We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding: easy logistics, beautiful grounds...”
other travellers have booked this property
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
The property is surrounded on three sides by undeveloped forest- great privacy & wildlife viewing. The master bedroom has a full size bed as well as a futon single bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
The property is surrounded on three sides by undeveloped forest- great privacy & wildlife viewing.
The master bedroom has a full size bed as well as a futon single bed.
The second bedroom has two twin beds with armoire.
The third bedroom has a full size bed with armoire. All the bedrooms have a ceiling fan.
The well-equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare and share meals.
The kitchen and the bedrooms are fully screened.
The kitchen is so comfortable and spacious!
Relax in the hammock and listen to the sounds of nature: ocean waves, monkeys, birds, the stream...
There is an outdoor shower (with cool water) as well as an indoor shower (hot water).
The outdoor shower is wonderful after the beach.
Enjoy your morning coffee and watch wildlife on the 3rd floor observation deck!
Private gated entrance and off street parking. Great security.
Beautiful Playa los Cedros is only 400 meters from the door.
You'll see lots of hummingbirds from the patio.
The upstairs deck puts you at eye level with howler and capuchin monkeys for outstanding photo ops.
If you want to see some of Costa Rica's wildlife, this is the house for you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Wade G
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding: easy logistics, beautiful grounds and house, cool wild life, just perfect”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in June 2015

This was a home run for us. Worked w/ Donna via email to set up rental and all logistics; she was responsive, flexible, and easy to work with. She was out of town for our trip so Tito was our contact for our stay. Simple call upon arrival with perfect instructions to find the place. Got a nice tour of the place w/ instructions and everything we needed to know. He even gave us a local cell phone to use for emergencies (that we didn't need). The place is awesome. Great outdoor space, completely functional kitchen, comfort everywhere. Wondered if we'd be cool enough sleeping but ceiling fans were more than adequate for good sleep. We had Coates and Howler monkeys come through the property often; lots of other animals too. Just a perfect natural setting full of beauty and wildlife. Tito was available when we needed him for quick questions or tips on local happenings, but not at all intrusive. We had our space AND access to a great local resource for good advice. We would return again in a heartbeat because the house and setting were great and Tito is a genuinely good guy.
FYI, I've posted this review after a serious delay. Work was crazy for weeks upon our return and it just never got done, even though I thought about from time to time. I decided to post late anyway because we had such a great stay and thought so much of Tito's kindness... we were very happy there and wanted others to know it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jog4fun
Albany, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in secluded location surrounded by nature”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Casa Montezuma is located in a secluded area about halfway between Montezuma and Cabuya- 3.5 km (2.25 miles) to each of these locations. It takes about 30 mins to jog leisurely or about 1 hour to walk this distance on a pleasant but dusty road along the ocean coast. Cabs from/ to Casa Montezuma are about 8-10 dollars depending on the mood of the driver.

The house has all the amenities one needs, including a well stocked kitchen, barbecue grill, drip coffee machine and large fridge. Three medium size bedrooms with ceiling fans are pleasant and well aired/cooled during the night. Comfortable setting for up to 6 adults without feeling crowded.

Relaxing on the porch is a bliss: hammock, rocking chairs, with a 180 degree view towards a lush tropical garden inhabited by howler and capuchin monkeys, coati mundi, agutis, skunks, with daily visits, sometimes literally a few feet away from the porch- a real and unending delight.

The hosts recycle everything, with almost all remaining food being dutifully consumed by an efficient and delightful pig, Chuleta. Water is of good quality, saves buying bottled water.

Last but not least, the hosts are wonderful- Tito provided all the information we needed, regaled us in stories about local attractions and the life in this corner of Costa Rica, provided us with a cell phone with lists of cab drivers to call. This is wonderful place to spend a vacation, cannot imagine anything topping it- simply put, more luxury or opulence cannot provide the homeliness, beauty, comfort and friendliness of this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane L
Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Let me start by saying, staying here will be beyond all your expectations. Immediately upon arrival you are made to feel welcome. We flew into Liberia airport and got a shuttle to the house. We were provided the owner's phone number so we were able to call when we were close and directions were given to the driver. Upon arrival we were greeted by Tito. Now, I could go on and on about all the things he did for us, but you will have to visit and find out for yourself! I will tell you that you will have an instant friend who will help you with anything you need.
Now, lets talk about the house. For the first few days I kept getting lost! The house is fantastic. The set up is so unique. If you were to visit with another couple you would still have total privacy. The pictures online don't do it justice. 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, shower room + outdoor shower, 2 decks on different levels overlooking the beautiful yard, third floor observation deck, fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer (outside drying is faster!), bbq, bikes, beach chairs, cell phone provided, internet, tv.
The yard. AKA the interactive zoo! A lovely jungle setting. You will be surrounded by trees, a creek flowing near by, the waves crashing in the distance...and the critters. By the middle of day 2, I had all ready photographed, Agouti, Coati Mundi, Capuchins, Racoons, bats, birds, lizards, butterflies, praying mantis...truly a photographers dream! Did, I mention all of that was in the yard? Our favorite, we named Otis, a single older coati mundi that visited us daily. A group of racoons came by quite often, after about the first week one of the mamas brought her 4 babies with her so we could meet them. Cuteness overload. Don't even get me started on the capuchin and howler monkey babies, omg. Oh yes, the howler monkeys, do yourself a favor, if you have never heard the sound of these beauties before, google it, so you do not crap yourself when they start howling!!
The location. The house is in a perfect location, you can walk into Montezuma and Cabuya. (Cabuya is a much nicer walk, no hills!) There is also a shuttle that passes by several times a day and taxis are easily available. Los Cedros beach is just down the road, and you will likely have it all to yourself! Just remember when walking around, bring water, its hot! During our second week we had a side by side quad buggy thing delivered right to the house from Santa Teresa. That was a great decision, we were then able to explore many more nearby towns. You will have you choice of beaches and an abundance of restaurants to choose from. Grocery stores and farmer's market available for cooking at the house. Bank machine in Montezuma.
Thank you to Donna and Tito for our time at Casa Montezuma, a special time we will always cherish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathieu f
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We are a family of 7 who spent 6 weeks at Casa Montezuma. Our kids are age 7-16 (1 boy - 4 girls).

We got there when the first rain hit after a long dry season and got to see the place explode with life and colors. The biggest surprise for us when we got there was probably the layout of the house. Though some of the reviews i read hint at it, it's the fact that every time you exit a room it takes you outside. Not a typical "self-contained" home where you walk through the front door and you are in...at Casa Montezuma, you walk through the front gate...and you are in! Even when you are in the bedrooms or kitchen, there is plenty of screens that it feels like you are always outdoors. Thankfully there is no AC there as it would probably ruin the experience of interacting with nature as much. The fans, breeze and a cold shower is all you need to cool you down! Since you are living in the outdoors as much, there are critters but given where we are from in Canada it was not as bad as mosquitoes and black flies galore we have experienced in the great white north! There were times when mosquitoes were pretty bad and we just hung out in the kitchen or our rooms. When we weren't too sure if the critters were dangerous to us or damaging to the house, we would ask Tito and he would advise and/or take care of the problem. Speaking of Tito, he is super helpful and always available to show us how things work, answer questions, give tips on where to go...In a way it felt very re assuring to have him close by given we were in such a new and different environment.
The house is a tad remote for sure but that's also what made its appeal for us. We didn't rent a car for the first 4 1/2 weeks and did just fine without one but walking to Cabuya and montezuma is a decent trek in the heat...especially MOntezuma as there are a few hills on the way. We are a very active family and didnt do that walk too often. The local bus is easy to take and cheap and the taxies as also very quick. We also used the bikes almost everyday to go to the grocery in Cabuya and buy fresh fish from Vin. To go the other side of the penisula to go to Santa teresa, it was about $80 for a family of 7. Kevin from Montezuma adventure brought us to the other side a bunch of times and was super flexible and reliable.
I worked 2-3 hours a day and had great wifi or even signal with my cell phone.
We loved the place and were sad when it was time to leave...6 weeks was NOT too long! Our family would go back there in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Tito and I are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at Casa Montezuma. We realize that you have traveled all over the world, so your high opinion is all the more valuable because of your extensive travel experience. Most of all, we are happy that you and your family had a great holiday! Thanks from Donna and Tito
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn907
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis in the sun”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Casa Montezuma is an jungle oasis a short walk from the rocky shores of the Pacific Ocean. The grounds are green and lush with a large variety of fruit bearing trees and flowering bushes home to a diverse collection of wildlife.
The accommodations at Casa Montezuma are individual rooms entered from outdoor spaces; only the kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms have walls and screened windows. As a result we spent hours everyday enjoying the open air on the lower, middle and upper decks watching the monkeys play in the trees and the agoutis forage for food.
The owners live on the grounds a short walk away from the main house. Tito was very respectful of our privacy yet very responsive when we requested help or information about the area.
Casa Montezuma is a perfect vacation home for couples or families wanting to get away from it all. The town of Montezuma is a short drive away but too far to walk in the humid temperature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review- we are always glad to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We are only sorry that the weather did not fully cooperate during your visit. This year is an EXTREME El Niño year- it is hotter and more humid than we have ever seen during our 13 years in Montezuma. We hope to see you again someday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing