We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise...no other property compares!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Absolute paradise...no other property compares!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I just returned from five fabulous nights at the Gaia. I have stayed at some of the best properties in the world and am rarely impressed but the Gaia is truly unique. The food is amazing (really amazing...I gained 3 pounds in 6 days!) and the property is phenomenally beautiful but what really makes the hotel "five star" is the service! There is a reason over 400 people have given this hotel a five star rating. There is absolutely nothing that they won't do to make sure every guest is absolutely satisfied. They market themselves as a five star hotel without the attitude and they truly live up to this claim. Friendly, outgoing and always at your service - I've never seen anything like it...ever.

Many thanks to those that made this a truly memorable experience including Andy and Maxi (world class concierges), Christian, Jonathon and Andre (super friendly drivers that are always at your service), Alexander (working the front desk, always with a smile!), Emilio (he must work all the time because he is everywhere but never looks tired!) and last but certainly not least, Yadir our poolside bartender who made me the best mojito I have ever had in my life! We loved every minute of it and can’t wait to go back. (We are even thinking of making this an annual trip and bringing all of our friends!) Thank you, Gaia!!

-Kris and Christi

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing but the three story villa with the rooftop deck and jacuzzi large enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiehlTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
What can I say .....your comments reinforce why we believe Gaia Hotel & Reserve was founded.
We wanted to create something that Manuel Antonio or Costa Rica for that matter has never seen before. To have a place of pure luxury where our guests are spoiled every minute of every day while keeping an ambiance of no attitude is our founding mission here.
You will find unparalleled service beyond your expectations in an atmosphere of friendly and courteous staff.
Thanking you both for your recognition of our staff members who we consider part of our family here at Gaia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    141
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
160
1,034
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Gaia was "home" for 4 nights as I celebrated my birthday. As other reviewers have stated, there was not nearly enough time to enjoy all this 5 star resort has to offer. The staff was excellent, particularly Maxi, our conceirge. The food was a culinary delight from the incredible breakfasts to the "special" dinner. Who would have ever thought of making a mushroom sauce with coconut milk and have it be the ultimate in taste sensation? The pool which is open 24 hours a day was incredible. We took especially luxious advantage of the spa facility. The treatments transport you to another world of pampered saity.

Our room was very small for 3 people but we managed. A trip to Pali's in Quepos worked out great for us for all the reasonable water and snacks we wanted. The only disappointment was the beach was so far away and the shuttle didn't leave until 7:30am.-so much for sunrise with one's feet in the sand!

The zip line canopy tour which was over 6 hours was well organized and safe. It was also very pricey. I was quoted 1 price for what I ask to be scheduled and charged another. Just a bit annoying.

Over all it was a great place. If only there was a way to get there and completely avoid San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Financial-Pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
What fun our recent guests from Nashville, Tenn. had here at Gaia. You are very kind to write such a positive review. And please note, if you want to make a special trip to the beach or town outside our scheduled hours, just a request the night before to your concierge would be sufficient......I might have joined you in the sand........
Thank you for taking the time to post on this TripAdvisor forum.......we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Gaia for 3 nights at the end of April, 2012. It was not NEARLY enough time to enjoy all the amenities. We were met at the bottom of the hill and taken, by golf cart, to check in and meet our personal concierge. The entire stay was about making us feel welcome comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. We were being picked up at 6:30AM on the morning of our departure and the staff at dinner the night before reminded us to order breakfast to be delivered to our room early. Just one of the nice little things they do. Loved the shuttle to Quepos and Manuel Antonio but truly, it was the people that made this hotel unforgettable. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and this was a wonderful end to a great trip.

Room Tip: We loved our "room at the top" as we had a view of the entire reserve plus the ocean. Pur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We are truly humbled by your kind words concerning your stay here at Gaia. And extremely honored that you chose Gaia to celebrate your wonderful 40th anniversary.

Our staff loved having you here and we are so happy to have been be able to spoil you in the beauty and luxury that surrounds Gaia.

Wishing you many more years of celebration. You deserve it all.

Thank you for using TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Stunning location in middle of rainforest, but away from the centre of manuel antonio. Staff are really friendly, cheerful and helpful.

Rooms disappointing - a bit sterile and bathroom was very narrow. Little things like no free water in the rooms were annoying given the price you're paying.

Pool area is nice and quite compact but there weren't many people around when we were there so plenty of beds, etc.

View from restaurant at the top is the best bit- breakfast with that view was a delight, good range of food too. Nice spot for sunset too.

Dinner at restaurant was well overpriced for what you get. The menu sounds lovely but the execution left a lot to be desired. I ordered scallops and shrimp in a lime sauce, which only had a single scallop in it (cut into 5 or 6 tiny pieces) and the shrimp were quite chewy too!  

Would recommend doing the tour of the reserve at 7am each morning and hiking up to the lookout for a superb view of the area!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whisper_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
We thank our new friends from Ireland who indeed had a spectacular time and took the time to share their experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.

Even with a full house, our 3 large pool decks are indeed large enough to accompany all who wish to partake of the lounges and tables and chairs for lunch or cocktails.

Regarding your comment on the scallops, we have brought this to the attention of our chef who has no idea what might have happened. We wish you would have made mention of this during your stay as we would have immediately rectified the situation without question. We have really no recourse now only to provide you with our sincere apology.

Thanking you again for all your kind words and we welcome you back with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

One of the best things about this hotel is the staff. They are very personable and are there to take care of your every need. The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is one of those hotels that makes you feel like you are on vacation. The complementary breakfast is excellent. You order off the regular breakfast menu so it's great! The complementary spa treatment was a nice bonus! We stayed in the studio and the room was a tad bit of an awkward shape. We stayed 4 in a room and it was cramped. This room is much better suited for two. They also offer a shuttle service which is awesome but it does stop at 430. Would be nice if they offered the shuttle longer or later hours.

Room Tip: See above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Yes, we do receive numerous comments on the level of service here at Gaia. Once our guests arrive on the property, any possible concern is immediately dispelled by the various department staff who go out of their way to create an atmosphere of sublime luxury and welcoming smiles.

At Gaia we have 8 different rooms categories from which to choose and each one is easily pictured on our web site. Our studio's are certainly well laid out with private bath and lavatory facilities that have won design awards. Coming equipped with a king size bed and sofa sleeper, the studio might indeed be a bit tight for 4 adults. You may want to consider for your next visit one of our luxurious 2 bedroom/2 bath villas to ensure maximum comfort for all in your party. And as a return guest we will ensure you receive a nice discount for you and all your company.

Thanking you again for your very kind comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,159 reviews
2.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
969 reviews
1.7 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,402 reviews
1.4 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
3.2 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): $246 - $610
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing