We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
136
81
25
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
81
25
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests costa rica residential neighborhood the san jose area nice pool small hotel close to the airport gay downtown guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

I had three days before a conference in CR and found this place at the last minute. My room was very clean but nothing special (it was the cheapest room in the place at $28/night. However, it had a small but very nice pool area and a nice bar and kitchen. It was a great place to hang out and talk to people from all over the world. Good food and drinks. The manager, Liz, was very helpful with suggestions and directions. All the staff was great (especially Oscar). The hotel has plenty of stores and some restaurants within a 15 minute walk, but you'll need a car, taxi or bus to get to town (the bus runs right by the hotel, costs 350 colones (about $.75) and takes about 15 minutes).

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bond006, General Manager at Colours Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Glad you found us last minute. Your positive comments are appreciated and helpful for others looking to book with us. Thank you for specifically mentioning our great location and we hope you may return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

the hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood but a bit far from main attractions
they are making renovation to the llace and after them it will be nice as what they did so far is very nice

pool need to be clean

rooms are huge claen but mine didn’t have a window
good to sleep but,,,,

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This smaller, "gayish" hotel is a gem in an updated converted mansion in suburban San Jose.

The hotel's public areas have been updated and remodeled in a younger fun décor.. The rooms themselves are quite clean in a tropical plantation style.

The staff is young and fun and more than helpful

We used the hotel as a stop the night before our return flight since the airport is fairly close. We had a car and found it fairly easy to find with no problem with parking on the street.

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel since we were tired from our drive back from Manuel Antonio. The food was quite good and the chef was very accommodating.

There were plenty of restaurants nearby that we passed as we drove..

My only recommendation would be to turn the volume of the poolside music in the evening down since it can be heard in the rooms facing the pool as friends who've stayed a year ago warned us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as either a starting point upon arrival in San Jose or upon the end of your trip to Costa Rica.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Enjoyed my stay at Colours Oasis Resort. Staff was excellent rooms were clean, food and bar were good. This is a gay resort, I didn't know that until after I checked in, however; it was an excellent stay and I would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We weren’t here for very long as it was just the night before we flew out but the staff were very nice! The room was large and clean and there weren’t any bugs. :)

We got a room right by the pool so it was super convenient. Would come back here again for sure- the only downside is that it’s about 20 min from the SJO airport and you have to pay for their shuttle.

We ended up just going with uber because it was cheaper.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jessika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews