We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kbfls
Christchurch, New Zealand

Own private beach

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Sept 2015
Miles collected us from the airport, took us to the villas, then to the car rental place- for no cost. Great location, beach cleaned everyday. Able to use kayaks and snorkelling equipment. Eating places a short walk along beach. Would visit again anyday.
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$681
  • Expedia.com
    AU$732
1.7 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
AU$1,382
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,382
  • Booking.com
2.6 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Beachfront
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$576
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$752
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$752
3.1 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Pool
Bungalow no.7
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Aitutaki Seaside
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
67
31
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
31
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxed holiday scooter accommodation lagoon unit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We were lucky to spend 3 days in Aitutaki recently, staying at the ASL. Miles was a great host, with good local insights on what to see and where to eat. The beachfront bungalows are clean and comfortable, with a fantastic outlook. Away from the big resorts, but sharing the same great view of those on the western/sunset side of the island (and with the main lagoon attractions still accessible. Would recommend hiring a scooter to enable you to easily get around the island). Sun lounges and kayaks provided, and the only noise was that of the small fish jumping out of the water. Would recommend this accommodation for those wanting to experience the relaxed pace and beautiful scenery that is Aitutaki, without the price tag and pretentiousness of a resort. If we ever get to go back, would stay again ASL.
Angela, Australia

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Seaside Lodges for a week to escape the grind of a busy corporate job. What a great decision.

Miles picked me up from the airport and gave me a quick tour including some of the local cafes before settling me into the bungalow.

The bungalow is a set of three located on the sunset side of the island, only a few minutes away from the airport. My bungalow had a double bed and a daybed in an open plan setting. There is a fully set up kitchen (kettle, toaster, drip coffee machine, microwave and oven) with all the utensils/dishes you could need. There is a TV in the room but no cable but Miles has a number of current movies/TV shows on a usb available to watch.
The bathroom has a shower and if there was one thing to address it would be the shower head as it was leaking a fair bit which reduced the water flow significantly.

The best part of the bungalow of course is the deck which looks out to the ocean. Each morning I would sit outside with my breakfast and listen to the local chickens. When it wasn't raining (had a few showers that week which is apparently a bit out of the ordinary), there was a brilliant sunset. Perfect when accompanied by a cold beer - just don't forget some mosquito repellant or use one of the provided mosquito coils. Each bungalow also has a privacy screen so you can't see your neighbours if you don't want to be social (but everyone I met was lovely). The lodge has air conditioning but I preferred the ocean air coming through the screen doors at night.

The water out front of the lodges is a little shallow and is home to many rocks/coral so is not ideal for swimming but you can do so a little farther down the beach or over closer to the major resorts on the other side of the island. But it does make for great kayaking (there are a few kayaks parked out front). The beach is very well taken care of with a caretaker raking each day.

Overall, there is nothing else I could have wanted from my stay. A perfect getaway for a solo traveller or a couple looking to recharge m, without a few of the frills of a large resort.

A couple of notes for Aitutaki in general:
- definitely rent a scooter - even though the island is small, things are a just a little spread out (and it is fun to do a loop or get up to the lookouts).
- you can get fresh bread from the petrol station 5 mins drive down the road. So good. There are a number of other stores further down that have different food items (each one is a little bit different in terms of what they offer).
- the coconut shack about ten mins walk down the beach is a great close dinner option. I didn't visit any of the bigger resorts but they are definitely an option.
- get out to the lagoon on Aitutaki Adventures. It's a must. Only $99 NZD for an amazing day with captain Puna (see detailed review).
- stay longer than a week. From Sydney if you do Syd/Raro/Ait in one day, it's a bit of a haul, and I just felt like I could have done with a few more days.
- If you do have a few hours stopover in Raro, go enjoy the Hula Bar at the Islander Hotel (walk out past the domestic/cargo area of the airport and it is just across the street).
- when you fly into Aitutaki, you'll be mesmerised by that first glance of the lagoon!

The Cook Islands have a bit indescribable magic....I'll be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
8  Thank Leafsgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

My husband and i pend 7 nights in this litle piece of paradise.
Our bungallow was the midle on (it's only 3) and the sunset was tight in front of us, so beautiful.
Place is very clean, bed linen smelling sooo good, fresh towels, clean dishes , snorkling gear available (a litle bit old could be replaced),3 excelent kaiak's available (no extra cost) swiming shoes available and really good to protect ur feet from the corals, washing machine and dryer including washing powder all included no extra charges, mosquito net protecting doors and windows, quiet and peaceful , no one bothers u. Just remember to keep doors closed at all the time otherwise you might end up with some gueco's(moco) in ur bungallow making a weird noise, but it's part of the island life so just keep the net closed and u will be ok!
There is not a good swim in front of the bu gallow but it's worth to stay anyway as u can just go a few metres away to swim.
The place is located bear to the airport, but island is very smal anyway but you def need to hire a motorbike to go around (we hored ours at The boat shed) they have the best bikes in the island and it's all the same price as well.
Miles organized picked up and drop off at the airport and he gave us many tips of where to ho, what to est, and where to swim.
The island is absolutly stunning!
Thanks Miles for having us!
It was a great holiday!

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lunasegala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

This is not luxury accommodation, it's simple but has everything you need - there was a fully furnished kitchen, a tv with some pre loaded films, a stereo to connect your iPhone/device, access to a laundry room, a wifi hotspot (you need to buy vouchers in town) and is directly on the beach, with sun loungers and kayaks.

Miles was really helpful with recommendations and gave us a little tour when we arrived. One thing...if you plan on visiting aitutaki you need to be prepared for random opening days and times for restaurants and shops... and a very relaxed island lifestyle - which we loved!! Everyone was friendly, waving to us as we cruised around the island on our bikes - this is definitely the place to go if you want to experience something entirely different from home!!

If you don't want to spend 100s of dollars a night on accommodation but want to experience island life in a beautiful part of the world...this is the place for you.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nil0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2015

These villas are a great price for accommodation on Aitutaki, and are in a good location. First of all - the owner Miles is absolutely wonderful, and gave us a quick drive around the island when we first arrived to get us orientated. He was very friendly, and helpful with assistance in scooter hire, food recommendations, and making sure we were comfortable.
The bungalows are basic, but have everything you would need. There's snorkelling gear, reef shoes and kayaks available to use. The bungalows are on a stretch of beach which is very quiet, and so we often had no-one around on the beach. There are several eateries close by within walking distance - I'd recommend the Coconut shack for meals and drinks on the beach. It is easy to get to other resorts/restaurants by scooter, however.
There is wifi available - you need to purchase a wifi card from town. The signal is good.
There is the potential to snorkel straight out the front, however when we were there the tide was very low which made it difficult. The best snorkelling is definitely in the lagoon - so I'd recommend a day/half day charter.
Stay here if you want somewhere relaxed, uncrowded, with beautiful views of the sunset and close to the airport.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews