We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly part of the jungle”
other travellers have booked this property
Tropical beach in front at low tide, warm and gentle waves,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tropical beach in front at low tide, warm and gentle waves,
Front deck of casita with Jungle and ocean vie= Looking through the plants.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Tropical beach in front at low tide, warm and gentle waves,
Front deck of casita with Jungle and ocean vie=
Looking through the plants.
Living room with ocean and jungle view
Sofa can sleep small adults or children
sofa with ocean and jungle view
Bedroom one with queen bed and jungle view, leads to shower and toilet.
Bedroom two with double bed and single bunk bed, leads to shower and toilet, jungle view.
Hot water shower in tropical garden.
Shower
Wash basin set in tree trunk, jungle view
Fully equipped kitchen with 3 ring stove top, outside gas BBQ, cooler for ice and perishables.
Kitchen sink and countertop.
Kitchen bar and stools.
The beach at dusk
Scarlet macaws, nesting and singing above the Casita.
Coati on our beach looking fro crabs.
Cara blanca monkey by the Casita telling us off !!
Path from the Casita to the beach in front.
Shady path to beach.
View from Casita deck
Beach palm.
Cortesia tree dropping its carpet of leaves.
Tropical garden walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn H
Springvale, Maine
2 reviews
“Truly part of the jungle”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our family of four traveled to Casita Tranquila in April. Sandy was friendly and helpful and the rental was clean. We all had so much fun being part of the jungle, with the only barrier between us being bamboo walls and screen. The jungle comes alive by 4:30 am with wonderful wildlife sounds! We watched the sun rise everyday on our private beach and played games by candlelight each night! The outdoor bathroom was unique and the shower was lovely. It is just off the beaten path enough to let you feel you're away and only a 15 minute drive to town with restaurants, ATM, gas and supermarket. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that the pictures show an extra single bunk in one room and when we arrived, it wasn't there so my son slept on the couch (which was plenty big and comfy, so not a huge deal). We would definitely rent again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We sincerely loved this place. It was our first time in Osa Península and the whole trip was an awesome experience. If you are looking for a quiet place, with almost a private beach and howler monkeys waking you up at dawn, this is it. The property is beautiful, nicely maintained and with everything you need, except electricity, which is not an issue at all. Sandy (the owner) allows you to charge your electronic devices and also lets you freeze food in case you needed. We will go again, hoeñpefully with our dog and a 4x4 car. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnturne...
Rochester,, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Living Space in the Osa”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a truly unique spot, even by the standards of the Osa area. It’s important to state at the outset that it is quite literally off the grid. The house does not have its own electricity and an ice chest serves as a refrigerator. On the other hand, Roger and Sandy, our very friendly and helpful hosts, provide lots of candles, rechargeable fans and lanterns and are happy to have you charge devices at their house, which is steps away. Blocks of ice can be had cheaply in town and lasted us several days each. Roger will loan you a stick for wifi, but the connection is fast enough for email, not much more. We were excited by the chance to live comfortably but a little closer to the incredible nature that the area offers, so the Casita was perfect. The location (just off the main road, about halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Cabo Matapalo) is close enough for quick trips into town (be sure you have 4WD for the washboard, dirt road) and to the swimming (Playa Pan Dulce is quite lovely) and surfing beaches of Matapalo and beyond. The Casita is 20 metres from a calm swimming beach in a very private section of Roger’s and Sandy’s large, well-landscaped property. It’s essentially a large, pentagonal, roofed deck (a common design in the Osa), fully and tightly screened on 4 sides with a solid back wall as the 5th side. The wood floor and furniture are made of gorgeous teak and other local woods. Walls are covered with bamboo to give a truly jungle-like feel. Two walled-off sleeping areas and the fold out couches can accommodate 2 couples and three children comfortably. There is a keyed safe for valuables. The kitchen is quite functional for cooking basic meals. The bath facilities are behind the Casita in the open air, with privacy provided by the back wall, a surrounding fence and a shower curtain for the toilet. Taking an outdoor shower by torchlight and watching a troop of 12 howler monkeys amble out of the canopy and into the large tree right next to the Casita for the night was one of the highlights of our stay. Scarlet macaws and green parrots were ever-present and we saw at least 15 other bird species within 100 metres of the house, including kites, caracaras, wood rails and a lone toucan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique design of the home and open-air feel
Liked least: Kitchen could use a good chopping knife.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireeto...
Cap-Ferret, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in the Osa Peninsula”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I and my boyfriend spent 3 nights at the Casita Tranquila. The place is very quite and natural. La casita tranquila is in the middle of the forest and has a private beautiful beach.
We loved the outdoor shower !
What a great experience to fall asleep to the noise of the waves and to be waken up by the noises of the parrots, toucans and monkeys.
Roger and Sandy, the owners, were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel at home.
We were recommanded an english and spanish speaking guide to discover Corcovado National Park.
Peaceful stay in an natural environnement !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenashoe
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Nature and comfort in a most beautiful setting”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed as part of a larger group of kid and adults. A beautiful site with amazing outdoor shower (complete with lizard and house gecko). Beach rocky but swimmable and absolutely stunning. Sloth in residence when we were there. Casita thoughtfully designed, rustic but with decent beds, towels, etc. It's not luxury in sense of high-end hotels, but luxury in sense of you have a beautiful cabin, amazing views with howler monkeys climbing trees, sounds of beach which is short short walk, stunning natural environment and caring hosts who stop in to check on you and are quick to help with anything.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: thoughtful, elegant design; caring hosts; location and isolation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing