We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for large groups!”
other travellers have booked this property
This should give you an idea of the sheer size of this place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This should give you an idea of the sheer size of this place
The View Full View of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This should give you an idea of the sheer size of this place
The View
Full View of house
Entrance to Living Area
Main entrance
From entrance to Living Area
Common Area by the entrance
View of pool and kitchen from Living Area
Looking inside the living room from the pool
Common area (living room, taken from pool)
The main floor is spacious and open with two huge walls of sliding glass door
Living Area
Other side of the deck (Grill)
Deck
Common area (view from deck)
Common Kitchen
Deck - pool area main floor
View from the patio looking across the pool into the kitchen.
Main Floor Bathroom
Common area (view from kitchen)
Common area
Common Area between 1st and 2nd Floor
Room 1
Room 1 Bathroom
Room 1 Bathroom Door
Room 1 Jacuzzi
From Room 1 to Room 2
Room 2 from balcony
Room 2
Upper Room 3 entrance from balcony
Room 2 Bathroom
Room 3 hallway, bathroom at the end
Room 2 Balcony
Upper Room 3
Upper room 3 kitchen and living area
Upper Room 3 balcony
Lower Room 3
Balcony view of Room 4
Room 5
Room 4 view from bathroom
Room 4 from entrance
Room 5 - Front entrance
Room 6
Pool Area
A view from patio looking inside the living room across the pool.
A view from across the pool into Quepos and the pacific ocean.
Tile work of the pool
A view from across the pool into Quepos and the pacific ocean.
View of common area and kitchen from the pool
Monkeys come often to visit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
crazyindi...
America
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great for large groups!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Lead a yoga retreat here and it was perfect! So much wildlife, monkeys, macaws, frogs, and toucans. Ana (the property manager) was very responsive to all the needs we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Hi,

We're so glad you and your group enjoyed your stay at Happy Jacana. You were a great group and we look forward to your next visit.

Ana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuevaley
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disapointed”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

For the past six months we planned a family vacation with relatives arriving from different countries. Much to our surprise the house was in very poor condition and maintenance was nonexistent. To begin one of the rooms had a bee problem that did not allow us to use it during our stay. The problem was corrected after three days due to the magnitude of the issue. During that time we were not able to go outside to the balconies in fear of getting stung. The doors would not slide, the majority of the A/C broke down, no screens on the doors, etc., etc. The list is to long for me to continue but for the amount of money that was paid for that week it is irresponsible and unacceptable for an owner to be allowed to rent a property under these conditions. It was truly disappointing vacation….

On the other side the managers and staff from Manuel Antonio Estates were very helpful in trying to accommodate us and make our stay as pleasant as possible but the task was just too overwhelming.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
We’re sorry you had anything less than a perfect vacation. Regarding the doors, you're right! Because we opted for a complete wall of doors to open by the beautiful pool overlooking the jungle, sometimes if they are pulled shut instead of pushed, or the rails get dirty, they can be hard to open. We are going to add instructions for future guests to push doors shut rather than pull and have added a checklist item for our cleaning staff to clean and grease all rails before we have new guests.

The ACs all get maintenance every two months and were working prior to your check in but when they do break down, as unfortunately these things will happen, we try to get them fixed immediately. You might have noticed we were very responsive to your requests and had someone come in there and fix them up right away.

The reason why we don't have screens on the doors in the main house is because many guests love being so close to nature and appreciate the openness. This is actually the first time someone requested we put screens on the main doors. All of our other balcony sliding doors have screens on them. But we'll definitely consider this as an option for the future.

About the bees, Oh my gosh! This was just crazy timing. We are very sorry about the bees, this has only been an issue one other time about a year ago and the fire department was able to come right away and clear out the bees. In this case, we had to have a professional bee keeper come (The fire department had already been there right before your arrival and the bees seemed to have left but they came back) and I'm happy to say they were able to relocate the nest. Again we are so very sorry about the experience you had with the bees that we'd like to offer you 2 free nights to come stay with us again and give us another shot on a future stay.

As you noted in your feedback (and is I assume where the 1 star comes from) our team works tirelessly to ensure you not only have a great stay but to stay on top of issues that might come up with a big house like this one. While we do everything preventative that we can, we cannot always foresee what issues will come up, until they do... But we can control our responsiveness!

Ultimately we hope you still enjoyed your experience of Costa Rica and we hope you'll come back and take advantage of the free nights and give us another chance to make things right. We can only improve with your feedback.

Pura Vida,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdallen10...
oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is not a five star property, maybe two at the most. Shall I lost the things wrong? Walked in the house and one of the sliding doors in the living room was broken, was promised it would be fixed the next day, never was. The lights were broken in the master bedroom and never fixed, no light the entire time. There was lizard poop on the bathroom counter. The bathroom downstairs had a stopped up toilet. Walked to one of the attached guest rooms, it had an upstairs and downstairs. The upstairs rooms air conditioner never worked. There was cobwebs with bugs in them in the corner of all rooms. Decided not to stay in that room, no one would. Walked down a set of stairs attached to the main house and this guest room had two double beds. One bed was hard as a rock and had no top mattress. My family chose to stay in this room as it was the least gross and the air worked. It was quite a walk with steep stairs and the bathroom lights never worked. The shower drizzled only luke warm water. I'm sure this house had potential at one time, but it seems the owner has skimped on maintenance and cleaning. The pool was so murky after the first day we were afraid to swim in it. If you are counting on staying at a five star accommodation, you will be sorely disappointed. Save your money and go somewhere with legitimate reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
We sincerely apologize for the sliding glass door but unfortunately we tried to get someone there immediately but they were unable to show up until after you'd checked out, the door has been replaced though. As for the other issues, nothing was ever reported to us or we certainly would have taken care of it immediately. This is a vacation home and of course the wear and tear of it is a lot higher than a normal home and things such as ACs will break down but we pride ourselves on responding to any client issues immediately. Had any of these issues been reported to us we would have gotten them fixed immediately. We always do a walk through the house before a client checks in and at their check out and we found none of the issues mentioned, except for the door, which as we mentioned has now been fixed. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we wish that you'd reported any problems when you came across them as we always replied to emails immediately as well as to phone calls.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTheBe...
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

First trip to Costa Rica and it was a great success! Eight of us went and stayed at Jacana Villa and fell in love. The house was perfect and the people in Costa Rica are amazing. I want to give a big shout out to Ana who helped us with everything from questions about the house to setting up our excursions. This woman is amazing people! She made our stay so easy. The house is great, the view is awesome and the wildlife we saw at the house alone was well worth it. Thanks Ana for making our first trip such a wonderful memory.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Hi,we couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you make it back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing Wildlife & Nature Views, Relaxing, Plenty of Room
Liked least: Couldnt Stay Longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing