We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great choice in a tropical paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great choice in a tropical paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

First of all , I have to mention that i am from Costa Rica. That means that my standards regarding tropical paradise are really high. This hotel is absolutely incredible. Monkeys , birds, butterflies, flowes....all around. A wonderful monkey trail, an incredible virgin beach: biesanz just around the corner, nice views, beatiful decoration. The spa is awesome very reasonable priced.Rooms are fine and cozy. food is a little expensive but good. Superb service. I dont thing this is a luxury hotel if for luxury we think in the four seasons. This is more a beatiful hotel, done with the best taste, where you feel at home in a peaceful full of nature place!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigaandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We always love having native Costa Ricans stay at Parador and especially love it when they have such nice things to say! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with everyone and we cannot wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    490
    152
    46
    33
See reviews for
593
976
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Parador on April 30 for our daughter's wedding on May 4. We were greeted with cold fruit drinks and cool scented cloths which were wonderful after a long day of travelling from North Carolina. The food was great (especially the free breakfast buffet). Lunch by the pools was very relaxing and excellent. The tours (ziplining, mangrove forest, Parador property, and Manuel Antonio park) were wonderful and fun!! The beautiful plants and ever-present wildlife (monkeys, crabs, iguanas, katamundis, beautiful birds, sloths) kept us entertained without leaving the hotel. But the staff was amazing. They were so friendly and caring. Victor, Gary, Diego, and Efren were outstanding and always asking if we needed anything. The main reason for our trip was our daughter's wedding which was absolutely gorgeous. It was on the beach very close to the Hotel Parador. The reception was at the Hotel Parador and also was great. It was a beautiful setting with excellent food and wonderful staff making sure that your every need was met. Silvia Hernandez is the wonderful lady who coordinated and arranged everything so that my daughter's dream of being married on the beach came true. Family and friends who attended the wedding and stayed at the Parador during the week enjoyed it as much as we did. Our garden rooms were all close to each other in the hotel with patios off each room so we could sit, visit, and enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Our week at the Hotel Parador was perfect and many wonderful memories were made during this wedding celebration. Thanks to Silvia, Victor, Efren, Gary, Diego and all the other staff for an amazing week !!

Room Tip: We loved our garden rooms which were close to everything and had patios on the back which faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We are so thankful that you chose our resort to host your daughter’s wedding. The ceremony and reception were both very beautiful as were the bride and groom. We are glad that all of the guests had such a lovely time and that the staff was so helpful and entertaining. We hope you can all return soon for another wonderful vacation here at Parador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Costa Rica, and settled on Hotel Parador due to it's proximity to Manuel Antonio National Park, as well as it's easy access to zip lining, white water rafting and surfing.

Upon arrival we were greeted with fresh fruit drinks and moist towels which was great after a long travel day.

The hotel is seperated into two buildings. One being the older tower with standard and ocean view rooms the second being the newer building with the suites. We where in the original building with an ocean view room that was spectacular. We had an amazing view up and down the coastline and of the entire property. This is truly one of the most beautiful areas we have ever been.

After a getting settled we went down to the main bar where there is a two for one happy hour everyday from 6-7pm. The bar was very quiet due to it being the beginning of the off season. This is where we met Diego who was working at the bar. I truly can't say enough about Diego, we got to know him very well during our week at Parador and he was always great to us. He remembered us by name everytime we saw him and had drinks ready for us. He also introduced us to other couples that were staying at the hotel which made it really fun and easy to meet knew people.

Diego also offered tips throughout our stay. Whether it was a simple as try the Lanzana sauce with the beans and rice or to check out the view from La Fragatta, he never misled us.

The other people we always looked forward to seeing was Leonardo who was always smiling or dancing at the bar and Gerardo who always had a glass of Cab and Pilsen ready as we walked up to the bar.

I was skeptical at first to book the hotel because I had read some of the negative reviews that were left, and considered some other hotels in the area that got equal or better reviews. The hotel is slightly off the beaten path, but there are always taxis there within 2 minutes (that were not expensive at all) and the shuttles regularly run throughout the day and night. We enjoyed having it slightly off the beaten path, more chances to see wildlife and greater views (since there are views on both sides of the hotel).

Overall, a great trip and we can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie8238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
You are too kind! We always say that our resort is exceptional but it is the staff that makes it truly special. We will be sure to let them know that they made your vacation memorable. We can’t wait for you to return back to Parador there are still plenty of amazing views to soak in and incredible people to meet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

This resort is clean, beautiful, and family friendly.

Food- The food is decent and it has several different restaurants, which is nice. The fruit drinks from the bar were awesome- you can order them with or without alcohol. They are made with all natural fresh fruit; none of that colored liquid stuff out of pump like we get back home. I am pregnant and enjoyed these virgin drinks with an umbrella in them. Yum.

Grounds- The resort probably doesn't have as much of a nature feel as some of the other resorts. In other words, we could not see monkeys from our room, but rather, the pool and bar restaurant below with the sound of children playing and steel drum music. We had a ocean view room in one of the new buildings and it was gorgeous, though. The hiking trails on the property were impressive and well maintained. You can walk all of them in about an hour. did not see monkeys, but the fauna was beautiful. I did not walk the trail to the beach, because we had a car and we drove to the public beach instead.

Room- We had a ocean view room, and it had a beautiful View, and was clean. Yes, there are some ants, but you just have to be careful about not leaving food out.

Staff- Friendly and helpful for the most part. The housekeeping service was wonderful, and left our room sparkling clean every day. My husband was really sick for 2 days here and the staff helped me find a doctor, and within 45 minutes there was a doctor in our hotel room. My husband ended up needing an IV and they did it right there in the hotel room. The staff also checked on us the next day.

Other- The internet service was finicky. I got the tech support to look at it and he came to the room and realized that there was something wrong with the WiFi and left to go fix it, but it was a couple of days before it was up and running again.

My husband and I were on a getaway, and we were happy with this resort overall.

Room Tip: look at a map and see where all of the buildings are. Near the pool is most convenient to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
It sounds like you had a very relaxing stay here at Parador. Monkeys can usually be seen on a daily basis because we are surrounded by a nature preserve. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee that you will spot them, even though they are close by. We do have nature guides at the tour desk and even the rest of our employees are on the lookout for them and will let guests know when wildlife is near. We hope you can return soon for another visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I recently stayed here as a guest of the Tourism Board but we were not upgraded or given special amenities. This property is a few miles up a windy road from the Manuel Antonio National Park and beaches. You do not have direct access to the beaches from this hotel or any of the others unless they are in the town of Manuel Antonio. This wasn't a problem for me as they provide shuttle service down the hill.

There are several different room categories within this hotel. The main buildings are well appointed (air, TV, hairdryer) and all have balconies to enjoy. There are two other buildings that hold the suites and penthouses and are much pricier, but have phenomenal views.
This property is pretty spread out over the hillside, so expect to do a bit of walking. You also may want to carry your property map with you for the first day as navigation can be a bit tricky.

There is plenty of wildlife right on the property (birds, monkeys, iguanas) and several pools and outdoor areas to enjoy.

The breakfasts were extensive and had both hot and cold items. The service here is gracious but can be a bit slow in the bar (if you are in a hurry). I did not eat dinner here as we had other commitments as a group but there was an a la carte menu one night and a prix fix another which seemed reasonably priced. Sidenote: I love wine and the selection here is not very good and is expensive for the quality.

Overall, this is a wonderful property and a standout in the area with a lot to do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousColorado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
It sounds like you had a lovely and relaxing visit. Our resort is located right near Manuel Antonio and the beautiful beaches which allows guests to see the true beauty of Costa Rica. We hope you can return soon for another wonderful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.5 km away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.7 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 km away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): $303 - $598
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing