We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at Grano de Oro for a one night lay over before we started touring the rest of the country. We were greeted with a warm welcome from the hotel staff. Our room was very unique. It had a window that opened to an outside garden that was inclosed by the hotel. There was a nice water feature in the garden. The rest of the room was beautiful. Nice hardwood floors and a comfortable bed. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. We opted to sit in the area that was also outside but inclosed by the hotel. The ambiance was beautiful and the food was amazing. We toured around the hotel and came upon the roof top hot tub that had a nice view of the city. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even called our room to let us know we were being picked up ten minutes later than our scheduled arrival time. All in all it was a great experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESLIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 932 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

If you fly into San Jose and are heading to the mountains or coast - make sure you stay here the night you arrive and the night before you leave.

Beautiful hotel with delicious food and friendly staff. They take care of all transportation to and from the airport.

We love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenAndNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Beautifully restored victorian mansion. Discrete and natural luxury. Spotless, comfortable bedding. The various breakfasts on offer (special mention for the pancakes and the fresh juices) are not to be missed in the beautiful patio. If possible, avoid the rooms close to the reception (eg number 1) because it might become noisy sometimes as soundproofing is not perfect (I had to sleep one night with my earphones because of a snoring neighbour ;-))

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Most books say to avoid San Jose, but if you have a day at the start or end of your trip and you must stay there, this is the place. Its close enough to downtown that you can get to the markets, but you probably wont want to leave the hotel. The restaraunt in the hotel feels like a 5 star setting, the food was amazing, but the prices were very reasonable. Also, the rooftop saunas are hard to beat. Overall great atmosphere, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erichransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

An oasis in a rather rundown location, the hotel is an old colonial style building magnificently restored. The rooms are decent, beds very comfortable and the restaurant serves up excellent food. Breakfasts are very good. Only 15mins in a cab from the airport this is the perfect place to start or end your journey around Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,526 reviews
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
926 reviews
7.8 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
1.8 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $226 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing