We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Five Stars”

Restaurante L'Ile de France
Ranked #20 of 194 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 50
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 July 2017

My wife and I recently celebrated a special occasion at this restaurant. We had recently been to Montreal Canada and had eaten at some of their best French restaurants so we were interested to see how a Costa Rican French restaurant would compare. Well this restaurant rival any of the fine expensive restaurants in Montreal Canada. We were very impressed with the quality of the food, wine selection, great service and the reasonableness of the prices considering the fine experience. The restaurant also has a very good atmosphere.

We ordered two appetizers, shared a salad with two entrees and a bottle of wine. Total tab - $117 very reasonable for a nice dinner date. We will definitely be back to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel S, Manager at Restaurante L'Ile de France, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Esteemed, first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review about our restaurant.
All the comments help us to keep growing and to do things every day better.
We hope to see you again here.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Ideal location, excellent service and good prices, onion soup, french fries, mussels amd desserts. Don't waste more time and try it

Thank Ivanariasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel S, Manager at Restaurante L'Ile de France, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Esteemed, first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review about our restaurant.
All the comments help us to keep growing and to do things every day better.
We hope to see you again here.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I have dined here twice in the last few weeks with friends. The food is excellent, true to it's french name. The dining room is very nice, contemporary, and comfortable. The music they play adds to the ambience of the dining experience.

The food, oh my! Everything we have ordered has been excellent. Sea Bass was sooo fresh and tasteful, the ahi tuna was like a large beef steak that was tender and scrumptious.

The service was impeccable. Very professional, prompt and gracious.

The entire dining experience made me feel I was in a different place. Everything was A+.

Traet yourself!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel S, General Manager at Restaurante L'Ile de France, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you very much for choosing Lile de France and taking the time to write your comment. We invite you to come back and continue to try different options from our menu

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious food. I had a Savoyarde salad and Duck liver Pâté. Highly recommend the salad. Staff were friendly, fairly rapid.
Was a little surprised to pay over 70 usd for the above plus a whisky. But overall. Worth it.

Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel S, General Manager at Restaurante L'Ile de France, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you very much for choosing Lile de France and taking the time to write your comment. We invite you to come back and continue to try different options from our menu

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

The perfect excuse for the ladies to dress nicely. Reception included arias by a soprano. Violin accompanied our dinner. Champagne, 3 glasses of wine and 5 courses - $100 ea. Beautifully presented. Memorable special evening done to perfection.

Thank FinbackNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante L'Ile de France also viewed

 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante L'Ile de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing