We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveller rating
1,423
433
61
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,423
433
61
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel garden suite victorian mansion rooftop jacuzzi one night costa rica boutique hotel last night an oasis beautiful room family suite next morning standard room would highly recommend this hotel small hotel central market gold museum
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We came to san jose not expecting too much from our first hotel in costa as our stay there was only quite short. We were delighted to see the beautiful architecture and elegant colonial Spanish design of the hotel when we entered which was a refreshing contrast to much of the rest of the city. The staff were more than happy to fulfil any requests we had and the stunning restaurant is worth going to, simply to look at the decor. Food was delicious and reasonably priced when you consider the quality of each dish and the dining experience as a whole. Keep an eye out for hummingbirds hovering around the interior and rooftop gardens throughout the day.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed 3 nights at the start of a lengthy trip to Costa Rica, the Grano de Oro is probably the best address in San Jose, far enough away from the busy city centre but not too far to walk to the main attractions such as they are.

Our "superior" room was at the back of the hotel in the rear "rainforest courtyard". The rooms are dotted round the hotel and are all unique so this is unlike staying in a standard fare city centre hotel.

A medium sized room (no. 21) with polished wood flooring, white and yellow walls, ornate moulded ceilings, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The mini bar is stocked with free goodies and the bathroom is simple but functional with a comfortable bath.

Staff are all very friendly and willing to help. Breakfasts were very good from an a la carte menu and dinner (we dined here two nights) was excellent with an ward winning wine list too. This is certainly the best address to eat in San Jose.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, rear courtyard rooms peaceful.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Grano de Oro is really nice and centrally located hotel. The hotel has an excellent restaurant for brunch, lunch or dinner. Excellent place for business dinners or to celebrate special occasions. Try the pejibaye soup!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gdo_Castillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Impeccable! So well maintained, beautiful facilities. We were so happy and comfortable there.Two jacuzzis on the roof, great place to relax and forget you are in the city. The rooms are amazing. I have a thing about dirty showers, but these were the cleanest damn showers I have been at a hotel.

Room Tip: They are amazing. There are rooms that have sitting rooms with a fountain.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpc1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is very elegant. The courtyard is very quaint and romantic. The staff was attentive and friendly. The food was delicious too. This is a bit of a splurge, but worth a visit if you are in San Jose.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank francesshakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews