We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“NO NEVER AWFUL!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
mountains
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NO NEVER AWFUL!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

No place to park! No remote for the fuzzy TV. Internet cost to use! Houses next door had RAZOR wire on the ROOF!!!! It claims to be safest place in San Hose but why would you need RAZOR wire if it's safe??? Rooms were small and dirty from construction being done to hotel....literally there were hand prints on the entrance door where dust lied and someone touched!! Talk about an allergy nightmare!! And then when we decided to find another hotel girl at front desk was puzzled asking Why?? THEN we found this AWESOME other place we kept asking ourselves why in the world would anyone stay at Hotel colonial when this place was just as close to airport????

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannatravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    58
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
38
65
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

I travel in solo in Januray. The hotel is well situated and you can easily walk to go downtown. The personal is very helpful, they help me ta lot with the travel agency... The hotel is basic with few chamber and a small pool.There is no restaurant at the hotel but just across the street you will found a good Argentin restaurant. Don't espect to stay on the chamber and watch the TV the night, the TV signal is awfull.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchiesbeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Colonial in San Jose Costa Rica for 2 nights. The hotel is located in the heart of San Jose across the street from an Argentinian restaurant, which has great food! The hotel was very clean, nice folded towels and had AC. The bathroom was clean and they provided us with towels, hand soap and shampoo. The only thing that was a bit frustrating was the hot water was quite cold. We are spoiled and used to taking steaming hot showers in Toronto, so it took some time to get used too. This hotel has an outdoor pool on the main floor which is not heated, but very clean. The lobby has internet, which you can use for a charge. The breakfrast they provided in the morning was great. It included: yummy rice and beans, scrambled eggs, toast, sausages, delicious Costa Rica Coffee and tea. The hotel has a gate which the concierge must open to allow guests to exit and enter. The area of the hotel was safe and the people were very friendly. The hotel does not have an elevator though. You need to lug your things up and down by using the stairs. We came to Costa Rica to experience the adventures not to stay cooped up in the hotel. I was expecting it to be worse then what we got! If your looking for a nice cheap hotel that has all the basics this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurous_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

This is long overdue but the place was gross and it's in a crappy area so I had to write this review. We stayed here the last night of our week long trip to Costa Rica because it is close to the airport. When our cab driver dropped us off he asked if we were sure we wanted to stay here. Bad sign.
It WAS close to the airport BUT the pool was uninhabitable and basically a large leaf covered fountain (we booked this place because I wanted somewhere with a pool), most of the staff is rude (the woman on the second day was very nice and let us leave our luggage at the front desk because our plane flight was taking off later) and the room was just awful. I especially enjoyed the half used bottle of shampoo in the shower and the one towel they provided. I never saw any bugs but I just know they were in there . . . somewhere . . . possibly in the weirdly massive and empty closet that stretched the length of our room.
We hung out at the bar at El Presidente Hotel a short walk away in the more populated times squarish area. We found that when talking to other tourists at the bar we could have stayed at the El Presidente or the Balmoral Hotel, across the street from the El Presidente, for the same price or only about $10 more. We were told the rooms were nice and clean and the staff friendly.
The only reason I am not giving Hotel Colonial one star is because it was inexpensive, we didn't get mugged and the girl who helped us the second day was very nice.
The Argentinian steak house across the street from Hotel Colonial (Esquina de Argentina, i think it is called) is absolutely AMAZING. Six months later my boyfriend and I are still talking about the meal we had there.
Six months later thinking about the room at Hotel Colonial still makes my skin crawl.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaandbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

We arrived at the hotel by rental car and had no idea where to park. The lot at the hotel was closed or full, so we ended up having to drive until we found a place a few blocks away to park. This was not such a great start to our stay in a strange city. But the hotel itself was beautiful. We stayed in the suite and the room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and large as well. Breakfast in the morning was full of fresh fruit and eggs.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The location was very convenient
  • Disliked — The poor parking situation
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweetpik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#45 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): $81 - $115
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing