We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Meeting sweetpea, the wild spider monkey is a definite highlight

We visited from Puerto Jimenez while waiting for our flight to Corcovado Park. It was definitely a... read more

Reviewed today
tcty45
,
Madison, Wisconsin
A must see if you are in the Osa

This sanctuary can only be reached by boat. We got to see many dolphins on the way. The sanctuary... read more

Reviewed 30 May 2018
Kathy T
,
Peru, Maine, United States
Read all 203 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Puerto Jimenez
from USD 110.00
More Info
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
148
27
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
27
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride pet trade injured animals costa rica toed sloths rehab center spider monkeys these beautiful creatures great love wonderful opportunity educational tour saw dolphins dream come true carol sweetie donation rehabilitation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This sanctuary can only be reached by boat. We got to see many dolphins on the way. The sanctuary is dedicated to rehabilitating injured and orphaned birds and animals so that they can be returned to the wild. There are some favorites that live there permanently because they can't be released. You can see the workers and volunteers have great love for the animals. It was one of the favorite things we did on our visit in Costa Rica.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

A visit to this wildlife rehab center is fascinating and helps the work being done. Injured animals from all over the Osa are rehabbed and often re-introduced into the wild. Carol is a saint for doing this work.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jAlfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

What a great activity. Kim our guide really loves what she does. The tour was informative and it's nice that a place like this exists to give extra lovin to these beautiful creatures. Highlights were Gus the sloth with whom I fell in love and of course sweety the monkey who would not stop grabbing my hand to scratch her. She loved my hubby! On the boat ride back we saw dolphins. So glad we went and had such an intimate experience with the animals. I highly recommend supporting this wonderful cause!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Owenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Very informative and worthwhile. The staff is very caring for these animals that would otherwise die if left in the wild. The $25 donation seems hardly nothing with the amount it must take to maintain this sanctuary. It was amazing to feed a sloth and pet it. Sweetie, the wandering spider monkey who met us on the beach, was infatuated with my husband and grabbed his hand to pull him back every time he backed away to leave. Very memorable, enjoyable and informative!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank ltrinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The wildlife preserve is very good for educational purposes, I personally don’t like animals in cages but it gives people the possibility to learn a lot about preservation and local wildlife

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Girlgone_fishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews