We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
160
244
97
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
244
97
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum costa rica recommend this hotel trains start buffet style close to the city center no elevator charming hotel bars and restaurants walking distance light sleeper breakfast was included hot water common areas staying in san jose horn mercado
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I stayed two nights at this hotel which located at the center of downtown. National Museum is 3 min by walk, Jade Museum, Plaza de Culture, National Theater and Gold Museum is almost 8 min by walk. The room was very clean. There is a nice balcony in front of the hotel.The staff are friendly and very cooperative. Breakfast serve in a quiet restaurant. Corridors and the rooms has been decorated nicely. The building of hotel is 100-year old. It is near to the railway of city train, and might not be comfortable because of making whistle noises.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Parvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear guest: receive a greeting from all the Fleur de Lys staff, our main goal is to make our guests feel as home and that you enjoy all the attractions San Jose has to offer. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, we hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I spent few nights at Fleur de Lys in San Jose and I can only recommend it. The hotel is well located at few hundreds from the city center. The surroundings are safe and ATM closeby. The service is excellent and really professional, we had some issues during our trip and the Fleur de Lys crew have been really helpful and kind. I strongly advice to get a Guarosour at the hotel's bar before leaving.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FedeTrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Guest: thank you so much for this comment, it was pleasure having you stay in our hotel, one of our purposes is to help our guests and make them feel as comfortable as possible. All our team and specially the waiters at the Cites de Lumiere Gastro-Bar, are happy to hear you liked our “ Guarosouer” and had a good time. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Was booked into this by a tour guide so I'm unable to confirm against the cost but the rooms were clean and well kept, a few items could do with upgrades i.e. The TVs and the to signal but the staff more than make up for it, we asked about a venue for the evening and they couldn't do enough. They phoned up venues and ensured they were open and booked us in to give just one example. The staff really to take this place a level above.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gabi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear guest: thank you for writing about our hotel. Receive a greeting from all our staff, it was a real pleasure serving you and that you take the time to appreciate our team assistance and service. Thank you on behalf of all of us at Fleur de lys. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Me and my family totally loved this place! The rooms, restaurante, the bar, and the service were perfect. In the center of the city you can walk all around with no problems. Really nice cocktail and delicious pineapple cake for breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koki y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Guest: thank you for this lovely comment, it makes us feel totally in love with our job and help us be better day by day. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

we arrived at san josé airport and stayed at hotel fleur de lys for 3 nights. what a charming place in the heart of the chaotic capital! the staff is very friendly and welcoming, the whole hotel is decorated with love and the rooms are perfectly clean. the breakfast is very delicious and the nice lady in the restaurant made every wish come true.
our bed was very comfortable, however you could hear the horns of san josés truck drivers in the early morning.
we definitely recommend this place- the value for money is more than fair!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank claumed1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear guest: thank you for choosing fleur de Lys as your destination. Every day we try to improve and provide our guest the best experience. We are specially glad you appreciate the decoration since we are being working on provide a nicer ambiance for our guest, trying to maintain the 100 years of history of this Victorian mansion but with a modern fresh touch. Our housekeeping team have over 15 years working on maintain the most clean possible rooms and areas for our guest and is an area we pay special attention to. On behalf of all our staff we hope you choose our hotel for your next trip to San Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews