We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luna Lodge - A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luna Lodge - A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I loved our Luna Lodge experience and would recommend it to anyone that's looking for an opportunity to experience a very special part of Costa Rica in a beautiful lodge with great, friendly staff, delicious and healthy meals and the opportunity to partake in activities like hiking and bird watching with fantastic local, capable guides. We do a lot of travelling and I'd say the visit to Luna Lodge is up there with the top couple of travel experiences we've had. I compare it to an experience we had in the Okavanga Delta in Botswana Africa. Starting with the 2 hour drive from Puerto Jiminez (an adventure in itself), to the yoga class with Lana, the hike into the Corcovado National Park and the upper Ridge hike with Oscar, bird watching with Gary, getting to know the guests from all over the world at meal time, and the beautiful bungalow. What a place!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow and it was fantastic. The chairs on the deck looked out over the trees and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    21
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
121
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was such an amazing trip! I was there with five friends in early February, 2012. Lana, Willie, Gary, and all of the staff were incredibly gracious - and totally dedicated to preserving and growing this unique space of biodiversity - and to sharing its wonder with guests.
The air was full of the sounds of summer insects. We saw exquisite flowers, spider and howler monkeys, an anteater, white-lipped peccaries, king vultures, scarlet-winged macaws, ibises, hummingbird nests, and many vibrantly colored small birds, which we saw on the birdwatching tours with a guide and a powerful spotting scope. We stayed in one of the beautifully constructed thatched-roof bungalows. We did have a cute resident lizard or two, but no mosquitoes. The shower is completely private to the bungalow, but opens out onto a small lush garden.The food, prepared by Carmen and her staff, was fresh, creative, delicious, and beautifully presented. Rosie's massage was wonderful; as were Lana's yoga classes! We were amazed at the effort it took to carve this paradise out of the rainforest in this out0of-the-way place-- all materials carried in; swimming pool dug by hand, etc. Absolutely amazing!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flourtown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I visited Luna Lodge along with a group of yoga enthusiasts. The lodging is exquisite and the owner is a visionary who deeply cares about the wildlife in the Osa Penninsula. Each morning you awake to the sounds of the birds and howling monkeys (they are far away so don't worry). There are many hikes to take, places to visit and excellent guides who will share their deep knowledge and appreciation for Costa Rica.
You will enjoy every minute here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Luna Lodge over the holidays. Getting there isn't easy - fly to Puerto Jiminez, drive 2-3 hours to Carate, and then cross the river a few times and head STRAIGHT up the side of a mountain - but it was well worth the trek.

Don't go here if you need air conditioning. It was hot, and humid, but not too hot that we weren't able to sleep. Our bungalow had a decent breeze, and you can't beat the open air bathrooms and howler monkey alarm clocks. We were in bungalow #5 which is great if you don't want to walk far or uphill. The higher up bungalows seemed to have a better view/more of a breeze, but our was fine (and we had toucans right outside!)

We really enjoyed the Corcovado hike, and heard that the hike in La Serena (via plane) was even better. The staff is fantastic and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I recently came across our pictures from a family vacation to Luna lodge--about 10 years ago. Our son wanted to see the rain forest "before it was all gone". I'm so glad to see that Lanna and the forest are alive and well on the Osa Peninsula. when we visited there were three cabins. the transportation was a fifteen year old truck with a rickety wood bench in the back--we did have to push a few times going up from the beach! There were bugs and toads and lizards and monkeys threw fruit on us and we went fishing with strings. We had a difficulty timing our return trip from the forest because alligators were gaurding the river. No phones, TV, Video games for a whole week with a 13 y.r old boy-hell? Hardly, the best trip we've ever taken. It sounds like things haven't changed too much except for the pool and the land rover. This trip is not for everyone but go with a light wardrobe, bring bug spray and have a trip of a life time. Looking back at our pictures makes me want to return! Thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
36.1 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
34.9 km away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
20.8 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
2.4 km away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
34.3 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Property: Luna Lodge
Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Price range (per night): $293 - $388
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing