We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and safe”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. We felt safe walking to local restaurants and a mini grocery store. It was in a quiet area of town. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Reasonably priced and friendly staff. The staff helped a lot with booking tours which was appreciated. I liked the computer area upstairs with multiple computers for free internet access. I kinda felt like I was staying an a holiday inn. The only difficult part was the check out process- the cost of items were hand written on a paper and I had difficulty reading the prices and the totals. I would keep a record of your totals in the restaurant and other things purchased on the room tab. I think the staff was honest with the pricing of items, but if I had kept better track it may have avoided a little strife and confusion. The reliability of this place was awesome. All booked tours and transportation were followed through and on time too. This place was great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biochick888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,524 - 1,528 of 2,459 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked this hotel b/c they offered a free shuttle service to/from the airport and we had an early morning flight to catch. The hotel provided a lot of extras including free long distance calls, 4 guest computers with free internet, free pick up from the airport and they cover the cost of your cab to the airport in the morning. Since we were leaving the hotel at 3:30am and not able to take advantage of the free breakfast, they offered to give us a 'to go' meal to take with us to the airport!
The only slight negative was the rooms, they could definately use some updating, especially the bathroom. Also, the walls of the room are paper thin and you can hear everything happening in the hallways. So if you're a light sleeper, beware! For anyone who needs a room with airport transport and a good value for the money, i would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrabb322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We recently spent 16 nights in Costa Rica and spent the first and last night in Adventure Inn. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious with air conditioning and fan, TV, coffee machine, fridge, safe, hair dryer and toiletries (even including sewing kit and handy pack of tissues). Breakfast was very good with cereals, selection of fresh fruit and cooked breakfast. The free pick-up at the airport was great, especially after travelling for 24 hours to get there, and the free drop-off is very handy too. The Adventure Inn is great value and provides a very good start and finish to a stay in Costa Rica.
It had been our intention to hire a car and go it alone but when we saw the Ocean to Ocean Dream Package on the Adventure Inn website we decided to go for a package instead and we were really glad. There is a very efficient shuttle bus system in Costa Rica which picks you up and drops you off at your hotel and makes an individual holiday very easy and stress free. We found the buses to be very punctual, arriving at the appointed time or even a little earlier, and generally the buses were in good condition with seat belts provided.
We booked an extended version of the Ocean to Ocean Dream Package through Adventure Inn. You can choose your standard of accommodation so we gave our budget limit, with the stipulation that it should have a good view where possible. For our budget we got Bed and Breakfast type accommodation which was clean and comfortable and always had TV and air conditioning. In Manuel Antonio we had a fantastic view of the Pacific, in Santa Elena we had a view of Lake Arenal and mountains in the distance, near Fortuna we had a great view of Arenal volcano from our terrace, and in Puerto Viejo we had a lovely dark wood beachside bungalow with a hammock on the veranda and glimpses of the Caribbean through the trees in the lovely garden.
Not all premises had the facilities of Adventure Inn, and toiletries usually consisted of soap only, but in general we were very satisfied. You could spend hours surfing the net trying to find better places or better value but it makes life so much easier letting someone else do that for you.
The trip included 8 tours or excursions which were organised with Iguana Tours, Exploradores Outdoors, Desafio Adventure Company and Terraventuras. A day at Tabacon Hot Springs was also included, which was one of the highlights, due to the beautiful gardens and numerous waterfalls and pools. The trip was tailor made for us and while all of the hotels, shuttles and tours could be booked individually it would mean a lot of research and a lot of trouble and I don’t believe you would save any money.
From the moment we arrived at the airport everything went like clockwork so a big Thank You for a fantastic stress-free holiday to Eric for his advice and to Nancy who booked it all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kml900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed one night when we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before we left. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Our room was large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were blown away by the cooked to order breakfast! The food in the restaurant was delicious. We had the hotel set up our car rental and everything was very easy. It was the perfect place to "ease into" our vacation to a new country. I'm very hard to please when it comes to hotels, especially about cleanliness, but this place really does deserve all the excellent ratings! I would definitely stay at Adventure Inn again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We picked this hotel as a place to arrive and leave Costa Rica from with a 'build your own holiday.'

Pros
Airport transfer included
Excellent breakfast
Were very helpful with suggesting and then organising our car hire and multiple trips including white water rafting, Tortuguero.
Nice pool area
Good wifi with free phone calls (not mobiles, obviously)
Suite room was excellent.

Cons
Main building rooms were a little noisy with road traffic.
Food at night was ok, but the restaurant opening times were not an actual reflection of when you could order food. The first night we arrived at 2145 and the restaurant served until 2200. They were unkeen that we ordered food. We did however get them to do us some bar snacks (nachos).
Other eating establishments were 10 mins walk or short drive away.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side if you aren't able to deal with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andylosttheplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
908 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
9.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
961 reviews
5.9 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,419 reviews
7.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $126 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing