We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice to end the tour”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hotel California was a very pleasant surprise at the end of a long day on our tour bus. A bit of an adventure, just getting off the main road, where we had to exit the bus so it could get up the sharp and steep turn to the road to the hotel. Room was clean and spacious. Nice to have air conditioning, since the temperatures were getting warm. Pool area and bar attendants were good and the pool itself was fun. Breakfast at the pool...nice! The igauna that crawled around and into the breakfast bar was a nice touch. Great view out to the ocean over the trees from our room. Overall, good place.

Room Tip: Be sure that your tour bus unloads on the flat surfaces either above or below the reception, and NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notbornyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Make sure to catch the perfect end of a day and two for one happy hour. Also beautiful tappas, great price and quality, like fresh tacos, burritos, and ceviche! Awesome sunsets! We will definitely return, just ask directions a little hard to find.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our group of 9 with G Adventures stayed here January 2013. Room was large, mini fridge, a/c, and patio. No ocean view but it didn't matter. Very clean, however a/c was a little noisy. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Open air restaurant had a great ocean view and food was excellent. Service was great. Monkeys on the balconies were a bonus! Two minute walk to bus stop, and ten minute bus ride to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park.

Room Tip: We did not have ocean view but it didn't matter as we spent most of the day either at Manuel Ant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank organizer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here at the end of a trip around Costa Rica. The hotel is up a steep road a bus ride from the village and park. The room was good, the food and service excellent. Our group of 6 had virtually exclusive use of the pool.
The bonus item is the sunrise walk up the hill which allows you see troops of monkeys.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Being on a tour, we were used to very basic but clean accommodations. So when we arrived at Hotel California, we were pleasantly surprised. The location is a bit far from downtown Quepos, and this is one of the times where I think it is an advantage.

Pros: swimming pool and jacuzzi; the restaurant overlooks the ocean. It's food is good quality, reasonably priced and breakfast buffet is good value. They have Happy Hour between 4-6pm, with 2-for-1 drinks. Service was excellent and any issues were resolved quickly. The rooms are large, have a little patio, has AC, bar fridge, coffee maker and room safe to keep your valuables. Location was halfway between Manual Antonio park and downtown Quepos, with a bus stop going either direction to the aforementioned destinations at the bottom of the road.

Cons: it was sometimes difficult to get towels at the swimming area, and the hilly driveway to the hotel can be a pain after a strenous day in the city/beach.

I would highly recommend Hotel California, and would happily go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
3.5 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
411 reviews
0.8 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
458 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
569 reviews
2 km away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
549 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $126 - $1,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing