We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Peaceful hidden gem

Star Mountain Lodge is a spectacular hidden gem, nestled in a jungle paradise, surrounded my all... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2018
joelnilv
,
Las Vegas, Nevada
Great horseback ride to and from the Butterfly Farm

We were staying at Star Mountain and so, 6 of us (they borrowed 2 horses to accomodate the number... read more

Reviewed 13 June 2018
Travelbug33423
,
Fort Collins, Colorado
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
19
0
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle lodge hour ride an experienced rider my husband rafael riders trail gallop scenery populated trotted opposed horses nature guide
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Star Mountain Horse Tours is the best in all of Mal Pais, Santa Teresa! My boyfriend and I had the most romantic ride through Mal Pais. The horses were friendly and well groomed. The scenic tour was unforgettable. I definitely recommend this tour for other couples or families visiting the Santa Teresa region of Costa Rica.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Tawny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with some friends in Mal Pais. Outside our door was a nice little hike to the top of the mountain with spectacular views of the peninsula. And our favorite was the horseback riding the hotel offers. Strolled through the jungle and down the mountain to a stunning beach. It was picture perfect.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

A beautiful ride through beautiful country. The Flora and fauna of Costa Rica is stunning and there is no better way to experience both then on this relaxing horse tour through either through the jungle or on the beach :)

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

ride in a huge and gorgeous nature reserve abutting a stunning national park. Wether you are an experienced rider or not, you can enjoy this affordable horse tour which was one of the highlights of my Costa Rican trip. The Star Mountain lodge was also an amazing place to stay

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank miamifrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wonderful views, but the guide didn't spoke any english at all and it was only a 10 second go-through for the one of us which never has ridden a horse before. It felt unsafe.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank jetolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews