We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
327
122
27
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
122
27
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la luz san jose costa rica large balcony beautiful boutique hotel welcome drink sea bass our honeymoon great view of the city long flight travel agent stayed longer central valley nice pool area next morning small hotel would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Upon arrival in SJO we transferred to Hotel Alta as we didn't want to stay in the city. Hotel Alta is a short drive from the airport, set up in the hills with fantastic views out across the city. Nice sized pool with super friendly staff - comfy rooms which a good sizes plus the restaurant had delicious food and cocktails on offer.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SophiePull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Hotel Alta is very nice and it was exactly the hotel we were looking for: a particular hotel, not too big and not banal as one of the large hotels USA-style. The architecture of the hotel is particular, the staff is polite and friendly both at the reception and at the restaurant.

Room Tip: The room was clean and we loved the large balcony, where we relaxed with a nice view on the valley and hills. The room and bathroom are spacious and the bed was perfect.
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Domenico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Was really nice located, our room was fantastic, bathroom amazing, service great in all the shifts. Always clean, didnt had the chance to try the restaurant must had a good review from other friends that visit it before.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

During our stay in Costa Rica we had an Airbnb down south for most of our stay and the day before we flew home from San Jose we got a room at Hotel Alta Las Palomas. Wow!!! I wish we would have stayed there for our entire trip! Not only is it absolutely beautiful the architecture, landscaping, and ambiance but the service is spectacular! The restaurant was divine, everything we ordered was delicious! Everyone who worked there was so helpful and very nice. The room was a slice of heaven and the balcony offered an incredible view and even better sunset. The hotel was so relaxing and peaceful I loved it. I cannot say enough good things about this place and I hope to return very soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melissaandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

stayed for two night and had a great time. room had lovely views over the city .Food was excellent. The staff here are amazing nothing is any trouble,they are all very friendly and helpful and really patient with my knowledge of Spanish.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ALIGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews