We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
405
241
128
76
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
241
128
76
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overwater bungalow flying boat activities hut outdoor shower aitutaki lagoon resort private island main island cook islands our honeymoon beach bar and grill beautiful location fish one foot island paddle boards koru cafe day trip bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

My wife and I spent 6 days here in July. Just what we needed - almost a little island to yourself. Only 60-80 guests at best. The lagoon is absolutely beautiful. The weather is fantastic most of the time and yes you can swim even in the middle of July which is winter.

From a resort perspective it is disappointing. Quiet old. Looks like it need a complete makeover. TVs sort of work. Wifi sort of works. However you don't come here for those amenities.

Free breakfast in the morning isn't really worth much - you can get a more fulsome breakfast but need to pay for it. Lunch/Dinner meals are very good - however quite expensive.

We enjoyed it, we always wanted to come here but now that its done, I don't think its a part of the world I would revisit.

The Cook Islands need to do a lot more to become tourism friendly if they are to compete with their neighbours (like Fiji) or other parts of the world.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the lagoon are fine
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
I am delighted your found peace and serenity on our adults only private island resort and the view of the lagoon from your private balcony absolutely beautiful.
We are currently undertaking a progressive and comprehensive complete refurbishment of our resort which includes using natural palm thatch on the roofs of the bungalows, redecorating the interiors, landscaping our gardens and grounds and improving other resort facilities. We are totally reliant on the one communications operator in the Cook Islands for both wifi and tv and occasionally they experience technical difficulties resulting in poor signals and dropouts.
Our tropical buffet breakfast features a variety of fresh local fruits, fresh juices, Danish pastries, croissants, pancake and maple syrup, speciality breads, cold meat selections, sliced cheese, sliced tomato, boiled eggs, toast and spreads, tea and coffee and our refreshing drinking coconut. For a minimal cost, guests can also choose to enjoy a full cooked breakfast from our A La Carte menu.
I am pleased you have fulfilled one of your travel desires by visiting the beautiful islands of the Cooks especially Aitutaki.
Cook Island Tourism work very closely with all stake holders in the industry and recent tourism arrivals numbers are very encouraging.
Thank you again for your review and please feel free to contact me directly and request our special returnee guest rates.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed here for three nights, and would definitely stay again. Right from when we stepped off the plane, we were well looked after by the incredible staff of this resort. We arrived around 7 pm and had our own dedicated person checking us in that then gave us a tour of our room and the location of the essentials on the resort (restaurant, bar etc.). Bookings had already been made for us for dinner so it was great not to have to worry about that.

Next morning the manager himself comes to introduce himself when we were having breakfast, and for the rest of our stay, every single person that works at the resort absolutely made it. Nothing was a problem! Food was great (try the seafood platter, it's worth every penny and booking 24 hours in advance).

The location is right on the lagoon unlike most other resorts on the island, so you can grab a paddleboard or kayak and take off into the lagoon directly from the resort itself.

Overall great stay, the only reason it's not a 5 star review is that the resort is in need of a bit of a refresh (however the rooms were still spacious, clean and comfortable)

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe beachfront bungalow. They are just as nice as the over waters, and quite a bit bigger than the premiums.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Felice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
I am delighted to read that your welcome and orientation was performed in a professional and friendly manner and you found our bungalows spacious, clean and comfortable.
Sue and I endeavour to greet everyone on arrival but occasionally other important duties might prevent this from happening, but we make sure there is always a personal welcome.
Our new menu incorporates international favourites and a wider range of local ingredients and it has been very well received by our guests. The seafood platter is a very popular choice and can it can be enjoyed at various panoramic locations around the resort.
We do have a prime location on the edge of the lagoon and as mentioned exploring the pristine waters of the lagoon on a kayak or stand up paddle board is a fun and enjoyable.
We are currently undertaking a progressive and comprehensive complete refurbishment of all aspects of the resort which includes using natural palm thatch on the bungalow roofs, redecorating and landscaping of our gardens and grounds.
Thank you again for visiting our private island and please feel free to contact me directly and request our special returnee guest rates.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Our travel agent upgraded us to an over water bungalow here, when we were probably booked for pacific resort. We were a little worried given some of the reviews but we loved it. The overwater bungalow was awesome, the staff are amazing and so friendly and helpful. The managers actually speak to guests and make them feel welcome and the place has such a friendly and welcoming feel. It is a little dated but that didn’t worry us at all. We had no problems and the food was fantastic. It was a lovely part of our honeymoon and we hope to come back one day!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rknz1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
I am delighted that you found the resort amazing and you loved your holiday. We are very proud of our hardworking, friendly staff who are willing to go the extra mile to assure guest satisfaction.
Sue and I take great pleasure in greeting our guests and farewelling on departure and are always available for assistance.
We have recently introduced a new menu incorporating international favourites as well as a wider range of fresh local ingredients and I am pleased you enjoyed chef’s cuisine.
We are currently undertaking a progressive and comprehensive complete refurbishment of all aspects of the resort which includes using local natural palm thatch on the bungalow roofs, redecorating and landscaping of our gardens and grounds.
I am please it was a lovely part of your holiday and we look forward to your return to our “Island Paradise”. Please feel free to contact me directly and request our special returnee guest rates.
Kia Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

My husband and I chose to stay at this resort to celebrate my 60th birthday, It was a nightmare, and definitely not worth what we paid for the bungalow. The bungalows need tons of work. Most of them look like a dog with mange because the thatching is so sparce on the rooves, The fire extinguisher outside our bungalow was covered with rust and outdated, The cleaners didn’t clean the bungalow until after 5 after we asked twice at reception whether they were ever going to come. We were told never to use the bath towels at the beach yet there were never any beach towels at the activities hut, On several occassions we were told there were no kayaks available when we could clearly see there were. Most times there was no attendant at the activities hut. Twice at reception, the receptionist walked away when we confronted her with a problem. The refrigerator froze everything even after we reported the problem. They advertize nightly turndown service yet we were never offered this service, When we were leaving the resort, we were told at reception that someone would come to bid us goodbye. We sat in reception until we finally got tired of waiting and just made our own way to the ferry and the shuttle, The receptionist at check out never offered me a receipt for my payment. I had to ask her for one and request she write paid in cash on the receipt. We found all but two of the receptionists to be very rude and unhelpful.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Kia Orana

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and congratulations to your husband on his 60th birthday.

Both Sue and I would have been delighted to meet with you to address your concerns if you had raised them with us when you were at the resort.

We also have a duty manager available from 7 am to 9pm daily who would have also been delighted to assist you.

We are progressively replacing the natural thatch on the bungalows and there are two or three that will be rethatched shortly when occupancy allows.

The fire extinguishers and all other equipment is regularly checked by our maintenance staff.

If guests have a specific time at which they would like their bungalow to be serviced, this can be arranged with the Duty Manager by calling reception.

We have an extensive fleet of kayaks and stand up paddle boards ensuring that all guests have access to water sports equipment to enjoy the prime location our private island enjoys. Similarly, there are more than sufficient beach towels available.

When our Activities staff are conducting a scheduled activity such as fish feeding, ei flower garland making, "ika mata" game fish demonstration etc. they do put up a sign saying where the activity is and when it will be completed.

I have shared your feedback on the reception staff with them and will be providing them with remedial training in dealing with guest complaints.

Most guests do not require a paper receipt, but for those guests that do we are delighted to provide one.

One of the most enjoyable parts of managing a private island resort is meeting guests from all over the world when they arrive and farewelling them when they depart. We apologize that due to an emergency at the time of your departure that we were not able to personally bid you farewell.

If you would like to provide more detailed feedback, please feel free to contact us directly.

We wish you all the best for 2018.

Kia Manuia

Mark and Sue Propert Resort Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We stayed at the resort for 13 nights in July, which is a fair amount of time to get the feel of the resort. The staff are friendly and nice people, the lagoon is spectacular and the breakfast was pretty good. The resort itself has seen better days and is in need of refurbishment and capital, because as it is now it is not a 4 1/2 star rating, more like a 3. For the price you would be better off at Pacific Resort, which is a true 5 star. The cleaners ‘serviced’ the room, eg made the bed, changed the towels and swept the floor but in the two weeks we were there the bathroom basins, mirror, taps and vanity top were never cleaned, the sink was never cleaned, I cleaned the sink and bench top. The coffee table was never cleaned. The gym while having equipment was jammed in a small, stuffy room. One afternoon we asked for matches for the mosquito coil, we were told the had to wait for an order. We went to town and bought a box from the supermarket. We were on the island the night the restaurant and 3 bungalows were burnt down. There was no alarm, no evacuation plan, there was no one in charge. A firefighter later told us 5 of 6 fire extinguishers did not work and the pump was broken. The effort of the firefighters and local people was amazing to get the fire under control. Now the deck restaurant has gone there is even less to recommend this hotel, as dinner is now by the pool, not the Lagoon.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bernied63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to Aitutaki lagoon Private Island Resort.
I am delighted that you found our hardworking, friendly staff very accommodating and the view from your private balcony of the lagoon spectacular. Our tropical buffet breakfast offers a variety of fresh local fruits, selections of speciality breads, Danish pastries, croissants, pancakes with maple syrup, cold meat selection, boiled eggs, sliced cheese, sliced tomato, juices, toast and spreads, coffees and teas and the refreshing drinking coconut.
We are currently undertaking a progressive and comprehensive complete refurbishment of all aspects of our resort which includes using natural palm thatch on the roofs, redecorating inside the bungalows and landscaping of our grounds and gardens.
In our welcome address to our guests we always mention our availability to assist with any issue or problem and I am sure if you had discussed your concerns directly with us they would have been addressed immediately. In addition, our Duty Manager will available from 7am to 9pm.

Unfortunately, 3 bungalows and the Flying Boat Beach Bar and Grill were destroyed in our recent fire and “yes” we truly are thankful to everyone who assisted which included all our staff many of which came from their homes, guests that also pitched in, the Fire Brigade, Police, our fellow hoteliers and over a hundred members of the local community.

During the course of bringing the fire under control both Sue and I personally, on a number of occasions, spoke with our guests in the Bounty Restaurant and provided updates with the latest information in consultation with the fire brigade. My staff assisted with packing the guest’s belongings in the beach front bungalows and moving them to the Bounty Restaurant. No other bungalows were in any danger.

After the fire was bought under control and inspections of the bungalows for safety purposes were complete, guests were permitted to return to their bungalow and those who were unable due to the fire and water damage were immediately relocated to other properties in Aitutaki.

The resort has a scheduled maintenance check of all fire fighting equipment and any faulty equipment is immediately replaced.

It is a tragedy what we have experienced but very shortly we will be rebuilding the beach bar deck and setting up a temporary restaurant and bar so our guests can enjoy the magnificent views of the lagoon.

If you have further more detailed feedback, please feel free to contact us directly.
Best wishes for the balance of 2018.
Kai Manuia,
Mark, Sue and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews