We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
531
57
20
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
57
20
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki tent beach house corcovado national park costa rica scarlet macaws organic food ylang ylang other guests osa peninsula big table open air fresh juice perfect balance low tide yoga platform puerto jimenez every meal
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Markus and Gabriela have created a beautifully and carefully-crafted jungle experience near the Corcovado Park and all of its natural marvels. Markus' architectural and landscape vision is sensitive and satisfying: carefully and uniquely crafted architectural cabins in beautiful tropical gardens. Their hospitality is genuine: every dinner feels like being a guest at their dinner table: marvelous fresh food by great cooks (especially Coco), friendly atmosphere, adventurous and interesting guests. It's rustic and real, though: there's little that separates you from the natural world here. And I recommend the full board: the food is truly great - and there are few other options, anyway, this far into the jungle.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different cabins - each with their own charm. The mosquito nets are key; be prepared to share your space with some wildlife. You're the visitor, after all.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Director de Recepción at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Peter, we are so glad that you had a great time here, it is good to hear people that could perfectly understand the philosophy of our place and lifestyle in the jungle of Costa Rica
Hope to see you again,
Regards
Finca exotica team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Finca Exotica has so many lovely layers to experience. With a location so close to Corcovado and the protected areas the wildlife is unbelievable - scarlet macaws, toucans, several types of monkeys, butterflies, and more. The food is delicious and nourishing. Guided trip to Corcovado was accessible for all levels and an unforgettable experience. The accommodations were comfortable. Boogie boarding in the waves. Yoga. It's like being on a guided trip while sleeping in the same place every night. All of the hosts made us feel welcome and cared for throughout our visit. It was very fun to have such a multicultural group while we were there, French, Italian, German, and of course the native Spanish. Also, there were so many types of groups, single lady, family with young kids, parents with college kids, mom and teen, young couples, retired couples, the whole gamut. Thank you for a memorable trip!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SnorkelerShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Director de Recepción at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you very much for those lovely words!! So glad that you had an amazing time with us, we love that our guests can interact with each other and share their experiences
Hope that you come back soon
Regards,
Finca Exotica Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

The last leg of a three-part trip (Nosara in Guanacaste and the area around Manuel Antonio being the other two), our stay at Finca Exotica was the best part of our vacation. The cabins/tents, common areas, and grounds were perfectly done. I cannot imagine how much work it takes to maintain this place, but it feels wonderful being there. We were traveling with our two young children (ages 5 and 2) and the Ylang Ylang cabin was perfect for us. We did need to keep a close eye on the kids given that this is still the jungle, but with so much open space to roam and explore, and such hospitality in the restaurant/bar/hangout lounge, we were really able to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The food was delicious and very thoughtfully prepared, and all of the facilities were clean and comfortable. The onsite, open-air yoga and the massage offerings were an extra treat, and the guides for the Corcovado and other wildlife/birding tours were world-class. The staff were somehow able both to allow us lots of privacy and to make us feel like part of the family.

If you're thinking about staying here, keep in mind that you're in the jungle--we had bats in our cabin at night, water beetles made a nice little nest in my toiletry bag, some kind of mouse left droppings at night, and we needed to walk very carefully in the dark so as not to step on any snakes (bring a headlamp). These are not complaints, but just something to think about it. We also saw spider monkeys in the trees right above our cabin, scarlet macaws next to the restaurant, and another guest saw an anteater on the hotel grounds.

The beach is across the road, and while beautiful, it's not great for swimming. The Finca Exotica might be the last accommodations on the road to Corcovado, so it's very quiet and remote-feeling. We drove our rented Daihatsu and had no problems on the road during dry season. It was a beautiful drive.

As long as guests arrive with proper expectations for accommodations and comfort, I cannot recommend this place more highly. I would love to return.

Room Tip: Ylang Ylang was great for our family of four (two adults and two boys aged 5 and 2).
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank etrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We recently visited Finca Exotica from the US. We flew into San Jose and drove to the Osa Peninsula and our experience was more than we could have hoped for! The views are absolutely incredible, as well as, the wildlife. We stayed in the mango cabin and it was really peaceful, serene and it was amazing waking up to the sunshine and sound of waves and birds in the morning. All of the staff was wonderful. They were extremely kind and helpful. Jose was great! He checked us in and out and carried our bags all the way to our rooms (which was quite the trek). We paid to go on the day hike with Laura and she was very knowledgeable and helped us spot and educate us on different plants and animals along the way. We paid to have our meals included and every meal we had was home cooked and to die for! It was served family style, so all of the other people staying at Finca ate together. It was amazing to be able to eat dinner and chat with other people from all over the world! I cannot say enough positive things about this place! We will definitely be coming back and sending our friends to Finca Exotica!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ashayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Finca Exotica is a true paradise in every sense. Located a stones throw from Carate beach. The surroundings are a lush yet Jurassic-looking tropical rainforest that meets the pristine vast sandy beaches. You can gently swing in a hammock or lie in the black volcanic sand and only see one other person all day. The lodge is sound-tracked by the powerful crashing waves of the Pacific and if you wake up early you can sometimes see whales passing. If you’re more of a late riser, don’t worry the local Mantled Howler Monkies will make sure they get you up. As an everyday standard you will see passing Scarlet Macaws on their way to the almond trees or a troop of multi generational Squirrel monkies on the hunt for fresh fruit.
The lodges has been designed by the one of the incredible hosts and is beautifully crafted, economically and esthetically sensitive to it’s surroundings. The lodge is by far the most beautiful in Carate. From Tiki huts set within the tropical gardens to luxury cabins, there is an option for all. We stayed in the hut and it might be the most financially economical option but it was perfect. Like sleeping in the middle of the jungle but from a safe and comfortable distance.
The heart of the community is the restaurant, which serves freshly made breakfast, lunch and dinner. Everything from scratch, even the juice, the staff will look after any dietary requirement and using local produce serve exquisite food. Dinner is an occasion when all the residents get together and share stories about what they discovered that day and share insider recommendations. The price is modest and the quality impeccable. Gay friendly.
The jewel of the area and reason we traveled to the Osa Peninisula is the Corcavardo National Park. Finca can arrange day hikes or for a more lengthy stay you can spend a couple nights in the Serina Ranger Lodge. Longer stays must be arranged in advance and at least a month’s notice. You cannot enter the park without a guide but Finca can advise on a Tour Company. Never have we been somewhere where the wildlife is so abundant. It was a dream come true and our guide Steven Chacon, Osa Green Travel, was incredibly knowledgeable making the three-day hike so special. There are many guides to pick from but if you want something outstanding where you leave with a new knowledge and understanding of nature and the surrounding area I would highly recommend Steven.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WillRobertJohnDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews