We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Tajalin
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We moved to this hotel after one night in another hotel which was so noisy because it was Saturday night and that hotel has walls that were half screened and is right on the road. Hotel El Tajalin is also on the same road, but with a wall along the back of the hotel, and complete walls in the rooms, the noise was not nearly as bad.
Pros of this hotel: air conditioning in the rooms; ceiling fans also in every room; location is in the center of town; nice 3rd floor terrace with TV, wi-fi, hammocks, tables and chairs; good shower; comfortable beds; quiet; very helpful staff
Cons of this hotel: breakfast not included, some rooms are located near coffee station where people gather early, bathroom (and supplies) are very basic, wi-fi doesn't work well in the rooms towards the back
This hotel is a good value for the price, the staff was very helpful (moving us to another room when we requested), and we had a good place to park our car along the street right in front of the hotel .
The rooms are basic hotel rooms without much character, but having a/c during the dry, hot, dusty season and being able to sleep at night without fearing a car was going to crash into our room was very appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thanks for your review. As new hotel managers, we are dedicated to resolving any issues that have bothered previous guests.

We just installed a second router in the back of the hotel to enhance the wifi service throughout. There should be a good connection everywhere at this point.

We're also adding some character to the rooms with little touches here and there. I'm sure our current guests have already noticed a bit more color with plants, tapestries and more lounging areas throughout the common areas. We've added more chairs, tables and closets to several of the rooms and are soon to decorate with some new wall hangings as well.

Again, thanks for your suggestions. They've already made a difference. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I checked in to El Tajalin and the air conditioning didn't work in the first room. They moved us to a larger room for the same price, so we were happy.

The location is great, what with Montezuma being so small you can walk everywhere.

The only problem was that there was a lot of rubbish (mostly plastic bottles) on the beach so we left Montezuma early.

The staff, particularly the younger chap on reception, were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blokeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2010

This place was decent- it was clean, quiet, and the owner was relatively friendly and helpful. The AC didn't work that great and the room was rather plain, but we stayed on the 3rd floor which was nice because I think it is the only room on the floor so it has a lot of privacy (but no view). Also there was a fridge in the room which really came in handy for storing cold water and breakfast food. The location was good if you want to be right in town without the noise of staying above/next to any of the bars. I think I would have preferred the similarly priced Hotel Lucy or Los Mangos which are about a 5 minute walk from town but right on the water.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I have been to Costa Rica 11 times since 1989. I still try out other vacation destinations but every time I go to Mexico, Hawaii, Florida......ect, I always think, "wow, I could have gone to Costa Rica and had a better time!"

I first came across Tajalin back in 2001. I keep coming back. I love Montezuma. Costa Rica was a different country when I first started vacationing there. Manuel Antonio and Jaco were still small resort areas. Now, I don't want to go there for more than a day or two.

El Tajalin is a refreshing hotel from the past. They have a courteous and helpful staff that speak English. It has the charm that this country used to have before the increase of American tourism. I have stayed there 4 times and I cannot wait to return. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and affordable. The rooms I have stayed in have air conditioning, balcony's, safes and refrigerators. It is located a few yards from Chicos Bar and Luz De Mono as well as all of the eateries and shops in this small town. It is quiet in the evening and the beach is a short walk away.

During my 2nd stay there, I lost the key to my rental car. The owner arranged for the rental car company to fly a spare key from San Jose to nearby Tambor and then bussed them to Tajalin. They have also arranged numerous travel adventures for my friends and I including fishing trips, canopy zip-line tours and ATV rentals. All I do is ask and they will take care of my needs.

If you are a high maintenence traveler or a wild party person, this might not be the place to stay. If you are an experienced traveler and want a quality place to truly enjoy this very special town, you will be glad that you stayed at Tajalin. I have sent many friends there and they all have been very happy with my recommendation.

Clean, safe and courteous. I have taken many of my friends and my (then 12 year old son). We are all fans!

  • Liked — Couteous Clean Safe Affordable Friendly Comfortable
  • Disliked — Can't think of many reasons to not like it here.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The reviews of this hotel are in general accurate. However one significant annoyance we had was the air conditioner in our room, first floor, was full of mold. The room only had one very small window. The weather was very hot, 97 degrees F and whenever we left the room and shut the door we returned to a very musty, moldy smell. We had to sleep with the door open at night, with the fan going to tolerate the thought of what we were breathing.
The hotel was full and they said they did not have another room. It is a long story why we did not pursue changing rooms on our 2 subsequent days so that is our responsibility. But I did want to mention this. Otherwise I must say that the staff was very kind and helpful and it is a good location. One more thing. After other towns Montezuma struck me as dirty, lots of litter and questionable thoughts about where the sewers empty. I suspect right into the ocean where we were swimming. This may be true in lots of the beach towns in CR. Next time I will try to stay in smaller towns to help minimize my impact. Eco-tourism, the very thing that draws people to this area, is having its negative consequences.
We loved El Sano Banano restaurant, super friendly and helpful staff. Yummy food. Lastly if you are going from Montezuma to San Jose via the ferry be sure to find out about the direct bus. I asked for the best and least expensive way to get to Alajuela And I gave the # I had from the Frommer's book. (I should have called this number myself and I regret I didn't, my bad.) We were told by the tour office in town And the hotel desk that "everybody charges $40." THIS IS NOT TRUE. When we got on the ferry we saw a large a/c tourist bus that left from Cobano (so you have to take a local bus (or taxi) to Cobano which should be easy, @ $2?) to catch this tour bus. The bus from Cobano to San Jose airport or Alajuela cost only $15 plus you do not have to change your luggage from one van, onto the ferry, off the ferry into another van. This is the only time in our 10 day trip when I felt ripped off. I heard from people whose daughter lives in Cobano that the hotels receive a cut for referring their guests. I don't have a problem with that, but to say it is the only way is only partly true.
It is a beautiful country, with very nice residents and we are very glad we went. 90% of the time was perfecto. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for your review. Hotel El Tajalin is under new management as of Oct. 15, 2011 and we are taking all past reviews as learning tools to enhance the experience of our guests.

Mold can be a problem in Costa Rica in the rainy season, but there are steps that can be taken to solve the problem. Several of the older A/C units have been replaced. With other units, filters have been replaced and are now cleaned once a week to avoid any mold. We also have a rotation of a new dehumidifier in all downstairs rooms which had issues with mold in the past.

Please be assured that your complaint is being taken seriously and all steps are being taken to ensure that others will not repeat your moldy experience.

As for Montezuma being dirty, it's not. There is a robust garbage collection unit and a new recycling center nearby, doing our part to protect the environment. All beachside businesses found to have improper sanitation practices have been condemned in the past by the sanitation department and have only been allowed to reopen with better facilities.

The only garbage problem that irks some of us residents, is that plastics that float on the sea collect about 15 minutes walking north of the Montezuma beaches due to Nicoya Gulf currents. We hold beach cleanups after the rainy season to tidy up the place and hope that those who dispose of garbage improperly (mostly far from Montezuma) clean up their act soon!

Sorry the tour office in town may have lied to you. Our reception staff books tours and transportation for guests and have been instructed to be honest and forthcoming or they will lose their jobs. You can trust our receptionists to book anything you need and to give you all the information necessary to do so. Yes, the bus is a great way to go to SJ. One additional tidbit is that it leaves directly from Montezuma. No need to take a $10 taxi to Cobano.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
328 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 km away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
69 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Property: Hotel El Tajalin
Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price range (per night): $62 - $98
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Tajalin 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing