We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most Amazing Place on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Neruda

sky terrace perfect for cocktails at sunset.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sky terrace perfect for cocktails at sunset.
or morning coffee house in grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
sky terrace perfect for cocktails at sunset.
or morning coffee
house in grounds
entrance to house
house entrance looking into kitchen
from entrance looking into house to the right; indoor dining area
view from kitchen terrace towards ocean
head on view of kitchen with appliances
Twin size lounging banquette
More living room seating with mini banquette that could sleep a child
outside downstairs porch and view
another porch view
stairway from living room to upstairs bedrooms and bathroom
Bismark, the caretaker, ascending stairway
master bedroom looking in from the doorway
looking through master bedroom to opposite wall/east view
window vista from master
looking into master bedroom from sky walkway
master bedroom
walkway from sky terrace to master bedroom
view from master bedroom through to sky terrace
second bedroom
second bedroom another photo
view into second bedroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom: toilet and shower
passageway behind house. Outside shower on the left
outside sink
outside shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gmsam614
Germany
1 review
“Most Amazing Place on Earth”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in May 2014

The view is unbelievable, the house is absolutely perfect, everything is clean. I didnt know so much peace existed in one place. Is walking distance from the supermarket and the beach.
i have no complains, everything in this place is magical. There stray animals that live there but are very friendly. Lots of steps to get to the house but i find that as a plus, you get to exercise a little, is not that bad.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaJudy
Naperville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views but house needs work”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The views from the large windows and two decks of Casa de Neruda are magnificent, definitely worth the 100 steps up it takes to reach the house. And the caretaker is very friendly and helpful. However this property was neither as clean or as well maintained as other similar properties we have stayed in. If we visit Manuel Antonio again, I would not choose this property for our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the lack of cleanliness and poor condition of the house
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
I am so sorry that that was the case and I know why the house wasn't as clean as usual. The caretaker always checks the calendar and has the house deeply cleaned before guests arrive, but somehow, before your arrival (maybe because it was booked so close to your stay), he didn't check the calendar in time and therefore, I believe the house was not deeply cleaned as it normally would have been. I'm so sorry about that. Cara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingPhi...
Norman Wells, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second stay and again, we love this place!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Casa Neruda. Our stay last year was amazing, and again this year we had a great time! There are pros and cons of staying here; the climb up the stairs to the house feels long in the heat, but then the view from the house is one of the best in Manuel Antonio, and absolutely stunning! There's no AC, but fans and the breeze keep the house comfortable, even at the hottest time of the year while we were there. The wildlife around the house is incredible! We had a sloth in the tree behind the house, along with toucans, eagles, and wild parrots. Pelicans drift by every morning. The caretaker, Bismark, and family are the kindest, nicest people you could ever hope to cross paths with, and we consider them friends:) We plan to come back to Casa Neruda in the future:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bismark and family, and the view from the deck.
Liked least: fridge has issues keeping food and ice cold.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
I'm so happy you had a great stay again Phillip. Thanks for the great review. Cara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryN22
United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bueno Vista”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Postcard views of Manual Antonio National Park specifically Punta Caterdal!!!! Up high enough to view entire length of the beach (Espadilla) outside MANP. Wildlife abounds with toucans, parrots, monkeys (a troop of 40-50 on morning) and eye level with vultures. Howler monkeys close by every AM around 4:00 which is a unique wake up call the first day. The house is nothing fancy but again the views from the house make up for any shortcomings. One thing about the listing is that it states there is a washer and dryer when in fact it does not. This was an issue with us as we were in CR for 14 days and had packed for 7 days thinking we could do laundry when we arrived here for the last week. It turns out that the caretakers wife will do your laundry for a fee. BTW, the caretaker Bismark and his family are wonderful people. The lift was not working when we were there but Bismark and one of his assistants were more than happy to bring our biggest bags to and from the house upon arrival and departure. The one suggestion I would have and I've seen it in earlier reviews is to have at least one room with AC capability. For a January stay it was so hot and humid that at the end of our week here we left one day early(having pre-paid) and headed up to Jaco to stay our last night in CR in a hotel with AC. Other than that, it is a beautiful property that I would stay in again...maybe for less than a solid week next time. Also, if you do rent a car and spring for aa SUV, the beach road down to the left is a little rough but drivable right down to the water and there is a gentleman there who will watch your car for $4 a day and he allows you to leave and come back if need be!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easily the views
Liked least: The lack of any AC
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StitchK
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Epic Views, Great Location”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic views and everything you want from a getaway! The house had fantastic views from every direction, including regular visits from white faced monkeys, and relaxing days/nights on the deck either enjoying the hammock or hanging around the table. The sound of the ocean could be distinctly heard at night, and a short (less than 5 min) walk down the road in either direction gave you the option of dining / relaxing in a hotel environment. Also a short walk (downhill) to the beach, tougher walk home but manageable.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing