We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
109
26
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
26
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica hotel is located restaurants in walking distance flew into san jose safe area place to stay spanish curtains
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We flew into San Jose late and stayed here overnight before moving on to La Fortuna. Great place to stay! The owners were super friendly and helpful, helping us find a place to go exploring in the morning before our interbus. It's a quick walk or bus into downtown. The breakfast was great ( a traditional breakfast with rice and beans, scrambled eggs, fried plantains and a plate of fruit).

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey_AnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Naty and Carlos make you feel like a family member immediately. Very mellow without pretentiousness . It is like staying with your favorite cousin. Basic, clean room. Wonderful hot freshly cooked breakfast included. Close to buses, inexpensive restaurants, or gourmet if preferred. It is like the pension of your dreams.
As for the recent negative review, consider the source. Nuts!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank jirvin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I was greeted by the owner with the accusation that I didn't make a reservation, even though I did and have a confirmation. He insinuated that I was complaining (though I hadn't) and said I could go elsewhere if I liked. There was no AC, they had left the drapes open to let in the afternoon sun, and the room was stiflingly hot though did cool down in the evening. There was mold in the shower and it drained slowly. I was made to feel unwelcome. El gerente dijo que yo no tuve reservacion, aunque la hici. Me dijo que pudiera salir por otro hotel aunque yo no dije nada de queja. El cuarto fue muy caliente, sin AC. Hubo hongo en la regadera y el agua se cayo muy despacio. There is a bar, but it wasn't in service. I was told I could go to the corner where there were restaurants and bars.

Room tip: Don't choose a room with a window that faces the front since the afternoon sun makes it stiflingly hot and there is no AC.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Casa C, General Manager at Hotel Casa Cambranes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Ms. Knapp never showed us the confirmation even though she claimed she had a reservation. We receive many reservations from many sources around the world and her name was never in our system. She didn't want to pay for the room at that time because she wanted to wait until the next day so we could search all over the world for somebody who made her reservation through an 800 number supposedly. We told her that we had to charge her if she wanted to stay, like in any other hotel in the world. She then pay. We gave her a single room on the second floor with a window overlooking the mountains. She never said anything bad about the room or it's cleanliness. About the mold that she claims there was in the bathroom, it is not true since we clean and desinfect our bathrooms everyday. TripAdvisor shows very clearly that our rooms don't have air conditioning. The temperature in San Jose is pleasant enough that most of the hotels don't have A/C. When Ms. Knapp was checking out the next morning, she was offered breakfast, but she only wanted coffee because she had to leave very soon. We went to check the room while she was having coffee, as we always do when somebody checks out, and we found out that she had been smoking in the room, which is something against the law (ley 9028) and against our rules (we have signs posted in each one of the rooms as well in the different areas of the hotel indicating this). We told her that she had broken the law and the hotel rules by smoking in the room in what she responded that she had smoked only in the bathroom. She stood up and left immediately when confronted about this issue. She seemed very upset and she said that she would never stayed at this hotel again. Because of the smoking in the room and the bad smell that this coused we had to pull down the courtins and clean the walls and the ceiling of the room to get the smell out since we had to rent the room the next day. This is costing us extra money that she, off course, won't pay. This is the first time that we have had a guest of this kind that, not even having a reservation, comes to our hotel with a bad attitude and not giving us the opportunity to show her our hospitality. We believe that she had a reservation somewhere else and she came to our hotel by mistake because at the beginning, when she first came in, she said that she had never heard of our hotel before. Then, how can she claim she had a reservation with us?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The hosts at Casa Cambranes are wonderful and made us feel very welcome, even offering their cell phone while in the city. The room was clean and the breakfast delicious. They helped with travel tips and arranged transportation for us when we left. Thank yo Carlos and Naty for making us feel so at home on our first night in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mosaicpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The managers of the hotel took an interest in being as helpful as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. They suggested ideas of highlights of the city and knew who to call immediately! We were very pleased with the breakfasts each morning, freshly prepared and typical Costa Rican. Exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were clean and spare which worked out well with luggage and all. The shower water had a way of getting out onto the floor, but we handled it after the first time it happened. Overall,we felt comfortable and secure.

Room tip: I was concerned about the street noise since the windows are open, but there was never any noise that was an impact on being able to sleep.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bamabarbie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews