We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“monkeys outside our windows every day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“monkeys outside our windows every day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for 5 days--and it was fabulous. We then went to the Cloud Forest for 2 nights--also very cool. We would go back to CR in a heartbeat. We saw squirrel monkeys and white faced monkeys every day. There was a 3-toed sloth in a tree at the beach--right above the food stand there. The views were breathtaking. We took a group tour of Manuel Antonio Park--and saw more Sloths, monkeys, toucans, frogs, iguanas and more. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    120
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
608
323
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Luxury at its best.. Villas, personal conceirge, shuttle will take you everywhere from the beach, to getting groceries ..

Only a few comments... considering the high end luxury the beach front services are limited at best... no one serves beverages to you at the beach.. the food is OK.. and the tables are plastic with a tarp to provide cover... i would not go back here for this reason.. im on holidays.. i would like to have someone bring me my pina colada to my chair... maybe thats silly but my preference...

Other than that the pools, private beach etc are fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent 4 nights at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The view from our villa was absolutely beautiful. The infinity pool also had a breathtaking view. The pool was small, but never overcrowded (we were there end of March). The resort offered free car service to local market and all local restaurants, and then back to the resort. The beach at the resort was not the best in the area, but still quite nice. Our concierge, Brian, was extremely nice and always willing to assist with any of our needs. The staffs as a whole were very nice and helpful. I would definitely come back and HIGHLY recommend Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas to anyone planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartayav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just came back from 4 nights at Buena Vista my husband and I. There is a lot of writing about this place. This is our experience.
The bad...
We arrived early so our concierge took us to the restaurant by the pool. We were early so we ordered a meal. Me a tuna salad... which I did not like whatsoever and I am not a difficult one. When asked if I liked my meal I said no and was snobed the rest of the time by the male waiter (rude) who is not by a mile a happy person. We avoided this restaurant the rest of the time.
Our air conditionning system leaked ... a lot. We had to stay till they came to fix it one night... only to come back with water all over the floor after dinner. But they did fix it the second time around.
We were not warned about one of the pool being renovated and it was the one closest to our villa. We had to drive to the beach and other pools which was kind of far from our place to walk. Yes there is a shuttle but our time is precious and we did not want to wait for it.
The good:
The beach is great. Nice waves sometimes for a good boogie surf. Most importantly it is SAFE for everyone especially for families ie no undertow, no super big waves and nobody selling stuff on the beach. The beach is private and clean. We took advantage of the free kayaking daily and a couple of time took the kayak to the blue floating wharf in the bay to snorkle (with the snorkling equipement compliment of Buena Vista). Saw some cool fish there and no waves will push you onto the coral. In our kayaking trips saw no whales or dolphins
( try Nuevo Vallarta in Feb and you will). I don`t know if there is another nice place with a private and safe beach like this one around...
My favorite restaurant was Se como no. There was a talented signer walking around and making people play the castagnas with him. It was magical when a few fireflies came around to light the whole show.
So our stay at Buana Vista was in general good. A touch pricy... but the fridge was a good size and the rooms were kept clean. The bed comfortable. The air conditionning system had a had time to keep up but hey... it was over 90 F everyday with the sun blasting on the very many windows... yes a 150 degre view up the canopy...so stunning ... and so was the wildlife, especially the birds and I really was impressed with the landscape being an horticultirist. Only wish we had a balcony... felt a bit claustrophobic in our villa without one.
Do I recommend this place? Yes if you have a family because the villas are big for a couple.
We came to see Manuel Antonio and I was disapointed after our trek to Parque National Corcovado. If you want to experience a `real jungle` please give this one a try. You go down south to a a little town of Sierpe (3 hrs drive from Manuel Antonio) take a boat 1.5 hr through a river with mangrooves that will bring you out back to the sea (wild wild ride..) to Bahia Drake. There are many rustic places there to stay and one very luxurious... (we stayed at Vista Drake, not the luxurios one LOL). Got up at 4:30 am had coffee and got on another boat 1.5 hr ride to the jungle for an all day treck, with breakfast and lunch included. The treck was not realy hard. We took our time to observe... We saw way way more animals not seen in Manuel Antonio. On the way down Uvita and Ojochal and Dominical are places worth seeing. Ojochal has amazing restaurants (a french town) and Dominical is a surf town with a great local market worth visiting if you want to buy cheaper souvenirs... you can bargain. Hope it helps... Cheers

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. I’m sorry we were not able to check you in early often in high season January 3 to the end of March we are operating at a very high capacity and can’t do early check-ins… I’m sorry you did not like the food you got at our family pool. We don’t offer a tuna salad, but my guess is that you had the Yellow fin Tuna and Pineapple Wrap. I spoke with the employee regarding this and he was not attempting to be rude his English is developing and after you voiced your displeasure he was a bit intimidated. He is a newer employee and we are working with him.
As far as the AC they get a full work out this time of year and sometimes we do need to make on the spot repairs. I’m glad we solved the issue.
The swimming pool near your bungalow is a private home and a private pool that that owner is renovating. Lucky our Family pool is quite close and while you can be driven to it, it is easier to walk to thus we provide both maps and signs.
Lastly I’m glad you enjoyed our beach it is the highlight of the property and we are very proud of it. And like you said we do provide kayaks, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, beach towels, umbrellas and lounge chairs. There is also food and drink service on our private beach. Over all sounds like you had a good Costa Rican vacation and also enjoyed the Osa to the south of us. Pura Vida
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Yes the views from our villa were breathtaking. The infinity pool was nice. But the pool closest to our villa was closed so we had to be driven to a pool. We received no notice prior to our arrival that the pool would be unavailable. Our villa was extremely hot during the middle of the day. One of our air conditioners leaked inside the villa. Our villa had no ice maker and they would not deliver ice to us. We had to buy our own ice! We don't have to do that even in a motel. For a place this upscale we expected more. We were never able to connect to their wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Tulemar Bungalows and I’m glad you liked the Family pool, hope you visited our other infinity pool too, the Adult pool. Unfortunately there is no pool within the bungalow footprint, the pool you refer to in your review is part of a private residence and that owner is renovating his pool. Our hotel guests are not and have never been allowed to use any of the private residence pools within Tulemar Gardens.
As far as you’re A/C unit goes, during high season these units get a radical amount of use and we did fix the problem as soon as you told us.
There are ice trays in the bungalow refrigerators, but if you do need larger amount of ice our concierge service can retrieve it for you from the store.
Our Wi-Fi was upgraded early this year and we have not had any issues with it; I’m sorry to hear you could not connect since the signal is quite strong in the bungalows.
Pura Vida
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
1.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Property: Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): $306 - $1,105
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing