We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor Inn B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taylor Inn B & B
Ranked #32 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was the estate of the Italian who built the National Theatre and the architecture is charming. The dining area opens to a breezy open flower garden that attracts hummingbirds and other song birds. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was fresh and substantial. The location was prime!! We could safely walk to all the downtown attractions, including the Cathedral and parks and museums. Ignor others complaint about noise. We were there for a weekend and found it peaceful and quiet. I highly recommend taking a tour on the Tren Tico which only runs on Sundays and Holidays through the downtown area. It is run by a gentleman with his two sons who are amusing and highly informative. Management at the Inn was friendly and accommodating. I would certainly return to this hotel. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room as the upper floor has a narrow, steep staircase to climb. However, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you believe the guide books you'll have nothing but problems in San Jose, but that's so far from the truth (if you take the normal precuations that is). This B&B is handily located and the staff are really helpful, they will help with directions, maps etc. Rooms are big and clean and our room had a huge bathroom. Breakfast is quite basic but enough to get you going before you go out for the day, would certainly go back if ever back in San Jose

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hampcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We began our trip to Costa Rica here after an evening arrival in San Jose. The rooms were clean and pleasant, if basic. The beds were very comfortable, and the atmosphere welcoming. The colonial architecture offers high ceilings and an airy feel, with each room opening onto a central courtyard.

This hotel is a short walk to the downtown area and shopping, museums, and food. Driving here, as anywhere in San Jose is, was a challenge. I would happily stay here again, if I was not driving.

Room Tip: Many rooms offer a loft for more sleeping space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieydid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

In all honesty, this is not a bad little spot, for the $30 a night that I spent on a private room with two beds, one single and one double with my own private bathroom, I cannot complaint too much, however the layout is not that great, every room is in an open courtyard facing the main entrance along with the reception area, thus with this you get all the noise from all the guest´s coming back at all hours along with the noise of all the guests waking up and having breakfast starting at 5am.

However, if you can put up with this, like I mentioned above, it is very reasonable for the price and only a 7 block walk to the city center.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Phelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Not what I expected but I had to stay in San Jose longer than I'd planned.
The staff here are so friendly and helpful that I liked it better than when I first arrived.
I'd stay there again simply because of the staff.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a well located, budget hotel in San Jose look no further
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#16 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
1.3 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Inn B & B

Property: Taylor Inn B & B
Address: Avenida 13, Calles 03-03B, # 336 | 600 Norte y 50 al Este del Automercado, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price range (per night): $92 - $108
Hotel Class:2 star — Taylor Inn B & B 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taylor Inn es located in Historical Barrio Amón, downtown San José. Conveniently located within walking distance to museums, art galleries, fine restaurants and bus station to the caribbean and pacific coast. Built in 1908 by italian immigrant Adriano Arie Baseli and restored into a charming bed and breakfast by the Taylor family, Taylor Inn offers 10 rooms with private bath, ceiling fan, cable TV, free WiFi, telephone, radio alarm clock, and safety deposit box. Continental breakfast included in room rate. Taylor Inn is also a great location to enjoy the best one day tours in Costa Rica. The Braulio Carrillo National Park (Rain Forest), Poas and Irazú volcanoes, Doka Coffee Plantation, Orosi Valley, Lankester Orchid Garden, Old Capital City of Cartago, White Water Rafting on the Reventazón or Pacuare rivers, all great one day tours from Taylor Inn. Tortuguero National Park, Arenal Volcano and Pacific Island Cruise tours are also available as full day tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taylor Inn Bed And Breakfast
Taylor Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing