We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better on the website”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is a bit far away from the main street. It requires you to drive for like 5-10 min on a dirt road which isn't the best for the car. The room was nice and clean, although the bathroom showed clear signs of a poor maintenance. Breakfast was OK. This hotel seems as if it had once been great, however it in a slow decay.

I would go there again if the prices weren't so high. Service was excellent though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I were on our first trip to Costa Rica as part of our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We were with Gap Adventure Tours and had low expectations based on our previous hotel in Monteverde. We were blown away by the great room (#27, 2nd floor), the views, great staff and clean, comfortable pool and marvellous restaurant.

With 15 of us there, we pretty much took over the hotel. Our room had a single king size bed and looked like a honeymoon suite! The shower was a little tempermental with hot water supply, but that was more than offset by the spacious room, great balcony, a/c and in-room safe. SOme of my travel mates got rooms in the lower level (2nd and 3rd levels are above grade) and thought they were ok.

Staying at Hotel California was a highlight of our tour!

Room Tip: Go through a travel agent for your reservation. Don't cheap out using an internet source. Beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SullyBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The hotel and staff are great people. My buddies and I stayed with them two years and went back to hang out with them another year. The hotel is kept cleam and the staff can't do enough for you. A very pleasent stay with Beautiful views.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Thank you to all for another great visit to Quepos/Manuel Antonio. It is always a pleasure to stay here. A special “Thank You” to Jessie and Haylin and the rest to the rest of the staff in making my vacation a relaxing and peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Will definitely be back, all the staff was great, friendly and we still keep in contact. Room was like a studio over looking the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.8 km away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
3.5 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
388 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
306 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $83 - $1,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing