We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
699
659
331
97
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
659
331
97
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan tour japanese restaurant costa rica room service guest services pool area breakfast buffet tour group free airport shuttle very nice hotel nice pool close to the airport pura vida pollo palacio hammocks taxi
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The hotel staff is indifferent to you opinion, they don't pick up the phone when I call from the room. I had to ask for big towels one of the maid in the hallway (she asked the room number). The person who sells trips was supposed to help us reserve a car for rent, she called somebody and said it will be $55/day but we need to leave a $1200!!! deposit for that! That's after Avis tried to rent us a car for $800 plus instead of $250 set to pay according to Expedia! Outrageous! I want my refund because we left a day earlier.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank mariaskubko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Barceló San José hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay.
We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.
Best Regards
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Incredible customer service. Hazel Porras concierge did a outstanding job on recommendations of attractions and restaurants in the area. The wait staff particularly at breakast also did a great job. Clean rooms and I enjoy the gallo pinto. I have a recent disability and they made sure I had access to all the facilities. A small thing but the shower was particularly easy to get consistent correct temps. They also remembered my favorite food at the pool restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San José. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best Regards
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We came here expecting a 4 star experience and we got a 1. The pool was FREEZING and unusable, the hot tub broken, the sauna not turned on, the breakfast was foul. Our whole trip before we stayed at simple and beautiful places. We came here our last day hoping for pool fun and some luxury and it was a JOKE. Food sucks, nothing worked. Staff was nice. That was all that was good. SO NOT RECOMMENDED. Oh and the whole place is a bit run down but the rooms are comfortable.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.
Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.
Best Regards
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

While I have no complaints about the amenities of the hotel itself, I was extremely disappointed by their “free airport shuttle” service. Not only did they delay my pickup from the airport for 2 hours, they also offered no explanation as to what happened. During that time they were very hard to get a hold of.. I had to call multiple times and talk to multiple people before my request for a new shuttle was answered. Expect delays in the return shuttle to the airport as well.. they don’t have enough vehicles and space to accommodate the demand. Long story short if you need a place to stay close to the San Jose Airport DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank hseel217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló San José, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

Carlos Ruiz,
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This hotel is definitely dated. Our room was small and the bathtub was stained and looked dirty...they need to replace it. The air conditioning was loud and sounded like someone was banging against it. The location is not really walking distance to anything...especially not with little kids. The reception staff was ok, but the restaurant staff (by the pool area) was not friendly at first. It seemed like we were inconveniencing them when asked for a drink or food to be had by the pool. Not a lot of friendly staff and there was a bit of a language barrier. The best thing we liked about the hotel was the view from the pool area outside and the actual pool area itself...although our kids said the pool was very cold.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank heidith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló San José fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated.

Carlos Ruiz,
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews