We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique stay in a private setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Chalet north from jungle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet north from jungle
outside building balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Chalet north from jungle
outside building
balcony
like a tree-house
like a tree-house
chalet-east
garden
garden
bedroom
bedroom
livingroom
bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
takemeawa...
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique stay in a private setting”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Staying at Pierre's for 3 nights was a unique experience. This place provided us a comfortable and private retreat after enjoying the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area each day. Pierre was wonderful at welcoming us and making sure we got settled in. He gave us excellent suggestions for finding the best beach hang outs, getting around the area, shopping and places to visit.

This chalet is located on Pierre's secured property. The gardens and views from the balcony were awesome. It was a pleasure to just sit on the balcony in the morning and drink coffee and watch for all the birds waking up. In the evening, there was no better way to relax than to unwind in the hammock.

Thank you Pierre for adding a special element to our vacation in Costa Rica. We look forward to coming back and staying in your amazing Grand Chalet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
grace a vous je connais le meilleur CEVICHE...
.
GRACIAS!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveledb...
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“uncompareable”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second stay with Pierre and he never fails to surpass expectation. Beautiful property in a lush jungle setting. Close to everything,yet far enough to insure tranquility.
You will e very happy here unless you a a jaded, nothing is good enough kind person. You might encounter an ant...but after all you are in the tropics.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanie212
Leesburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jungle colors, outdoor delight”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I spent the month of June at the gran chalet in Quepos. We were amazed and astounded by the beauty of Pierre's property, grounds and home. The property is exactly as advertised and shown in the pictures. I was nervous about going during "green" season, but although it did rain half the days, the rain didn't really last all day or interfere with our plans. We spent beach days in Manuel Antonio, shopping days in Quepos, and lazy days at the chalet. Although the property does not have a pool, I discovered that there are a few restaurants in the area that have pools that you can use if you eat or drink there. We saw monkeys, iguanas, toads, and insects I never heard of. I was even treated to viewing a very small, non-poisonous snake! Pierre is a gracious host who is conscientious about making sure his guests are comfortable and settled.

Getting around was pretty easy, with or without a car. when we did not have a car we usually took a taxi to Quepos and transferred to the bus. The round trip with this arrangement was usually between four and eight dollars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The outdoor living areas.
Liked least: The property was very hilly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunderche...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simple accommodations, good value”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Gran Chalet North for nearly a month. Pierre's knowledge of the area is an invaluable resource; he directed us to places (beaches, restaurants, farmers' markets) that are only known to locals, and as a result, our stay was greatly enriched.

Be prepared to bring your own provisions--not only food, but also dishwashing liquid, shampoo, soap, and laundry detergent. Plenty of places in nearby Quepos will have what you need.

The Gran Chalet has one bed (in the US, it would be called "full" or "double") and two daybeds with wood frames on three sides. Each daybed would probably accommodate a child, or an adult if the mattresses were placed on the floor. The accommodations would be ideal for two young backpackers who are planning to stay a few days to a week. The Chalet is not within easy walking distance of the town of Quepos--a bus runs on the main road that is accessible from the Chalet via a steep approximately 100-meter walk--so if you are planning to stay longer than a few days, you will probably want a car, and will need to make arrangements to have your laundry done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeroet
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing balcony”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Welcome to the rainforest! The Chalet is perfect situated, it is easy to reach Quepos, the manuel antonio national park and the coast to Dominical (we had a car). The Chalet is well equipped (kitchen), has a lot of privacy, , we enjoyed the beautiful Terrasse, relaxing in the Hammock, observing the animales arround. Pierre is a very helpful and couteous Host, always easy to contact if needed. Wifi worked fine. We stayed just three Nights but you can stay definitively longer there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing