We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now this is the Pure Life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Tranquilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Tranquilas
Ranked #12 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
carlsbad, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Now this is the Pure Life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

I've stayed at the Villas 3 times now and would not stay anywhere else in Costa. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. Daily maid service offers fresh sheets and towels just like your typical hotel stay, only you're not holed up in a tiny hotel room. you have a spacious 2 BR/2 BA condo to kick it in! Of course, who would want to just chill inside when the lush outside landscape offers all of the beauty and solitude most travelers beg for in Costa. Around the property you will find many species of plant and flower native to this fertile land. The Tiki style patio and pool area allows the perfect respite from the Central American heat! there is even a BBQ available so you can get a firsthand experience at cooking your own Tico meal. I recommend the local pescaderias for fresh whole red snapper:)

It is hard not to let the ambience of Villas Tranquilas suck you in. If you're like me you still want to venture out. The Villas are located a hop, skip and jump from downtown Quepos, a quaint little fishing town filled with shops selling local goods and products. Stop in at the local market for a thirst quenching mango or better yet sit down at one of the many road side bars to sip on an ice cold Imperial - the beer of Costa Rica. The early morning brings to the streets an amazing aroma of newly baked breads and pastries from several panaderias. Quepos even offers a decent nightlife for the partygoer.

The real party, however, is happening just up the hill - another 5 minutes or so by car - in Manuel Antonio. The sloping route to the Park is lined with Restaurants which alternate amongst each other to bring the party scene to Costa Rica. Watch out for ladies night which brings tourists and locals alike out for song and dance.

If you're spending more than 4-5 days in this part of Costa, the newly built highways which run conveniently past the Villas allow further adventure down south to the surfing towns of Matapalo and Dominical. Playa Matapalo has consistently been ranked as one of Costa Rica's most serene and private beaches. The white sands are amazing and the surf is equally as good. The surf at Dominical is infamous. The pounding beachbreak demands the best out of those who dare challenge the waves here. Not looking for such adrenaline?, then just chill out under the Palms which cover the beach. The little town has its share of restaurants and bars where beers and pina coladas are aplenty. Try the pina colada out of a real coconut shell as it's to die for.

Whether its Quepos, Manuel Antonio or Matapalo and Dominical, all are an easy jaunt from Villas Tranquillas. The entire area provides all Costa Rica has to offer. I've enjoyed it all myself...3 times...and I will return time and time again. The Villas have officially took their place as my home away from home. Next time, I may just take it easy and let the Villas completely absorb me in their own paradise!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nammertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

My husband and I lived at Villas Tranquilas #13 for almost 6 months while spending the winter in Costa Rica.

We pretty much have a thorough experience with the area and Costa Rica in general. My husband has been coming to Costa Rica for 5 winters now and this was my first one, it was also our longest continuous stay in Costa Rica.

We were looking for somewhere long term to stay, run our internet business from home and spend the winter here. We chose this place because it advertised modern amenities, privacy and 2 bedrooms with king size beds. Well the place we had did not have king sized beds and when we asked about it, we were told NONE of the places have king sized beds... That's simply not true. A few times we got king sized sheets when we went looking for new bed sheets from the maid... Most units also only have A/C upstairs in the bedroom which makes it extremely uncomfortable to spend time downstairs during the day. It gets VERY hot at the villas and a single fan does not cut it. We bought a large floor fan as well and it still didn't cut out the heat. The Costa Rica sun is strong and there are no trees to provide shade.

When we got here in Oct 09 the place was completely deserted, we were the only ones around (it was rainy season) and wasn't too bad. Unless of course you had a problem and needed to get a hold of someone, in that case good luck, because it was pretty hard. The internet went down (we have an internet business) and it took 3 days for someone to get back to us and finally bother coming around to look at it and fix it. The managers suggested that everyone in Costa Rica must have the internet down so there was no use going into town to the internet cafe's. We did and found everyone did have internet and only we didn't.

The grounds are nice, they do take care of them and it is nice to see some birds and squirrel monkeys in the forest behind the buildings. We found that the place was poorly ran and managed in general. It was very sporadic with having a guard at the front watching for anyone coming in, the managers were not around unless it was Dec and packed at the villas.

We had a lovely maid we became close with that took very good care of us and thoroughly cleaned our place top to bottom twice a week, and fed our cat (who was staying with us) when we'd go away for a short trip. She was very friendly and trustworthy and she was there up until January, when we found out she had been fired and so had everyone else at the villas. The only reason we were given was employees had been stealing from eachother and they were hiring new people. This really upset us because we trusted her and did not want random new maids coming in since we had a lot of electronics and personal items in the place. Every week we had 2 different maids show up, random times, we had to request several times for them to come twice a week, we even tipped extra every time and it didn't matter, they always did a bare bones job. We'd have to specifically ask for them to clean the floor, we'd randomly receive some replacement towels, they would give WAY too many hotel soaps and shampoos (which we did not need as long term guests) and they'd take away our personal towels or blankets and we'd have to go find them and ask for them back (which would take days to come back). We were very unhappy with the sporatic shoddy maid service after our trusted maid was fired. The reason the cleaning is actually a big deal is that living at sea level by a jungle you will get A LOT and I really mean A LOT of bugs crawling into your place. Tiny ants, medium ants, jumbo ants, cockroaches, mosquitoes, flies, gecko's, crabs, frogs, toads... doesn't matter they will find a way inside your place. We eat a lot of fruit and let it ripen on the counter and this brings even more critters in the house as they eat the fruit and there were cockroaches in the drawers the stove the cupboards etc. So this is why we needed the place cleaned top to bottom twice a week every week to try to keep the bugs at bay and any food scraps away from the bugs. I have to say I have never been so enraged by cockroaches before, they will be everywhere and the villas doesn't do anything to keep them out, not even spraying which is weird for Costa Rica since they spray everything. (Pesticides are highly used here)

The rooms upstairs are pretty basic, a bed and two night stands and a closet, you need to buy your own hangers or keep your clothes in your luggage. The beds are rock hard and the springs will dig into your back. The screens in every room are ripped at the bottom and have holes in them so mosquitoes will come in and bite you as soon as the sun goes down at 5:30 generally, so at night we used the ac and fans and kept the windows closed because the mosquitoes are intense.

There seems to only be 1 internet connection for all 16 units and they piggy back another modem off of the first one. The modems will freeze up for no foreseeable reason several times a day and have to be restarted or else you are out of luck. This can be a real pain.

I would not suggest coming here in a peak season because it can get really crowded and noisy here when people are partying all night, playing loud music by the pool and getting drunk. A group decided to have a wedding here and some drunk people decided to come and bang on our windows to try and get us to join them and would not leave us alone while we were eating dinner and politely declined.

The power WILL go out for no apparent reason fairly regularly. This happens in all of Costa Rica but it is particularly frustrating when you're out in the middle of the jungle and can't tell if it's just your complex or the whole town has no power. Sometimes it's 5 minutes sometimes it's 2 hours. During the other guest's wedding reception the transformer to our unit and other unit blew up and we had no power for the rest of the night while they finished partying. Not sure if there was too much power being used for lights and music.

Someone turned off the hot water heater for our place for the last month, not sure why. We asked about it and they claimed it was working and then ignored us when we asked again. Hard to wash dishes in the dish washer with cold water...

The appliances are pretty poor quality, the fridge makes a terrible buzzing sound constantly which people can hear on a phone conversation, the dish washer button barely worked, only after pressing about 6 times. I think this poor quality is standard for Costa Rica, but still frustrating that they don't work properly.

After staying there for almost 6 months we really did not feel like we were treated well at all. The only person who did was our original maid who was always kind and helpful and went out of her way to tidy and organize things for us without being asked. Anyone else we needed help from it seemed a big ordeal and then it wasn't always followed through and we were left waiting and waiting for someone to get back to us or come over.

The scenery is nice here, the pool is nice in the morning before it heats up too much from the sun and it is quiet and away from the noise of Quepos (like cars and dogs barking).

I would only suggest people spend a short time here since you will be treated better if you're like a hotel guest and none of the frustrating things like excessive heat, bugs, power outages and internet going down, will likely not drive you crazy. And not in a peak season would help too, the pool is too small when families are playing volleyball in it to have any room to take a dip.

I hope the management company makes some improvements to how things are run and taking care of customers here. For the longest time you would have no idea who to contact or when something was going to be fixed. We also did not know we were supposed to get 1 free maid cleaning a week and we had been paying extra for this the entire time and we did not know until the end either. Some sort of cockroach control would be a great asset too, if it were just a few it wouldn't be so bad, but 1 out of every 3 times you open a drawer you will see one.

If you're going to stay here I would also suggest renting a car so you can get around, you cannot walk anywhere nearby and it gets too hot during the day or rains so it's not practical.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

These condos are placed in the midst of the tropical rainforest, so while staying there you truly feel as if you are in another world and not lost in a commercial tourist trap. It is secluded enough for comfort and privacy, yet close to Manuel Antonio and other tourist attractions that you get the best of both worlds. Quepos allows you to take in the true Tiko culture. The property is safe, with a security guard on duty 24 hours. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, with everything you need. The pool is a great place to soak up some rays, relax with a book, socialize with friends, or cool off. Overall I recommend this hotel 100%!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foureverphotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicsgirl316
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at Villas Tranquillas with friends and were very impressed with the property. We have a condo in Maui and are used to upgrades and quality but to me honest, we didn't know what to expect in Costa Rica. We came to Villas Tranquilas via a friend's recommendation and we are so glad we did! The condos are meticulous with granite countertops and many luxurious upgrades, ceiling fans, beautiful bathrooms AC, and even WiFi for my laptop! We had to keep reminding ourselves we were actually in a third world country because it sure didn't feel like it while we were on the property!! We loved the location because it is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Quepos and surrounded by breathtaking rainforest. We loved just sitting out on the porch and listening to the symphony of wildlife. Every morning and afternoon we could see and hear the Howler Monkeys as they raced by on the outskirts of the jungle, it was SO surreal!!
We felt absolutely as safe as we feel in Maui. The people are SO nice and every taxi driver knows exactly where Villas Tranquillas is no matter where you go! Plus, we enjoyed all the local attractions and tours, seemed to get the special treatment because of where we were staying. :) Also the pools are beautiful and tranquil, and there's a huge covered Ranchero with an outdoor kitchen that we BBQd at almost every night! We just can't WAIT to go back with more friends and share the experience!! I never thought I'd say this but we enjoyed it even more than Maui, which has been our favorite place in the whole world! :) Gracias Villas Tranquilas!! PURA VIDA!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicsgirl316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed in Villas Tranquilas as a group of 5 friends. The house was amazing: new, clean and very easy to spend the day and night in due to its terrace and balcony. We liked it there so much and decided to extend our stay for one more night.

We also cooked one night as the kitchen was fully equipped and definitely enjoyed some early evening chilling time in the pools. Yes it would be difficult to commute without a car there but waking up only to the sound of nothing but birds is priceless!!

I definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedef_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
5.2 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
6.6 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
2.2 km away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Tranquilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Tranquilas

Property: Villas Tranquilas
Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price range (per night): $1,451 - $2,512
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Tranquilas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical rainforest retreat in Quepos/Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. Four plantation style villas in each building offer two bedroom, two bath contemporary custom accommodations. Every town home sleeps up to six guests with a fully equipped kitchen. We have two pools for our guests and are one of the most affordable rental communities in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Tranquilas Hotel Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing