils/dishes you could need. There is a TV in the room but no cable but Miles has a number of current movies/TV shows on a usb available to watch.
    The bathroom has a shower and if there was one thing to address it would be the shower head as it was leaking a fair bit which reduced the water flow significantly.

    The best part of the bungalow of course is the deck which looks out to the ocean. Each morning I would sit outside with my breakfast and listen to the local chickens. When it wasn't raining (had a few showers that week which is apparently a bit out of the ordinary), there was a brilliant sunset. Perfect when accompanied by a cold beer - just don't forget some mosquito repellant or use one of the provided mosquito coils. Each bungalow also has a privacy screen so you can't see your neighbours if you don't want to be social (but everyone I met was lovely). The lodge has air conditioning but I preferred the ocean air coming through the screen doors at night.

    The water out front of the lodges is a little shallow and is home to many rocks/coral so is not ideal for swimming but you can do so a little farther down the beach or over closer to the major resorts on the other side of the island. But it does make for great kayaking (there are a few kayaks parked out front). The beach is very well taken care of with a caretaker raking each day.

    Overall, there is nothing else I could have wanted from my stay. A perfect getaway for a solo traveller or a couple looking to recharge m, without a few of the frills of a large resort.

    A couple of notes for Aitutaki in general:
    - definitely rent a scooter - even though the island is small, things are a just a little spread out (and it is fun to do a loop or get up to the lookouts).
    - you can get fresh bread from the petrol station 5 mins drive down the road. So good. There are a number of other stores further down that have different food items (each one is a little bit different in terms of what they offer).
    - the coconut shack about ten mins walk down the beach is a great close dinner option. I didn't visit any of the bigger resorts but they are definitely an option.
    - get out to the lagoon on Aitutaki Adventures. It's a must. Only $99 NZD for an amazing day with captain Puna (see detailed review).
    - stay longer than a week. From Sydney if you do Syd/Raro/Ait in one day, it's a bit of a haul, and I just felt like I could have done with a few more days.
    - If you do have a few hours stopover in Raro, go enjoy the Hula Bar at the Islander Hotel (walk out past the domestic/cargo area of the airport and it is just across the street).
    - when you fly into Aitutaki, you'll be mesmerised by that first glance of the lagoon!

    The Cook Islands have a bit indescribable magic....I'll be back.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    8  Thank Leafsgirl77
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

    My husband and i pend 7 nights in this litle piece of paradise.
    Our bungallow was the midle on (it's only 3) and the sunset was tight in front of us, so beautiful.
    Place is very clean, bed linen smelling sooo good, fresh towels, clean dishes , snorkling gear available (a litle bit old could be replaced),3 excelent kaiak's available (no extra cost) swiming shoes available and really good to protect ur feet from the corals, washing machine and dryer including washing powder all included no extra charges, mosquito net protecting doors and windows, quiet and peaceful , no one bothers u. Just remember to keep doors closed at all the time otherwise you might end up with some gueco's(moco) in ur bungallow making a weird noise, but it's part of the island life so just keep the net closed and u will be ok!
    There is not a good swim in front of the bu gallow but it's worth to stay anyway as u can just go a few metres away to swim.
    The place is located bear to the airport, but island is very smal anyway but you def need to hire a motorbike to go around (we hored ours at The boat shed) they have the best bikes in the island and it's all the same price as well.
    Miles organized picked up and drop off at the airport and he gave us many tips of where to ho, what to est, and where to swim.
    The island is absolutly stunning!
    Thanks Miles for having us!
    It was a great holiday!

    Date of stay: June 2015
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Lunasegala
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews