We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel near Manuel Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hotel near Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

loved the hotel with our family
the employees and guides are great
William, Bryan, Roger, Erzel, Juan Carlos, Maurillio...
great location that is difficult to access, but great once you are there
would love to come back when its a little wetter to see more creatures

Room Tip: building #1 for famlies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    181
    42
    22
    10
See reviews for
541
950
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently celebrated our 10-year anniversary at Arenas Del Mar. We certainly picked the perfect spot to mark such a special occasion. Our experience was truly first class from the beginning (making reservations online) to the end of our four-day stay. The hotel and views are breathtaking and the staff really makes you feel special. By the end of our first day, everyone addressed us by name and went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. On the evening of our anniversary, we went out to dinner in town. When we returned, there were rose peddles in our Jacuzzi, chocolate fondue with local fruit, a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a very sweet card waiting in our room. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel to all my friends and family. Just an FYI…the hotel concierge will happily make restaurant suggestions and reservations for you in town. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you when it’s available (or the concierge will call you a taxi…$10 each way).
From the bottom of our heart, we would like to thank the staff at Arenas Del Mar for making our 10-year anniversary one we will never forget! Costa Rica is a wonderful country with incredible people. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Room 701A was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fabulous venue for ALL the reasons mentioned by previous Trip Advisor contributors...PLUS the world-class surf we had everyday was perfect for body surfing at rivaled Hawaii, Montauk, Puerto Rico, etc. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmarte215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here in February in an Ocean Breeze Superior Room. Buildings in the upper level of the property supposedly have the best ocean views, but the closest beach is Playa Espadilla. You have to take a golf cart (or a long walk) to get there. We were in building 1 on the lower level. Buildings 1, 2 and 3 are at this level and are BEACH FRONT. Lovely Playitas Beach was just steps from our room, AND we had fabulous views of the forest and the ocean. There is also a pool and beachside bar there.

We spotted a troop of capuchin monkeys in the almond trees along the beach. They were everywhere. Later from our balcony we watched the monkeys fly through the trees and run along the balconies. They were delightful to watch. On the property we also saw sloths, iguanas, Jesus Christ lizards, an agouti, raccoons and numerous colorful birds.

Initially we were concerned about being a long way from town, but the round trip cab ride was only 8,000 colones (about $16). Also, one day we walked from Playa Espadilla to the area around Manuel Antonio National Park and had a delicious lunch at Marlin Restaurant. There are various shops and restaurants in the area and it is very walkable along the beach.

Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay here. The entire staff is very pleasant and helpful, the golf carts (in spite of our initial reservations about their utility) were very efficient, the food was excellent, and the king bed in our room was enormously comfortable. Sleeping with the sound of waves crashing on the beach was dreamy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I recently return home after an amazing trip to Costa Rica. We started off in Manuel Antonio at Arenas Del Mar. From the minute we arrived the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We were upgraded to a suite (403) which was incredible. We had panoramic views, two bathrooms, an extremely comfortable bed and a beautiful patio with our own little hot tub. The staff was really helpful in planning activities, making dinner reservations etc. We enjoyed wandering around the property and lounging on the beach. This hotel is great because it is pretty much the only place in MA that has beach access and the hills are steep! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Building 4 (especially on the third floor) probably has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear DSBS,

Thanks for your great “to the point” review. We are excited to hear that you had a great time in Manuel Antonio and Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort. As you pointed out, it is in our name: beachfront!!! This is why so many guests choose Arenas del Mar. Combine that with rainforest, ocean views and the service you pointed out in your review and you have an amazing trip to Costa Rica. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon for another “treat”.
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
2.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
1.0 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
2.0 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): $404 - $959
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing