We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The meaning of relaxation”

Review of Casa Blanca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The meaning of relaxation”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property has a rejuvenating quality about it. As a world traveler, I've seen and stayed at many great locations but this place has me coming back for 3 years now. The peace and serenity I experience here, the sweeping views and gracious groundskeepers are unmatched. Once you arrive and stay even one night, you'll understand this feeling and I promise you won't want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLK1979
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in paradise.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week feeling like millionaires at the gorgeous Casa Blanca. From the moment you arrive you feel at home. Everything you need has been thought of. The outside area is incredible with a huge infinity pool, sun lounges and shaded hammock. You have complete privacy with a breathtaking view of the pacific. You can watch lizards and birds hop from trees to tree and hear the waves crashing on the beach. The rest of the house is designed perfectly with a fully stocked kitchen, ice machine and all the mod cons you need. We cooked a lot at the house, mainly to ensure we ate healthy, to save money but also just to make use of such a nice kitchen. In the evening we would curl up on the comfy couch and watch movies in the cinema room and then fall asleep in the huge king bed. The photos of this place really don't do it justice, it's truly wonderful. We will most definitely be back in the future and this time we will bring some friends to share in a little piece of paradise.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy Z
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book This Villa”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is absolutely breathtaking - the kitchen and entertainment room have everything you need, the bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, you will want to immediately jump in the infinity pool and look out into the jungle and ocean view for hours every day. Could not have had a better time in this villa and in the towns of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. Make sure you have a sturdy vehicle to get up to the location (the view is more than worth it) - you will not regret staying here.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a slice of paradise with a modern edge”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving at Villablanca after a long journey from California, we were tired and stressed. One step into this beautiful house and all of that was gone. We were greeted by the caretaker, who showed us room by room all of the features and special things about this spectacular place. And it truly is spectacular. The owner has thought of everything to make a stay here as relaxing and luxurious as possible. One of the locals referred to it as the 'James Bond' house and we certainly felt like we were on a movie set. The furnishings and architecture make you just want to wander around taking in the beauty of it. Set on a steep hill with a fantastic view of the ocean, we awoke each morning to a cacophony of birds and animals. With all of its glass windows, Villablanca is perfect for sitting back, enjoying the view and taking in all of the best that Costa Rica has to offer. The kitchen is completely stocked with top quality equipment. Every corner of every area of the property has a little something special - from the beautiful decor of the bathrooms, outdoor showers, to the relaxing wooden deck with its hammock where you can watch the sunset, do yoga or just sit and be. We loved sitting at the outside eating area, lights twinkling in the garden, after barbecuing our freshly caught fish, watching the stars and listening to the sounds of the nighttime jungle. The owners provided all sorts of recommendations for fishing trips, secret beaches, and nearby grocery stores and restaurants. This is truly a special place and we can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 22 metre infinity pool!
Liked least: the road up is very steep - you need a 4x4 but it's well worth it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLR819
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LOVE this villa!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well, this was my second trip to the villa, fourth trip overall to the Mal Pais area. I honestly can't say enough good things about the house, the owners, and the caretakers.

The house is absolutely beautiful. Even though I'd stayed before, walking in the door this last time still took my breath away. The pool, the ocean--everything. The house follows a modern design aesthetic, but at the same time is welcoming and comfortable. I've already decided that if I ever build a custom home, the floor plan will be identical (sorry, Michael :) If you think the pictures are beautiful, the effect in real life is even more stunning. I will continue to visit as long as they let me :)

As far as the Mal Pais area--there's a reason this is my fourth year visiting the town. Great character, great people, great beaches/surfing, fabulous restaurants (Koji's, Caracoles, Colour Café, The Bakery, and so on....). You don't feel like you're in a resort town (it helps that there's only one dirt road in and out of town :)

I'd love to keep the villa and town as my secret, but I hope everyone has as special a time as I always have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best?? Wow....Would have to say the view, but it goes hand in hand with the architecture.
Liked least: Further away from my favorite surfing beach
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing