We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveller rating
740
166
41
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
166
41
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey room park entrance friendly deer manuel antonio national park costa rica other guests public beach every morning short walk to the beach closest hotel ma park home away from home beach towels small hotel laundry service fresh fruit location was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 989 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Me, my girlfriend and our 2 year old daughter stayed here for 9 nights in April 2018. The main reasons for choosing La Posada was its proximity to the National Park and that it has a pool for our young child to cool off in!

As the hotel literally backs on to the National Park there is plenty of wildlife in the grounds! Just as we were hoping for! In the hotel grounds alone we saw aracaris, toucans, hummingbirds, various tanagers, bananaquits, euphonias and many more birds! A squirrel monkey troop and a white tailed deer visited daily which our daughter absolutely loved! The iguanas are fun to watch too! A chorus of frogs and insects help you drift off to sleep of a night and the roar of the howler monkeys and chatter of toucans wakes you up in the morning! Beautiful.

The food here is good too! Lunch is typically stuff like fajitas, nachos and pizza and is reasonably priced and nice! The breakfast though, is amazing! It was a simple, typical Costa Rican breakfast of black beans, fried plantain, sausage, eggs and loads of black coffee! It was fresh and tasty and I looked forward to it everyday! Of course there are other options like fruit and toast too!

The hotels location was perfect. The office where you get your entrance ticket to the National park and the actual park entrance is about 100 meters from each other and La Posada sits right in the middle of the two! It was so convenient to pop out and pick up our entrance tickets while the other two were finishing their breakfast! Next door to the hotel there is a small shop selling snacks and drinks which was very handy too! The beach was a 5 minute, easy walk away and passes a few souvenir shops and restaurants along the way.

One thing I would say about the rooms is that there is no fridge. I know it’s not essential but would be nice to be able to keep a few drinks cold! Shower, TV, WiFi, air conditioning and beds were all fine! No problems at all.

We enjoyed our stay here so much that we are returning in April 2019 and we can’t wait! (Especially for that breakfast!)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This quaint hotel had the perfect location--next to the national park and 3 minute walk to the main beach. Our family of 4 loved this small charming hotel. Rooms were clean and the jungle surroundings made it unique. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful.
The location of our hotel was the best part.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bamjam760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms are big and well maintained. The staff is very helpful. For us, the best part was sitting on the balcony watching the monkeys, deer, iguanas, and birds. This hotel is as close as you can get to Manuelo Antonio Park and it’s a huge advantage to be able to walk the the park. The only downside is that when the park is really busy it can be difficult to get through the crowd to the hotel to park.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with my kids. It's a cozy small hotel with the most fabulous staff. I'm bad with names but Roger and the staff made this place so wonderful. Very close walking distance to the beach, restaurants and literally a few steps away from Manuel Antonio National Park. On the 3rd day woke up to loud noises but was pleasantly surprised to find out those were white face monkeys running across the roof. The whole troop came to visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Myunghe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We stayed at La Posada for 3 nights beginning on August 1. We had a great stay and Roger was extremely helpful to us. A group of white faced monkeys showed up on the balcony outside of our room to entertain us one morning. One afternoon, we saw a sloth, 2 howler monkeys and a large iguana in a tree that we could see from our balcony. In addition, there was a whitetail deer under the tree! This is not a 5-star hotel but it is a very good bargain. Room was big enough, ac worked great and the breakfast included was good. We met some very nice families that were staying at the property and everyone seemed to be very satisfied with their stay. The park, the beach, supermarket and restaurants are all within easy walking distance (Marlin Restaurant was great).

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank dougs5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews